We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good reasonably priced hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The East Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The East Village
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good reasonably priced hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Modern basic hotel located in the heart of Douglas, reasonably priced as well. East Village has a restaurant and bar/night club on site so you don't have to travel far for entertainment. Breakfast was very nice with generous quantities and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The East Village has a bar and night club so make sure you get a room where you won't hear the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
15
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here during the Cork Jazz festival, booking at the last minute meant we didn't exactly have our pick of hotels in the City but we were delighted in the end that we picked the East Village. It's over a bar with great bar food and a drink selection that got us ready for the night ahead. The bed was great and the rooms spotless, I didn't hear any noise even though the nightclub was all go when we arrived. Highly recommended as a place to stay if you're out in Cork!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
624 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I visited the resturant with my family on a very wet August night . We were immediately made welcome by the the waiting staff . The food was generally plentiful and well prepared . It arrived quickly and the waiting staff showed a lot of interest in our visit. Great service skills were shown when they offered to walk us to the car with umbrellas to stop us getting wet .

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank coughandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The rooms are quite basic but very clean and spacious. The hotel is much better value for money than a travelodge etc inc breakfast.The staff are the asset from the bar staff to the people on reception everyone is friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It can be noisy but that didn't bother me. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimesy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have stayed at the East Village on countless occasions over the past 9 years. It is relatively inexpensive which makes it good value for what you get. There are only a few rooms so breakfast is normally an uncrowded affair and you get good attention from the staff on duty, particularly when I last stayed on 14-15 May 2012. I have never had any issues with sound from the bar two floor below, although I have not stayed over the weekend. I was impressed how busy the bar and restaurant were on a Monday night. No sign of the evil bouncer refered to in other posts. The menu hasn't changed in all the time I have visited but now Douglas has some good restaurants right next door to the East Village so you have choice to eat out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I find Cork city one of the hardest places to get value for money. This Hotel almost got there but it was a little pricey for what I got. The room was clean but it had something missing. The rooms are on the top floor of a Pub and resturant so it is going to be a little noisy. Its in a little block of shops resturants ect so again there was alot of noise. This was a night during the week, I dread to think what it would be like at the weekends.But for some it may be just fine and indeed brilliant.The breakfast was unbelievable.. there was no self service cereal and when I got asked and served there was a few cornflakes in the smallest bowl ive ever seen at a breakfast bar. I ordered two poached eggs and waited for ages before i finaly got them.
The place was ok for an overnight stay on business and I can see how a group of 13 girls would have enjoyed staying here but it certainly wouldnt be a weekend destination for me. The staff were very helpfull and friendly but I wouldnt rush back.

Room Tip: Not sure if you could get a quiet room here but worth asking for if you prefer to get a good nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just had to give this place a glowing review. A group of 13 ladies stayed here. Some for 2 nights and others just the one. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Last word.....the wings....to die for. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffybiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The East Village

Property: The East Village
Address: Douglas, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The East Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel-restaurant-bar in Douglas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing