We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fanad Lighthouse and Doe Castle Tour
2

Book in advance
from
£665.71
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Fanad Head Lighthouse
from £665.71
More Info
from £206.16
More Info
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
321
86
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
86
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house well worth a visit our tour guide sitting room great tour lovely drive stunning views short drive local knowledge great place to visit inishowen peninsula coffee shop tower tavern ireland waw euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Went to visit Fanad lighthouse on 19th may. Was disappointed to find its only open on Friday, Saturday and Sunday between 12 and 5.Despite being holiday season there was lots of cars outside disappointed to that it wasn't open during the week. Fabulous views.Hopefully they will review the situation and rethink opening hours soon.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank DonnaSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Made it through the narrow roads to come to the famous red gates, where there is a coffee van and two port a loo's, a small open plan office and the light house itself.
The woman in the office was so nice and helpful, checked to see if we were okay to go on the next tour (in Irish!!!)
Its €8 per person and with a short walk we were at the light house itself. Grand but small rooms inside and a long corridor to the round light house.
The steps to the very top are counter levered (each step holds the other up) and narrow. Now i hate heights and with me hugging the round walls I managed to get to the '1st floor' where there was 2 small windows and a wooden cabinet that curved with the walls. Inside the cabinet there was boats in the bottle and other things.
Up another set of skinny metal steps and we were at the main light itself. Amazing 365 views around. The guide told us of the history of the light house and was very informative.
Hugging the walls backwards down I finally made it to solid ground (phew!) and out and around the outside of the building.
Special note to Kevin - who brought us up and safely back down the lighthouse - who is a local and who (I'm guessing) in 4th year at the collage and was volunteering and hoping to get a summer job out of it. - Mother even got him to take our picture (top class)

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank lkyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We was near by Fanad Head on the Horn Head. It windy strongly, but the nice view over the Cliffs was very impressive.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Swiss-traveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Only opened in Easter 2016 to the public and wasn't aware you had to book in advance for the full tour. Although busy and wonderful staff fitted six of us in and what a great place. Obviously the location is breathtaking with fantastic photo opportunities. The tour is very interesting and guides are full of information and history, caution, NOT FOR THOSE SCARED OF HEIGHTS!! Highly recommend.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Peterhkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael D, Public Relations Manager at Fanad Head Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you for the kind review,

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again at Teach Solais Fhánada.

Go raibh maith agat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

The lighthouse is open to the public, this is a resent addition. We visited during the May bank holiday weekend. The tour costs €8 for and adult or €20 for a family of four.
The tour included a trip up to the light. Our children ranged from 9-13 years. While the children had reservations about the lighthouse visit, they soon changed their minds when they began the guided tour up to the light room. The views are spectacular. The stairs are narrow at the top, so mobility may be an issue for some people. In addition, there are no toilet facilities at the lighthouse itself. There is one portable toilet at the carpark, this was unacceptably dirty (this is the only downfall and needs rectified ASAP).

The staff are friendly.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank h f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews