We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wet Washing, Small Fridge”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashwood Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashwood Apartments
Maclean, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wet Washing, Small Fridge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Plenty of space, quiet, great parking and linen, good location especially for touring, and friendly owner. The downsides were a washing machine/dryer where the dryer does not work, a small bar fridge under the counter which does not hold much - no freezer so forget making ice for drinks. The lighting throughout is a bit dim, and the price is definitely not value for money for couples.

Room Tip: The washing machine/dryer in Apartment 6 had a broken dryer cycle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed one night with family last week. We were very pleased with the accommodation. Plenty of space and a nice living area. 10 minute walk into the town which was very nice with some decent restaurants, traditional pubs etc.

Only downside was lack of wifi which these days is pretty much standard. Having to go to the hotel reception to pick up the signal isn't really acceptable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlelyons
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay in Raneany Whitehouse and I couldn't be more pleased. Tina is incredibly pleasant and made us feel very welcome. The house is much bigger than we could have imagined, very comfortable, sparkling clean and very modern while still being homely.
It was a great base to explore Donegal. Coming back in the evening I enjoyed sitting outside, listening to the birds, drinking a cup of coffee. The missing WiFi didnt bother me much. It was good to get a break to be honest. But you do need transport.
I will highly recommend this accommodation to anyone. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin_G_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at these apartments with 2 friends and was very impressed with the cleanliness, layout and overall accommodation. Really lovely apartments and it is great being so close to the lovely hotel, where the food and Irish Coffee is delicious! Really enjoyed staying here and the nearby petrol station is so handy and does very tasty, freshly prepared pizzas! Would definitely recommend this accommodation and would definitely go back. Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGallagher_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Overall these apartments were great - cleanliness was excellent. My only fault would be that when we booked online it was a little mislwading in that it stated that we had access to the hotel facilities nearby (we wanted the pool for the kids) but when we went to the hotel pool it was an extra €30 charge for 2 adults and 2 children each time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carladonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friends and I were attending a wedding in the Mill Park Hotel and needed somewhere nearby to stay. This house is set in a stunning rural setting roughly 3 miles from Donegal Town (6 euro in a taxi to the Mill Park Hotel). The house is finished to perfection with even my favorite Yankee Candles in some rooms. There was an abundance of towels, bedding and kitchen utensils, right down to an iron. Even though it is self catering, you are catered for at an extremely high level. Tina is so friendly and accommodating. I would definitley recommend this house to anyone, we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

From our first contact with her on St. Patrick's Day this year until the day we finished our three-night stay at Raneany Whitehouse, Tina O'Grady surpassed every one of our expectations except one and she very generously offered a solution to that. This four-bedroom house is situated on a quiet country road just a few miles from the center of Donegal Town. It is a modern, clean, and attractive home which contains everything a traveler could possible need with the exception of Wi-Fi. Tina was very attentive in addressing our needs and, confronted with our expressed desire for Wi-Fi, offered the use of her own system at her home which is located next door. Tina also gave us some excellent guidance on local restaurants which helped us to make some good choices for our evening meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,940 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 42 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Apartments

Property: Ashwood Apartments
Address: Mill House | The Mullens, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Donegal Town
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashwood Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashwood Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing