We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donegal Town”
Review of Diamond Lodgings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diamond Lodgings
Ranked #11 of 43 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Donegal Town”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

All of my family (8 in all) attended a wedding in Donegal this weekend (October bank holiday). We found the accommodation to be right in the centre of the town. It also has a private car park at the back of the guesthouse. Bridie the owner could not have been more helpfull to us on our stay. We stayed 3 nights and the accommodation was spotless. I would certainly recommend this guesthouse and will be returning in the future. Our room had a double bed and 2 single bed with on suite and tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDevo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    29
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldfischbach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I and our two children stayed for two nights in the Diamond Lodgings in Donegal Town in July. We had a nice room for four, overlooking the Diamond well kept and tidy at a very reasonable price. We recieved plenty of information from Bridie and Paul about the Donegal area and where to go and what to see. We had a very nice stay there and would definately recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elke072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Simple room in a great location for our 2-night stay in Donegal Town. The location was perfect. We slept well. Host was a delight. Parking convenient and close. (Please Note the Inn is up 2 flights of stairs). Even a computer available for internet access if you must (!). We'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip and Deb... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, SC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

had 4 double rooms at the Diamond Lodgings for 3 nights, the owner Bridie Duncan is warm and friendly and attentive. I choose this lodging for the group after viewing it on a trip in January 2012. liked the fact that we were not committed to breakfast the Diamond offers rooms only. the rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, just right for use golfers. it is right on the square and we walked to the restaurants and pubs. we would use this facility again if we plan another trip that includes Donegal Town.

Room Tip: great value, quiet as the rooms are on the second floor of a commercial building.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twoSCdrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights during June 2012 and we had a great experience. We had the room with 3 beds and it gave my family of 3 some time to stretch out and really relax! Bridie gave us extra towels and pillows and even did laundry for us-which helped out considerably since we were on a 12 day irish jaunt. The hot water was excellent and there is a great cafe/deli just 2 doors down. Overlooking the town center was exciting and it was very easy to walk to a pub, shopping, and Donegal Castle. As we were leaving, she went and found travel information for our next area. Thanks Bridie - we will definitely be back!!!
John, Carol and Amber Herter
Lincolnton, NC

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have made many visits to Ireland over the years, and always include a week or sometimes even longer, at conveniently-located Diamond Lodgings in Donegal Town. Bridie and Paul Duncan are extremely welcoming, graciously helpful in suggesting restaurants and sight-seeing jaunts, and immediately responsive to all questions. She encouraged me to visit numerous nearby attractions, all of which were delightful and memorable.

The rooms are immaculately clean, attractively decorated, extremely spacious, and all en suite. Bus Eireann stops only a few metres from the Lodging making it easy to visit all parts of both the Republic and Northern Ireland while enjoying the beauty of Donegal and the warmth of Diamond Lodging.

I recommend the Diamond Lodging, with hosts Bridie and Paul Duncan, wholeheartedly to all visitors to Ireland. Several days in Donegal Town and at the Diamond Lodging will indeed be the highlight of any visit to Ireland.

Room Tip: All rooms in Diamond Lodging are wonderful. All who visit will be absolutely delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 530MJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in the Diamond Lodgings for three nights over the June bank holiday as we were attending a wedding in Donegal Town. Our landlady - Bridie was very warm friendly and couldn't be any more accommodating with tips of places to eat and see around the town. She really couldn't have been more helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

The room was clean, comfortable and had its own en-suite. As the guesthouse is in the centrally located it is close to all amenities the town has to offer for any would be tourist or weekend getaway,(including the pubs!!!!!) It was great value and we would definitely recommend it to anyone planning on staying in Donegal Town.

I will be back again that’s for sure!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 43 in Donegal Town
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodgings

Property: Diamond Lodgings
Address: The Diamond Centre | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diamond Lodgings is an accommodation provider/guesthouse in the heart of Donegal Town. We are centrally located and family run and offer our guests bright, comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Each of our 10 rooms is en-suite, with television and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests have access to a free, private, town-centre car park and free WiFi facilities. Our accommodation is on a room-only basis. General information- Accommodation at the heart of Donegal - Free private car park to the rear of the building - All rooms en suite with shower - TVs in all rooms with terrestrial and Sky channels - Tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms - Free WiFi in all rooms and a computer available for guests' use for no charge- Family-run accommodation provider- 3 bedrooms overlooking the Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Diamond Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing