We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in Cork”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crawford Guest House B&B
Ranked #39 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in Cork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nice but plain B&B in Cork. Good location, short walk from town (all the B&Bs are in this area). Good breakfast, only strange thing was on check-out they tried to charge us for the breakfast despite it clearly saying on the email that the rate included breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    9
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
34
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Crawford Guest House. We made a last minute reservation traveling through Cork and the reviews looked good and they had an open room so there it was. This room was very nice and spacious. It was also very clean.

The problem was nothing in the room worked. Not really a big deal except the heat part. That wall radiator, I turned it to every setting and nothing. I was cold so I jumped in the tub and the whirlpool function would not turn on. The bedside lamps didn't work so we only had an overhead light. There wasn’t any staff onsite to help with the heat which was weird.

When we checked out (next door) in the morning, we were charged for a breakfast we did not eat. So it took a little arguing to convince them to reverse the breakfast charge.

Room Tip: Have the neighbor show you the room and make sure the heat comes on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

You can't really go wrong with Crawford House. Its location is fantastic; Western Road across from UCC, maximum 15 minute walk to bars and restaurants around the city centre, huge free parking out the back (with a nice view of the Cork Cricket Club and Sunday's Well too) and quiet, clean and well-furnished rooms. It's a budget B&B without the budget feel; our room had a jacuzzi bath and enough room to swing several cats. It was so peaceful yet so central; we didn't stay in Cork for more than 19 hours in total and 6 of those were at a friend's 30th, but we'd have been happy to stay much longer!

Our room was €50 but we splashed out on €18 for two breakfasts. And was I glad we did - the selection and service were fantastic. As well as all the usual cereals and fruit, we had cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt and juices and extra things like cinnamon rolls, fruitcake and soda bread. On top of this mini-buffet, we also had table service for cooked breakfasts - including omelettes. My wife had an omelette cooked to order and I had a full Irish breakfast that was also freshly-made. We got a huge pot of tea, toast, more soda bread and by the end, we were all set for our journey home.

I have virtually no criticisms of the place. The shower head in our room was loose and we forgot to mention this to the landlady as we were leaving. The whole place appears to be run from the B&B next door, Killarney House, as both check-in and breakfast were there. And that's it; a great B&B with a gorgeous breakfast for a highly-competitive price. We'll definitely be back if we need a B&B in Cork - in fact it's probably preferable to a hotel in any case!

Room Tip: We were facing the car park to the rear and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at this B & B after leaving a real dodgy one down the road. What a lovely B & B with the most gentle-natured hostess you could find. We were made very welcome. Our rooms were large & clean. Our hostess was very knowledgeable of Cork and advised us with sightseeing & eating out. All this made for a very pleasant adventure for first time Cork visitors. On one occasion she made scones for us on our return from a day sightseeing. What a lovely surprise. Breakfast was great and we were bade farewell by her and the staff as we drove on. I most highly reccomend this B & B to everyone travelling into Cork or holidaying through Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atombomb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Room was spotless had everything you would get in a hotel, Hairdryer, teamaking facilities, shampoo / showergel

Room Tip: The front and back of this b&b has very busy roads that can keep you awake, bring earplugs. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetitiaS_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed here in early 2011
It was a pleasant place with really nice breakfast but one night was enough.
The walls are thin and we could hear all sorts of naughty night sounds as well as the man next door snoring like a rhino!
The place could do with updating,new carpet wouldn't go amiss and I prefer a bath. My bathroom was tiny and the towels so small and the room did have a rather musty smell to it but I booked the room last minute and it was only a small twin.
I like to come and go as I please without questions and inquisitions and I know its the Irish way but I didnt feel terribly comfortable with that.
I would stay here again but I would use the other property next door where its newly decorated and more apartment like.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room at the back of the building on a higher floor.maybe look at the room before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This bed and breakfast is close to Cork city center, quiet at night, and clean. The breakfast is delicious! The proprietor is extremely helpful. The maps available are very helpful, listing walking tours that you can do. There is a light outside the windows at night that was mildly annoying. It was red and made me feel mildly like I was in the red-light district, but it shut off by the time I went to bed (the B&B is in a good location so don't think that it's not from that description!) I would stay again if I visited Cork again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#34 of 61 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 61 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#15 of 61 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Montenotte
Clon Ross Guest House
Clon Ross Guest House
#26 of 61 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crawford Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawford Guest House B&B

Property: Crawford Guest House B&B
Address: Crawford House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crawford Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crawford Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing