We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rananey Whitehouse (owned by Ashwood Apartments)”
Review of Ashwood Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashwood Apartments
Derry, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rananey Whitehouse (owned by Ashwood Apartments)”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friends and I were attending a wedding in the Mill Park Hotel and needed somewhere nearby to stay. This house is set in a stunning rural setting roughly 3 miles from Donegal Town (6 euro in a taxi to the Mill Park Hotel). The house is finished to perfection with even my favorite Yankee Candles in some rooms. There was an abundance of towels, bedding and kitchen utensils, right down to an iron. Even though it is self catering, you are catered for at an extremely high level. Tina is so friendly and accommodating. I would definitley recommend this house to anyone, we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

From our first contact with her on St. Patrick's Day this year until the day we finished our three-night stay at Raneany Whitehouse, Tina O'Grady surpassed every one of our expectations except one and she very generously offered a solution to that. This four-bedroom house is situated on a quiet country road just a few miles from the center of Donegal Town. It is a modern, clean, and attractive home which contains everything a traveler could possible need with the exception of Wi-Fi. Tina was very attentive in addressing our needs and, confronted with our expressed desire for Wi-Fi, offered the use of her own system at her home which is located next door. Tina also gave us some excellent guidance on local restaurants which helped us to make some good choices for our evening meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in Ashwood apartments in August 2012. We selected them based on previous trip advisor reviews - all of which were positive.

The apartments were very clean, modern, and well equipped. They were also well situated for the town - about a ten minute walk. They are in the grounds of a four star hotel and had access to the hotels leisure facilities - which was a pleasant surprise.

Donegal town itself is great with lots of nice pubs and restaurants and not far from some of the most beautiful beaches we've seen. When we arrived in late August there was a food festival in the town - which was great fun.

Overall we had a fabulous time - even the weather wasn't bad. Thanks to Tina for making us so so welcome. Hopefully we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Excellent apartments would highly recommend especially if travelling with Children. They even provided some toys which our 3 year old was most happy with. Close by to lots of things. Everything you needed was provided including high car and travel cot for baby. Place was very clean, dishwasher tables and laundry powder provided also

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthacorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed at the apartments with husband and son on a touring holiday of Ireland. A very welcome comfort break from an old camper van. Very spacious, clean apartment equipped with everything required for a comfortable stay. Very comfortable bed! A short 10 min walk into Donegal town.

There was a little noise from late returning wedding guests in the adjacent Mill Park Hotel on one night of our 3 night stay. Facilities and bar/cafe in the Mill Park excellent and very friendly staff.
An issue we had was quickly and courteously resolved by Tina the owner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We found these modern well equipped apartments an excellent base from which to explore Donegal. They were very clean and had everything we needed for a self catered few days. They are a short walk from Donegal town but less rural than we thought. The road into town was busy and near a main roundabout. We did prefer the more traditional B&B style accommodation on our trip. Tina was very efficient and very helpful.

Room Tip: Our apartment was on the ground level and looked out over the car park so we lacked privacy on some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The apartment was wonderful -- kitchen is well equipped, beds are comfy, living room is spacious, bathrooms are large and the apartment is very clean. It is close to Donegal Town and we would have walked but it was rainy and windy. Tina made the check-in very easy. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Apartments

Property: Ashwood Apartments
Address: Mill House | The Mullens, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Donegal Town
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashwood Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashwood Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing