We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bridges Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Taking care of a group of tired wet cyclist is not alway easy, but Bernie did an excellent job. We felt very welcomed into this family home, with the added bonus of having wet clothing washed and dried, and bikes being safely stored away. The house is close to the centre, but just far enough away to avoid all the hustle and bustle of the main square. All the rooms are clean, tidy, and warm. The rooms at the front have a great view across the river to an old castle. This was a firm favourite, and we were all sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itinerantflaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a very nice night at The Bridges. The owner of The Reel Inn pub across the river in town gave us the recommendation. The owners were wonderful people. The house was very nicely decorated and it made you feel like you were at home. And very clean. Location was great. Very short walk into town and you can park right in front. We had a great view of the town, the river and the bridges. Went to dinner at the restaurant that Bernie works at. Another good recommendation.She is such a hard worker. Made us feel like family during our short stay. I will definitely stay here again next time we are in Donegal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthSideBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a great stay with Bernie and Steve at The Brides B&B. Our room was lovely and clean, very comfortable night sleep. We had a room with a beautiful view of the river, which we enjoyed listening to with the windows open at night. Bernie was very friendly and our breakfast was delicious. It's a very easy walk into town, Donegal Town is a great fun town. Check out the Reel Inn just across the bridge for some music and good craic. We hope to stay at The Bridges again and will recommend our friends and family to do the same. Thanks Bernie and Steve!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiegirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We met Bernie at the restaurant in the harbor and from that moment on she took us under her wing! My husband and I along with our two daughters were treated like family. The Inn is immaculate, the breakfast is yummy cooked to order, th best part is Bernie and Steven. They are so kind and willing to take the time to explain the ins and outs of the town and nearby vicinity. We rented bikes from her next store neighbor's bike shop at a very reasonable price. We ended up staying an extra day because of our experiences. Can not stay enough positive about The Bridges!

Room Tip: The suites up front have a view of the two bridges as you lay in bed from big picture windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Cannot even begin to describe the hospitality Bernie and Steven showed my husband and me! The room was absolutely immaculate with the most gorgeous view over the river, the church across the street and of Donegal Castle! Donegal was the first stop in Ireland as we toured the country and I have to admit, we left a bit of our hearts there. I cannot express how warm and friendly Bernie and Steven are. We will never forget our stay with them!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Bernie and family are so warm and welcoming, they make you feel right at home in their lovely B&B. Rooms are CLEAN and the view is great (the river and Donegal Castle). Breakfast is the traditional Irish fare, if you wish (soooo delicious), but cereal, fruit, yogurt and a selection of breads is also offered. There is a comfortable, warm sitting room to relax and have a bit of tea or coffee in the afternoon. The location is great also...just a short walk across the bridge to the center of Donegal Town. Bernie is delightful and told us about places to see and things to do in the Donegal area. We couldn't have been happier with this charming place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpobrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Double ensuite room was tiny, barely had enough space for luggage. Thankfully room was warm enough. It would have been nice to have hooks inside the bathroom and a bathroom mat too as tile floor was freezing after a shower. Very nice lady who provided lots of info about the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
231 reviews
0 mi away
Riverside House B&B
Riverside House B&B
#23 of 44 in Donegal Town
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridges Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridges Bed and Breakfast

Address: Waterloo Place, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: £60 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bridges Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridges Hotel Donegal Town
The Bridges b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing