We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fanad Lighthouse and Doe Castle Tour
2

Book in advance
from
£664.50
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Fanad Head Lighthouse
from £664.50
More Info
from £205.78
More Info
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
321
86
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
86
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house well worth a visit our tour guide sitting room great tour lovely drive stunning views short drive local knowledge great place to visit inishowen peninsula coffee shop tower tavern ireland waw euro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked onto the lighthouse tour and were not disappointed. I was nervous about the stairs but they were fine! The tour was very informative and the views were great!

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank greenshouseplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EimearTS, Manager at Fanad Head Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Fanad Lighthouse and for your kind words about our tour. We hope to meet you here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to celebrate our anniversary and had a lovely time. We were perhaps a little lucky with the weather and were able to explore all around in the sun, in April! At night looking out for the other lighthouses was also great. Well equipped self-catering facilities, only slight disappointment was that the nearby Lighthouse Tavern wasn't open until Summer.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EimearTS, Manager at Fanad Head Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with at Fanad Lighthouse. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to meet you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our 1st stay at keeper cottage. We are on mission to find all 70 of our Irish lighthouses. So far 45 clocked up !
The cottage was simply furnished, spacious and bed cosy. We made ourselves at home easily. John included us on morning tour of the Lighthouse. He was wonderfully informed and funny too. Thank you John
Yvonne at the Fanad shop was a joy to chat to. Such a lovely lady .
Morning and night walks seeing Tory and Dunree lighthouses lights at night
The pictures don't do justice all we saw and experienced.
Rugged landscapes and chatty neighbourhood farmers.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank b1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EimearTS, Manager at Fanad Head Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at Fanad Lighthouse. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the tour. John and Yvonne really are great characters - we are lucky to have them!
Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

We arrived around 11:30am and went into the tea shop/gift shop to purchase tickets. The lady there could not have been more friendly or helpful. The 2 options for viewing the lighthouse were explained clearly so we knew exactly what to except. The tour starts with a VR presentation of the shipwreck that resulted in the lighthouse being built - this was our first VR experience and we were amazed by the realism. Outside was a little hut (Eist) with seats to sit and listen to some singing and stories. There are 2 exhibits in the base of the lighthouse with a short film presentation also. Our tour guide was Owen and he was fantastic from start to finish. He was so knowledgable, answering all questions with ease and holding the interest of adults and kids alike. His pride in the heritage and history of the area were obvious and he conveyed that with wit and respect.
A few of our group weren’t great with heights but we were never made to feel that we needed to hurry, in fact we were encouraged to only do the climb at our speed.
The views from the top are amazing even on a dull spring day - well worth the climb. We ended the tour back in the gift shop and had a great recommendation from the lady there about where we should go next (Pollen Sea Arch)
We have visited many attractions throughout Ireland and by far this is the best in terms of how it’s been thought out and how it’s presented. The lighthouse is fantastic but the staff here are the stars of the show.

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EimearTS, Manager at Fanad Head Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Paul, a chara

Thank you for visiting Fanad Lighthouse and for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024

Would definitely recommend coming here and taking the tour. It was really interesting and the scenery is stunning. The VR experience was a fun addition too.
Our guide Eoghan was really informative and spent a lot of time explaining everything and answering our questions! The staff in the cafe/ticket office were all super nice too!!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank crist_nr2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EimearTS, Manager at Fanad Head Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you so much for visiting Fanad Lighthouse and for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews