We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome by Avril & Tony”
Review of Fernroyd House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fernroyd House B&B
Ranked #1 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wonderful warm reception, excellent accommodation, delicious breakfast. Tony even drove us out of his way to a Pub in Cork that had live Irish Folk music. Great location, easy safe 15 minute walk into the centre of Cork.
The B&B is spread over two houses in the quiet street - wonderful location.

Room Tip: Both of ours in the 'annexe' were excellent. Well furnished and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tony and Avril are everything that all these reviews indicate them to be. My wife and I felt so warmly welcomed from the moment we arrived. Tony helped to our room which was beautiful, comfortable, private, and looked over their beautiful garden. We got settled in, then asked for his help in exploring the city. He gave great restaurant and site-seeing advice as well as directions. He also asked if he could help us get to our next destination which led to him showing us sites to see from their extensive library. Avril is a wonderful cook and a lovely person. All around, terrific.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We traveled to Cork and upon arriving at the Fernroyd House we received a warm welcome by Tony and Avril. They couldn't have been more helpful and Tony immediately gave us some pointers for sites and restaurants. We stayed in the annex, and had great parking, the room was very spacious, nicely decorated and meticulously clean. We especially liked the breakfast the following morning (delicious, and they were so attentive) and Tony again gave us pointers on our next stop on our journey. Would loved to have stayed another night! (Note: When we originally tried to google "Fernroyd House for directions, the Garnish House kept popping up. I asked them about this, and there is no connection to their B&B, so hopefully this has been corrected for them.)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast at the end of May for 4 days. They provided great directions and were prompt with email responses. When we arrived we received a very enthusiastic welcome and all of the information that you could possibly need for your time in Cork. The rooms were clean and comfortable but it was Avril and Tony's warmth that made our stay even more outstanding. They were always available when you needed them and at times went out of their way to help.

It's a small thing, but I really appreciated that drinking water was available at all times in the dining area. We were able to fill up our water bottles each morning before our day out. We were also able to get our laundry done easily. Breakfast was great and there was a variety of selection to choose from. If you are in Cork, definitely book a room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Tony and Avril are a wonderful couple and very welcoming hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they made our stay a memorable one. It was nice to be free to bring in take away food and your own drinks unlike many B and B's that do not allow this, although the walk into Cork is just enough to work up an appetite at one of the many good bars and restaurants. There are plenty of options at breakfast all cooked to your choice and the scones are fantastic. Our room was on the first floor on the front and it was extremely quiet giving a very good night's sleep as well as being nicely furnished and very comfortable. There is off road and on road parking available. The two dogs Chip and Molly are well behaved but not too keen on being fussed over. Tony is a mind of information regarding the locality and beyond and is eager to help. We would love to stay at Fernroyd House again if in the area and highly recommend the B and B. Thank you Tony and Avril.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Four of us stayed here and were enthusiastically greeted by Avril and Tony. The rooms were clean and neat and ensuites were fine although showers a little on the small side. Our hosts were wonderful and attentive and gave us great tips on where to go and what we should see. The breakfast was fabulous and portions were good. Would recommend as a place to stay. Thanks Tony and Avri!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fab B&B about 15 mins walk from main shopping area and across the road from the University of Cork campus. Avril and Tony were wonderful, friendly hosts and you felt they couldn't do enough for you.

We were welcomed with tea and coffee and a piece of cake before being shown to our room on the first floor (second floor for US people!).

Good choice for breakfast and scones and jam came each morning. As well as the standard breakfast menu, there were freshly made pancakes on one of the mornings we stayed.

I had been concerned about parking as this has been difficult in Cork before but no worries on that score.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone and would def stay again, especially as it's only about 10 mins walk to our favourite restaurant, the Cafe Paradiso.

Do walk round the university campus, some great architecture, both modern and the older Honan Chapel with it's marvellous stained glass by Harry Clarke.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromOxfordwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernroyd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernroyd House B&B

Address: Fernroyd 4 O'Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £31 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernroyd House is a Family Run B and B offering top class accommodation and personal service. Situated next to the University and just a 12 minute walk to the City Centre. Separate newly built house next door to main B and B suitable to groups and couples with four rooms all en-suite and Resisdents lounge and garden area for Guest use. Choice of freshly cooked breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernroyd House Bed And Breakfast
Fernroyd House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing