We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerry at number forty eight is the best, a treasure in Cork....”
Review of Number Forty Eight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Forty Eight
Ranked #40 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jerry at number forty eight is the best, a treasure in Cork....”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Jerry completely looked after us over our five night stay, we were made to feel very welcome and NOTHING was too much trouble. The location was excellent, just down the road from the station, we certainly didn't hear any trains, and it was a pleasant walk into the city centre. Breakfasts are huge!!!!! Jerry made sure we were stuffed, we can recommend the omelette made with garlic butter, yum yum. All in all, absolutely loved staying here, would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooz_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
12
31
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A friendly and helpful host but the accommodation was very very basic and the noise from the nearby railway station kept us awake all night. Poor quality sausages spoiled an otherwise good breakfast. At 90 Euros for the night we felt we had been stung.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank voyageur186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cork hotels

Deltona, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Yes, yes, yes, the room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. The food was delicious and the coffee was perfect. All of which are reason enough to return, but we never in a million years expected the wonderful, warm hospitality that we recieved. Either Jerry recieves an academy award for his acting ability or he is the nicest , charming, Irishman a weary traveler can encounter. When asked, he offered suggestions for a little night life and we had a grand time. He also gave us direction on a few places to stop on our way to the next destination that were right on target. We had a wonderful time in Ireland and look forward to a return trip. You can bet Number Forty Eight will be on our list. We found Joy in the unexpected.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dottea420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here 1 night. While the rooms and bedding smelled clean- the floors didn't look clean. The beds were so uncomfortable with springs sticking in your back all night. The area is not the greatest and there are no accommodations for handicapped- especially in the bathrooms. What this inn lacks in the basics- Jerry makes up for it. He is very kind with great stories. He is helpful in recommending restaurants and he makes a bang-up Irish breakfast. I didn't feel safe in the area and while most people like this place- I need a little more comforts.....we were up all night hearing walking back and forth above our heads- we were convinced it was a ghost- but whomever it was- the were literally walking back & forth all night and our ceiling was creaking- we were gladnto move on but wish Jerry the best because he is so kind

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed here on a recent trip to Ireland. The B & B was in an area of town just outside of the city center and it was an easy walk to get anywhere. There is a strip of B & B's and I am not sure how the others compare to this one but I'd imagine they are similar.

Rooms were adequate but small. Breakfast was good. Free Internet was nice and parking was fairly easy as long as you didn't plan on staying too long during the day.

Nice walk to Dan Lowrey's pub which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BSKaufmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Located close to main transport links. Friendly owner rooms a little on the cramped side but clean and comfortable. A good nights sleep was had and an excellent breakfast menu provided.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beefnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Jeryy had a fantastic breakfast, served in style in delightful whimsical breakfast room - great stories of Cork and Australia - truly got the feel of the port city - great suggestions to walking sites, bar and restaurant - welcoming and homey host.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlloydMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
Clon Ross Guest House
Clon Ross Guest House
#26 of 58 in Cork
42 reviews
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#16 of 58 in Cork
80 reviews
Gabriel House B&B
#7 of 58 in Cork
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belvedere Lodge
#12 of 58 in Cork
340 reviews
Montenotte
Oakland Bed & Breakfast
Kent House B&B
#9 of 58 in Cork
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Forty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Forty Eight

Property: Number Forty Eight
Address: Number Forty Eight 48 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Number Forty Eight 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Number Forty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing