We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking area is useless”
Review of Shandon Bells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shandon Bells
Ranked #39 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Parking area is useless”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed one night recently. Got a room on some budget website at last minute for 40euro room only. On arrival there was no one to let us in, but after ringing the number the lady rang a woman that was inside and she let us in and led us to the room. Our room was no 5 I think. Top floor, couldn't fault the room. Was clean and warm and had everything. The biggest let down is ye parking. I think it there's 4 spaces lined out but its a pure disaster unless your driving mr beans car. Overall if you can park somewhere else the place is grand. Affordable and clean and close to town also.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    40
    29
    27
    29
See reviews for
13
66
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We read all the reviews before were booked this B&B, and to be honest we are not fussy at all, but i believe every place deserves a honest review,and some reviews are really exaggerated. but this place is not good. and over priced for our stay any way. we paid 100 euro for one night. (sat oct bank hol wend) last minute booking to be fair.
The location is good, the car park is a narrow drive way, an accident just waiting to happen.
We were greeted by a nice woman, i'm not sure whether she was working there or owned the house.? its about a 15min walk from city centre.
The rooms are small, dirty smelly carpets, radiator falling off the wall, furniture falling apart, shower very dirty not cleaned properly in a long time, and tiny. the room and all its fittings were very old and this place needs a major overhaul top to bottom.
As i said we are not fussy,we only expect a basic, clean and functional room.
especially for this price, we did not get this, fact. would not recommend this place im afraid.;-{

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simozeeninny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cork hotels

Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

i stayed last nt was bad smell in the room ans when i spoke to yhe lady she told me that al the rooms smelt that the houise was old i was quato 31.95 was charged 33.95 that the way it would not stay ther again was cold this moring no heat on terrible place and try getting out of it driving joke my phone number is 07841100143 ben

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenFitzpatrick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Location nice at the river and next to University College. Use a bus (EUR 1,70) or taxi (EUR 7-14) to/from city center/railway. Good breakfast, small but clean rooms and bathrooms, good staff.
We werw three middleaged/old people in two rooms. Satisfying, recommendable and would like to come back. Even possible to fish from the backyard terrace!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voivoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I don't normally make any comment at all about places we've stayed in and were disappointed but I feel that I must warn other travellers that this is not luxury accommodation!! We were greeted very warmly by a lady and I'm not sure whether she was the owner but my suspicion was that she was not.
At first sight the room looked quite pleasant but it wasn't long before it became obvious that there were many faults. There were no side lamps, the bathroom basin was badly cracked and hadn't been cleaned properly, the timber around the bathroom door was hanging loose with nails hanging out, the tv didn't work. We didn't find this out until later in the evening and there seemed to be nobody around to ask for assistance. The next morning we discovered a large stain on the bedskirt. I didn't think the room had been cleaned properly at all. The wallpaper was torn off in patches. All in all, it was a very disappointing stay and I wouldn't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

It's certainly not a luxurious B&B, but I certainly thought it was solid. Room was clean, breakfast was good, staff was great. No complaints at all. I'd recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Wow, this place is pretty bad, carpet not cleaned, general feeling of not well kept. my room was depressing, to say the least. Tiny! Went to make a cup of tea and there was a black curly hair on the cup (pubic hair? doesn't bare thinking about). It's cheap though, €35 for single room, but wow it's pretty bad. Thank God i haven't booked breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you're on a night out and need somewhere to crash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
753 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
1,387 reviews
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#34 of 58 in Cork
133 reviews
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Mardyke
Redclyffe Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon Bells

Property: Shandon Bells
Address: Shandon Bells Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shandon Bells is an exceptional Bed & Breakfast situated on a river bank within Cork City offering a sophisticated urban retreat in almost rural surroundings. 10 beautiful furnished bedrooms supplement the wonderful feeling of the peaceful River Lee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shandon Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing