We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Well where does one start!Just back with my family after a one week stay in the River Lee.This is our third year in a row and was simply fantastic yet again.Rooms are immaculate if a little bit small for a family of four.The staff are second to none.So helpful and friendly,they sure know what customer service is all about!My two children aged 3 and 6 loved especially the glass lifts!!!The manager Ruairi even left us a welcome back card in the room which I thought was a lovely touch.We will definitely be back next year,something special about cork!

Room Tip: Choose room with a river view.Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary3315875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear mary3315875,

We truly appreciate your fantastic review. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations. I'm delighted your young family enjoyed themselves.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back a 4th time to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,441
    669
    100
    46
    25
See reviews for
737
1,286
99
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tentlingen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a very good hotel in Cork, very good condition (new hotel, it seems). Walking distance to city centre.
Excellent rooms, very nice bar with possibility to sit outside.
Excellent breakfast buffet.
Nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Dirk M,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and I'm delighted you enjoyed our breakfast treats.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Located just 500 meters from down down Cork, the River Lee Hotel is a pretty modern looking, glass and chrome, hotel but with an inviting bar and bistro area. The room was excellent - bed very comfortable - and bathroom very clean and well appointed. Worth visiting.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Eddie S,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Cork's premier hotel and location. Excellent accommodations, service and food. Staff courteous and knowledgeable. Hotel rooms immaculately clean and comfortable. Food exquisitely prepared and served.Would stay here again and again.

Peter R. Genovese, M.D.
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sundocg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear sundocg,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here on business for 4 nights. I can't say enough good things about the hotel.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is a large staff and all are very friendly and helpful. The bar is spacious with a view of the river and conducive to conversation.

I ate there twice. The first time was in the bar and I had one of the best fish and chips ever. The crust was perfectly done, the chips outstanding and the sauce was very tasty.

The second time I ate there was in the Weir room. We had dinner around 8PM and the sun was quite intense in the dining room at that time. Suggest wearing your shades :-). I had the strip steak and caesar salad and we shared onion rings and a bottle of Rioja .

The steak was done exactly as I requested and was very good with the whiskey sauce. I can't say I enjoyed the mushroom mash that came with it but maybe thats just a taste thing. The "chips" were a little soggy

The caesar salad was one of the best I ever had and nothing like a US caesar . It was made with Boston lettuce, contained eggs and bacon (Irish version of bacon) and a little bit of anchovy --- I really enjoyed that.

The onion rings were outstanding.

Breakfast is also very nice but it is the same menu daily. It might be nice if they changed a few items around every other day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river. Seems all rooms now have a room key holder that you need to turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisnva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Chrisnva2,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff.
It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed our culinary delights in our Weir Bar and Weir Restaurant.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great stay in Cork in this modern-designed hotel, lovely view over the river, very comfortable and spacious rooms, all amenities provided, free access to Nrg gym and pool. Highly recommended, its great value for money, surely the best hotel I stayed in in Irelandr

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Tamara D,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations. We are honoured to hear that we are the best hotel you've stayed in during your time in Ireland.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

came to cork for business, and this lovely hotel provide all the essential facilities that i would ask for. Friendly staff helped to arrange me a taxi that i had nothing to worry to catch my flight at dawn. Would recommend anyone who has a fuss with super-clean toilet, guest room and decent facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MT82jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MT82jp,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing