We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it!”
Review of Star Anise

Star Anise
Ranked #27 of 637 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$43
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My friend & I tried three courses from the early-bird menu. The food was divine. The service was well-timed and unintrusive although very welcoming. The only small disappointment was the ice-cream dessert. It is imported from a commercial creamery in France. It was tasteless as was the "chocolate-chip cookie" (which turned out to be a 2cm shortbread biscuit with no chocolate) and the palsly drizzle of chocolate sauce. Either take it off the menu or locate an Italian manufacturer of gelati. Everything..and I mean everything else was superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    90
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Yet another lovely meal”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Eat here more than any other single restaurant in Cork. Almost always love the food even though I sometimes wish the portions were a little bigger ... though I am a bit of a glutton so it's probably just me. Good selections of courses and wines and bustling atmosphere a lot of the time although this can mean that service can't always be instant within the confined but not cramped dining area. Had a small issue with the bill last time due to a misunderstanding of what wine was ordered but this was resolved quickly, amicably and without fuss so top marks to the staff. Great value early bird and super selection on full menu. Always leave here satisfied if not necessarily stuffed, in my case only though - my wife is always full afterwards :) Looking forward to next time already

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant / Have been back numerious times”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I found this restaurant on tripadvisor some months back as I wanted to try some place new in my home town. Boy what a find. The quality of the food, service was excellent. Should try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Ireland”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This lovely little restaurant is right near the center of Cork. The food was fresh, interesting, and thoughtfully prepared. I had a little salad of asparagus, pomegranate, and goat cheese that was very refreshing, following by some delicate, handmade shrimp ravioli. Prices very reasonable for the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadHazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Perfect service, food. The starter (terrine of liver pate and something else I cannot remember) was superb, one of the best I ever had, with a unique consistency. The lamb shank was also perfect, so tender and testy. And my dinner companions were all very satisfied of their dinner. Absolutely would go back if i have a chance in the next few days

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicosne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Anise also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Star Anise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing