We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Kingsley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kingsley
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a lovely stay in the Kingsley recently.

We booked a king size room, which I'd highly recommend! The room was clean and very spacious, the bathroom was among the nicest I've seen! Air con was a great help.

Two very minor areas for improvement we felt was firstly the service (both reception who didn't follow upon queries or answer phone and pace of waiting staff) and secondly price of the food in the restaurant didn't reflect what you got. Also on our first morning nobody explained the breakfast routine to us, so we didn't realise that the cereal and pastries were in a different area and there was confusion around tea,coffee and toast which meant we usually didn't get it until after we finished our fry.

The pool is lovely and very clean.

It's a great base for exploring. The price we got including breakfast was very competitive compared to other hotels in the area that didn't include breakfast. (This is what swayed me to stay!)
I'd definitely recommend it and stay again.

Room Tip: Book a king size room if possible,very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelillydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal H, General Manager at The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Bluelillydee,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us and for choosing to stay at The Kingsley on your recent visit to Cork.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular our pool and bedroom facilities. I must apologise for your experience at breakfast; we have recently made some revisions to our menu and service systems that I strongly feel have improved the experience for our guests.
It is great to hear that you will be recommending us and I will be sure to inform the team of your wonderful comments.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you to The Kingsley again.

Best regards,
Fergal Harte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    296
    54
    26
    3
See reviews for
162
528
31
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork , Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was excited to hear the Kingsley was opening back up this summer after a long few years closure. The Kingsley was always a welcomed spot for Sunday lunch or afternoon tea previously so its a breath of fresh air to have the hotel open again.

*First Visit*

We decided to head out as a family on Sunday for lunch with my parents, partner and 2 sons (one a newborn and 15 month old.)

We were waiting over 50 minutes for our meals to be brought out to us in what I wouldn't be able to call a busy service. The staff seemed less than interested in what was going on, more of the younger staff who I think may only be there for the summer. One of the waitresses we seen leaning on the counter in the kitchen, yawning and looking at her watch.

What got to us most, is we asked for a baby bowl and was asked by our server, would we like it before our meal so that we could settle the 15 month old, we agreed.. but the baby bowl took 40 minutes to come out, and after this stage the little guy was getting a little agitated.

We weren't asked at all throughout the meal was everything okay, not one member of the staff approached us to ask if we needed anything else.

The (whom I can only assume) manager who was in a suit, was more than helpful and friendly and he came over and chatted to us about his family, and his son who is the same age as our own. A very genuine and nice guy, and is a credit to the hotel! Please pass my regards to this gentleman.

Now, I'm not at all writing a bad review as I'm giving 5 stars for both the friendliness of the manager and the quality of the food and the state of the hotel. The hotel has been renovated to a very high standard, and I must say is looking very very nice. Well done to all involved here in the renovation process!

*Second Visit*

On our second visit to the restaurant for Sunday dinner, it was only myself, my partner and two infant son's. We were seated extremely quickly, and given a choice of where we would like to sit. The waiting staff on this occassion were more than helpful, and service was extremely quick. I'm delighted to see such a vast improvement, in only two weeks!

I think the hotel here has massive potential and the restaurant is living up to the standards of the former 5 Star Hotel, The Kingsley. Well done guys!

The food, was literally to die for. It was absolutely amazing, probably one of the nicest meals we have had out in a long time. Hats off to the culinary team who can be seen working hard through the glass in the restaurant.

I was disappointed first time around in the waiting staff in the restaurant on the day, but teething problems are going to happen, and after our return visit my views have completely turned around! The staff on the second visit couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and offered a very prompt a speedy service! Well done!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal H, General Manager at The Kingsley, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed and thoughtful feedback with us on your recent visits to The Kingsley.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and that you felt such a positive improvement from your initial visit. We truly appreciate your comments as all of the team here have been working very hard to overcome some of the teething issues we faced upon re-opening. We have implemented staff training programmes across all areas and I am confident our service is improving daily as a result of these measures. I will be passing along your kind comments to all our staff and our food and beverage team in particular.

Once again, many thanks for getting in touch and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsley in the future.

Best regards,

Fergal Harte

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel has newly opened its doors after being flooded some years ago. It is located on the River Lee in Cork. There is a wonderful walking area just outside the hotel next to the river. The reception area and restaurant are absolutely beautiful. And the rooms are stunning. The décor is old Victorian style. The staff are friendly. Parking is free and there are plenty of spaces on site to park. The buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal H, General Manager at The Kingsley, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us and for choosing The Kingsley on your recent visit to Cork.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments and I will pass along your kind words to all our staff. We strive to deliver excellence in service to all our guests and I am pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience.

Once again, many thanks for getting in touch and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsley should you return to Cork in the future.

Best regards,

Fergal Harte

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The best parts of this newly re-opened hotel are the decor, the staff, the spa facilities, the pool and the bedrooms. It is in an ideal location for those visiting Cork city. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the springboard restaurant was lovely. The bedroom was spotlessly clean, the bathroom is lovely and the beds are really comfortable. The addition of a tiny 'hall' when you open the door ensures that the sounds in the corridor are kept to a minimum.
The not so good bits are
:the outdoor hot tub which was fab when the previous owners had this hotel, has not worked since the new management took earlier this month
:the selection of food for breakfast was poor and there was no menu available with pancakes etc on it.
Overall this hotel is lovely but it could be even nicer

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal H, General Manager at The Kingsley, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear IrishTraveller74,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at The Kingsley on your recent visit to Cork, and for taking the time to write this review.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and, in particular, I greatly appreciated your kind comments about The Spa, Health Club, staff and decor.

The use of the outdoor hot tub has unfortunately been delayed as we await the necessary repair work to be completed. We agree that it is a unique facility, which was extremely popular before the hotel closed in 2009. We plan to have it back in service very soon and I apologise for your disappointment in this regard. We have recently made some revisions to our breakfast menu to include more menu choices and I am confident that this has greatly improved the experience for our guests.

Once again, many thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsley very soon.

Best regards,

Fergal Harte

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

As previous reviewer wrote, this hotel is exceptional in almost everything except for the breakfast which I think is poor. I struggle to see how a supposed 5* gets away with such a poor selection, over cooked buffet. Eggs that were cooked before sunrise etc. I would come back here as it's the nicest I stayed in cork so far but I'll skip breakfast.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Louth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal H, General Manager at The Kingsley, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear David,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for choosing The Kingsley for your recent stay in Cork.

I was delighted to hear that you found your stay to be overall very enjoyable. Your kind words about the hotel are very much appreciated. I was disappointed to hear your experience at breakfast was below the standard The Kingsley would hope to deliver. We have recently made some revisions to our breakfast menu and we feel this has greatly improved the experience for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back and would encourage you to try the breakfast again so that we can show you the improvements made in this area.

Best regards,

Fergal Harte

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Kingsley this week. The offer of 99 euro was the attraction plus the fact that we had such a wonderful experience staying in it's sister hotel in Fota. On arrival we were greeted warmly .Parking was a bit chaotic . Could have done with stewarding. It was around lunch time and the place was very busy and a good atmosphere. Our room was lovely. Everything worked. We had a late lunch and dinner in the Bistro. Waitress was charming and food was very good. Lovely view overlooking the River Lee. Their system of recording food being added to overall bill seemed a bit haphazard( more of that later). Swimming pool area was very nice. Our big big disappointment was the breakfast. This is a hotel potentially 5 star operating as a 4 star. The standard of breakfast was very very poor. Range of food was surprisingly small . Hot buffet was placed too close to fruit section so access to either was difficult. We were not informed that there were other choices apart from hot buffet. For cereal there was no loose sugar ,again had to be requested. I ordered poached egg which arrived without any accompanying toast or bread. By the time these arrived eggs were cold. No natural yogurt available for fruit. No sign of any bread not to mention having a choice. A lot of waiters/waitresses but no great overall plan. On receiving our bill at check out we observed and informed staff that we were undercharged. Bistro the night before had not charged up for our meal. Having said all of the above we would return again and hopefully the difficulties will be ironed out. Location is very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionnuala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal H, General Manager at The Kingsley, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Fionnuala,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for choosing The Kingsley for your recent stay in Cork.

I was delighted to hear that you found your room and dining experience in our restaurant, The Springboard, to be so pleasant. I was delighted to be able to pass your kind comments to our food and beverage team.

I was equally disappointed however to learn of your experience at breakfast. I accept that the breakfast product provided in the period after we reopened the hotel was somewhat limited. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. We have recently revised our breakfast service standards and range of options available. I can assure you that the experience for our guests has greatly improved as a result.

Thanks again for your feedback, both positive and negative. As you mentioned at the end of your review, I hope you will decide to return so that we can show you the service improvements we’ve been making and thereby rectify any negative impression left by your initial visit.

Best regards,

Fergal Harte

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Myself and my wife are just back from a weekend in the newly opened Kingsley in Cork. Lovely room, beautiful food and lovely staff. Phone not working in room, but otherwise a great stay. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal H, General Manager at The Kingsley, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear John,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay at The Kingsley.

I was delighted to hear you and your wife enjoyed your visit. Thanks also for letting us know about the phone in your room. This has now been fixed by our maintenance team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsley.

Best regards,

Fergal Harte

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,418 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsley

Property: The Kingsley
Address: Victoria Cross, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Sunday's Well
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of The Fota Collection, The Kingsley Hotel is a luxury 4-star Cork hotel with 131 spacious and modern guest rooms, including one handsome penthouse suite, all with modern, contemporary decor with a hint of old-world luxury. On the south side of Cork's iconic River Lee, many rooms offer stunning views of the river, just on the doorstep of the city's University and walking distance from the centre of this bustling city, filled with culture. Ideal for the executive traveller, The Kingsley has substantial and attractive conferencing facilities, with 7 business suites and an elegant function room, The Deane-Woodward Suite, able to cater to a wide variety of needs. The hotel has two unique and inviting restaurants (Fairbanks and The Springboard), an intimate and classic bar (Fishers) and a luxurious Spa and Health Club. The luxury organic Spa at The Kingsley has a world-class Thermal Suite and the Health Club is modern and spacious, with an impressive range of fitness classes and a beautiful and serene pool. During a stay at The Kingsley, visitors can easily access Cork city's top attractions and shopping facilities. The surrounding area provides cultural and entertainment opportunities as well as a wide range of activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing