We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway”
Review of Mill Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Hotel's location was perfect being so close to the town (10 to 15 minute walk). The rooms were spacious and comfortable. View from the rooms were majestic. The high quality of service provided by the staff really added to the great atmosphere and an overall unforgettable experience. Food was mouthwatering, can almost still taste and smell it it was so delicious! My partner and I will definitely be returning in the future and would advise anyone looking for a hotel to stay at in Donegal to book here.
Stayed January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClareLady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I booked with this hotel directly, last minute. We were a few hours away at the time when making the booking in the evening. We expected a bit better than we got as its a 4 star hotel and seemed to get generally good reviews. But there were a number of problems that I think the hotel needs to address. Sadly, its not a hotel that I would visit again because of the stay we had.

On arrival, the receptionist was pleasant and directed us to our room. Room service wasn't an option so she pointed us in the direction of some take-aways (no problem here, smaller hotels don't offer late service!). The room was cold as the radiator was not turned on fully and the TV didn't work. When I pointed this out to the receptionist she was very helpful and we were directed to another room. This room wasn't warm at all as the heat was off but we felt it was understandable as it wasn't booked. We turned on the heat and left for about an hour to get some food. On our return, the radiator wasn't even lukewarm. We called reception who said the heat wasn't turned off but he could 'boost it'. We just went to bed as it was late enough at this stage and used extra blankets just to keep warm. We didn't really feel the cold overnight. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

We seemed to be plagued with problems which was unfortunate as the hotel looked lovely and was very well decorated. In addition to the heating problem, not all the channels worked on the TV, the two taps in the bathroom were warm - there was no cold tap, and the shower wasn't very warm and kept changing temperature. For breakfast, there was no member of staff to direct us to a table or take our order (for tea/coffee) for sometime and the breakfast menu on our table was dirty as was the wall beside our table - looked like some spillage. I had the traditional Irish breakfast which wasn't that that nice.

The leisure facilities - pool, steam room and Jacuzzi were very nice but the room itself badly needed a paint. The paint was coming off the wall in blisters!

I met the same receptionist in the morning and explained some of our problems, to which she kindly dropped the price and explained the the heating would have been turned off for a period of time and she would get maintenance to the problems in the room.

Overall during my short stay the staff seemed very friendly and helpful but there were a number of issues that made our stay a little less enjoyable which is a shame. I'm a fussy traveler, ill admit, but for a 4 star hotel I would have expected it to be well maintained and these small problems shouldn't stack up to create a bit of a nightmare stay.

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw were spacious and nice so I suspect the majority are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SullyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed here over new year. Was problem with booking but Tara got it sorted quickly. Booked superior room. When we arrived Tara gave us a free upgrade to a junior suite. It was the very last room at end of corridor. The room was very large too many windows and hard to heat. We felt cold as soon as we arrived and it remained the same for the duration of stay even though we complained several times. We could not believe it when at 5pm we went to have a shower and no hot water. We had to boil kettles to get a wash. We complained sent plumber but next day no different and the next day. Several other customers knew the room no 153 and even if given upgrade would not stay at this room as there are always problems with it. Whilst Tara was helpful at first I felt let down as no one followed up the complaints. Then on departure they asked for full price of 509euros. It was only after protest that I got a reduction of 100 euros I would have much preferred a hot bath and warm room. I am disappointed that millpark didn't write or email me particularly mr [---]. We were recommended by a local Donegal family. Even if they had given us a voucher to go back and give them the benefit of the doubt. We have travelled for 40 years and never had this problem in any hotel. If a room was cold they dealt with it efficiently so badly let down by Irish establishment. Next new year it will be somewhere in Europe there are so many wonderful hotels that would do anything to make your stay enjoyable. I did like the staff in the restaurant as they were very efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Great hotel located close to Donegal town - ten minute stroll into the centre, good sized comfortable rooms with decent free wifi. Friendly staff, good breakfast, has a nice leisure centre as well. My choice of hotel when working in Donegal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Mill Park Hotel was the venue we chose for our wedding last April (2012). Our day was absolutely perfect. The staff were fantastic, they looked after us so well from start to finish and definitely went the extra mile, so friendly and welcoming. The hotel had a lovely homely feel. The room was decorated beautifully, the food was gorgeous - we could not have faulted a thing. As a wedding venue, we could not recommend the Mill Park Hotel highly enough and we cannot thank them enough for making our wedding day so memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly_3029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Feb 2012 (also Nov 2011). Check in was fast and friendly.
Our room was clean and a travel cot for our daughter was already set up, as requested.
The bar had a good menu and the staff were very friendly (in particular a Dublin man). We brought our daughter in there in the evening asleep in her buggy for an hour and nobody had any issue with it.

The pool was clean and very child friendly.

On the downside- breakfast was extremely busy. There was not enough staff and it took us around 20 mins to get tea and toast! We had our breakfast finished at this stage. The poor girl working was run off her feet and it was only 9am. I'm sure nearer 10am was chaos!!
The food was fantastic though. Overall, we will definitely be back here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We booked our wedding here in March 2012 and I felt it important to let other couples know that they would be sincerely looked after. Our day was spectacular even by our own admission but without the knowledge and friendly professionalism of the wedding team, we'd have been lost :) All guests were raving about the food and the stunning surroundings that is Donegal. Definitely recommend if for your BIG DAY!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuala p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
2.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
768 reviews
1.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Park Hotel

Address: The Mullins | Killybegs Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#4 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £104 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 110 guest bedrooms, which have been individually designed with comfort, style and convenience in mind; these include executive rooms and luxurious suites for your complete indulgence. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of the state of the art gymnasium & swimming pool, sauna & steam room, including a children's pool. Or alternatively, relax in the wellness center for absolute relief from the stresses and strains of everyday living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mill Park
Mill Park Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing