We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”
Review of Shandon Bells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shandon Bells
Ranked #36 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Positive things:
- WiFi worked well
- Rooms were big and comfortable
- Excellent location: quiet place but very close to city center, only short walk there
- Breakfast was good (except coffee)

Negative:
- Very small and tight yard, hard to park a car
- No decent coffee on the breakfast, only instant coffee

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaijaR110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Knocked the door to stay for 1 night. There is a very small car park at the front of the hotel which we used at no extra cost. The location of the B&B is very central and we paid €50 for 1 night without the breakfast. We thought it was a bit too much, but after a long day we did not feel like it to go around and find a bed. We stayed in the attic room, it was clean but basic. The furniture looks old and wobbly. The bathroom was clean and had clean towels provided. The bed was comfortable, though one has to be careful coz of the slanting ceiling. In the morning we were told that there would be someone at 8am for breakfast but we found no one there. If you do not visit with high hopes, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den_Sil_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed one night recently. Got a room on some budget website at last minute for 40euro room only. On arrival there was no one to let us in, but after ringing the number the lady rang a woman that was inside and she let us in and led us to the room. Our room was no 5 I think. Top floor, couldn't fault the room. Was clean and warm and had everything. The biggest let down is ye parking. I think it there's 4 spaces lined out but its a pure disaster unless your driving mr beans car. Overall if you can park somewhere else the place is grand. Affordable and clean and close to town also.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We read all the reviews before were booked this B&B, and to be honest we are not fussy at all, but i believe every place deserves a honest review,and some reviews are really exaggerated. but this place is not good. and over priced for our stay any way. we paid 100 euro for one night. (sat oct bank hol wend) last minute booking to be fair.
The location is good, the car park is a narrow drive way, an accident just waiting to happen.
We were greeted by a nice woman, i'm not sure whether she was working there or owned the house.? its about a 15min walk from city centre.
The rooms are small, dirty smelly carpets, radiator falling off the wall, furniture falling apart, shower very dirty not cleaned properly in a long time, and tiny. the room and all its fittings were very old and this place needs a major overhaul top to bottom.
As i said we are not fussy,we only expect a basic, clean and functional room.
especially for this price, we did not get this, fact. would not recommend this place im afraid.;-{

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simozeeninny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

i stayed last nt was bad smell in the room ans when i spoke to yhe lady she told me that al the rooms smelt that the houise was old i was quato 31.95 was charged 33.95 that the way it would not stay ther again was cold this moring no heat on terrible place and try getting out of it driving joke my phone number is 07841100143 ben

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenFitzpatrick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Location nice at the river and next to University College. Use a bus (EUR 1,70) or taxi (EUR 7-14) to/from city center/railway. Good breakfast, small but clean rooms and bathrooms, good staff.
We werw three middleaged/old people in two rooms. Satisfying, recommendable and would like to come back. Even possible to fish from the backyard terrace!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voivoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I don't normally make any comment at all about places we've stayed in and were disappointed but I feel that I must warn other travellers that this is not luxury accommodation!! We were greeted very warmly by a lady and I'm not sure whether she was the owner but my suspicion was that she was not.
At first sight the room looked quite pleasant but it wasn't long before it became obvious that there were many faults. There were no side lamps, the bathroom basin was badly cracked and hadn't been cleaned properly, the timber around the bathroom door was hanging loose with nails hanging out, the tv didn't work. We didn't find this out until later in the evening and there seemed to be nobody around to ask for assistance. The next morning we discovered a large stain on the bedskirt. I didn't think the room had been cleaned properly at all. The wallpaper was torn off in patches. All in all, it was a very disappointing stay and I wouldn't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Romar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,772 reviews
Gabriel House B&B
#5 of 59 in Cork
587 reviews
Belvedere Lodge
#9 of 59 in Cork
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 59 in Cork
1,425 reviews
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Mardyke
Redclyffe Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon Bells

Address: Shandon Bells Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shandon Bells is an exceptional Bed & Breakfast situated on a river bank within Cork City offering a sophisticated urban retreat in almost rural surroundings. 10 beautiful furnished bedrooms supplement the wonderful feeling of the peaceful River Lee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shandon Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing