We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but works”
Review of Number Forty Eight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Forty Eight
Ranked #43 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed here on a recent trip to Ireland. The B & B was in an area of town just outside of the city center and it was an easy walk to get anywhere. There is a strip of B & B's and I am not sure how the others compare to this one but I'd imagine they are similar.

Rooms were adequate but small. Breakfast was good. Free Internet was nice and parking was fairly easy as long as you didn't plan on staying too long during the day.

Nice walk to Dan Lowrey's pub which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BSKaufmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Number Forty Eight
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

Located close to main transport links. Friendly owner rooms a little on the cramped side but clean and comfortable. A good nights sleep was had and an excellent breakfast menu provided.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beefnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Jeryy had a fantastic breakfast, served in style in delightful whimsical breakfast room - great stories of Cork and Australia - truly got the feel of the port city - great suggestions to walking sites, bar and restaurant - welcoming and homey host.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlloydMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I really enjoyed staying in this B&B. This was the smallest one we stayed in but the host, Jerry, was the real attraction here. He was full of restaurant recommendations and annecdotes about Cork and Ireland in general. He has an amazing background and was very open to talking to us about his adventures in Austrailia. He also makes the best sausage I had all week! Thanks for a great night Jerry!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyLee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This place is so cozy, I slept so well there , just like home:)Room was very clean, and pillows with duvet smelled so fresh!!! Jerry was very friendly to us, he really took care of us, and gave us some help to orientate in the city!I liked it a lot, in fact its not expensive! Breakfast was delicious. I definetly reccomend that to those who would be interested in Cork`s B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natulenysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I stayed in Number Forty Eight for three nights with my wife. It was the best three nights in our life! We liked breakfast,room,service.Everythong was amazing! We felt like at home!
We had lovely fresh flowers in the room!
Jerry was amazing host and we will defo come back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandroshrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed here in June 2010, and found the location shady, the rooms dirty (bugs on the floor), and the sleep quality poor (due to the train station right outside the place).

But worst was that my mother tried closing the window blind, which immediately fell on her head. When we advised Jerry of this, he tried to charge us $75 for for repairs. It's now Sept, and when my husband disputed the charge to his credit card, he charged mine. He's been completely unapologetic about the broken blind and persistent in trying to charge us for something that was broken when we arrived. Awful!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcal716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Montenotte
Clon Ross Guest House
Clon Ross Guest House
#22 of 60 in Cork
42 reviews
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Oakland Bed & Breakfast
Belvedere Lodge
#10 of 60 in Cork
348 reviews
Gabriel House B&B
#6 of 60 in Cork
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Forty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Forty Eight

Address: Number Forty Eight 48 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £53 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number Forty Eight 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Number Forty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing