We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in donegal”
Review of Diamond Lodgings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diamond Lodgings
Ranked #10 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in donegal”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for a few nights and the welcome was brilliant, the rooms, beds, towels were spotless. we had tea and coffee in our room daily and the woman who owns the lodgings could not have been nicer, definetly the place to stay if you are going to donegal.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the diamond and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here on july 2013, the owner a gent was very friendly and helpful , room was perfect and very clean, slightly older decor but that means nothing, u could also connect to wifi without any bother, tea and coffee supplied in room and fresh clean towels. Also had a car park to the rear of the building, which was brilliant to save money on street parking, location was fantastic and easy to find. We checked out in the morning greeted by a friendly woman, who also helped us find places to go eat for breakfast. I stupidity forgot my phone in the room as I had it on charge, when we realised we returned to find the lady had taken it and kept it safe whilst continuing to charge it for me, which I thought was extremely nice of her. We will def be back to stay when we return to Donegal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collettestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We decided not to book anything while travelling round and see where we ended up. We spotted the sign with the price which was slightly lower than everywhere else we had seen and decided to go in and have a look. The owner offered us the slightly better room for the lower price and we took it.

- The location is good, as long as noise doesn't bother you.
- The rooms are odour free (a nice change from our recent places).
- The wifi actually works.
- The parking is easy to get to.

The only downside is the lack of breakfast, but we can get something cheap from a local shop which is fine for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnoMckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great location overlooking the diamond in the centre of the town. Private car park which was very convenient. Rooms and ensuite spotless. Bridie the owner was very helpful and welcoming. Price was excellent!! We enjoyed the personal touch that you wouldnt get in a larger hotel. Will definitely be back !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 1 night. The accommodation is right in the centre of the town. It also has a private car park at the back of the guesthouse which was great. Bridie the owner could not have been more helpful with advice and hospitality. Although there was only the 2 of us we were given the bigger room to fit 4 people, so we had plenty of space. Beds are comfortable and room was clean and tidy, with tea and coffee facilities provided in the room. This was a great accommodation choice at a bargain price, will definately return, only downfall was little water pressure in the shower, although water was always nice and hot.
Will recommend this accommodation to friends and family without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELAINEL822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in the diamond lodgings we were recommended it by friends.
On our arrival we met Bridie whom is very helpful, took us to our room which overlooked the Diamond in centre of town we had a large double bed and two single's, room and bathroom were spotless.
Bridie said it might get a bit noisy at night over the weekend well I do not know whether it was tiredness or Guinness but I slept like a baby.
Now you do not get breakfast but Bridie offered to make us toast or if we preferred we could have bowls for cereal or both, would have to buy milk and cereal.
Have to say it's a great spot to stay right in center of town with lots of entertainment all around in the bars or pubs.
As has been said before private car parking which is great this can not be overstated.
The only drawback is the stairs they are not for the faint hearted now having said that I have a dickey heart and managed very well.
Like Arnold Schwarzenegger said I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoDownAttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

All of my family (8 in all) attended a wedding in Donegal this weekend (October bank holiday). We found the accommodation to be right in the centre of the town. It also has a private car park at the back of the guesthouse. Bridie the owner could not have been more helpfull to us on our stay. We stayed 3 nights and the accommodation was spotless. I would certainly recommend this guesthouse and will be returning in the future. Our room had a double bed and 2 single bed with on suite and tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDevo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
820 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodgings

Property: Diamond Lodgings
Address: The Diamond Centre | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diamond Lodgings is an accommodation provider/guesthouse in the heart of Donegal Town. We are centrally located and family run and offer our guests bright, comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Each of our 10 rooms is en-suite, with television and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests have access to a free, private, town-centre car park and free WiFi facilities. Our accommodation is on a room-only basis. General information- Accommodation at the heart of Donegal - Free private car park to the rear of the building - All rooms en suite with shower - TVs in all rooms with terrestrial and Sky channels - Tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms - Free WiFi in all rooms and a computer available for guests' use for no charge- Family-run accommodation provider- 3 bedrooms overlooking the Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Diamond Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing