We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Positives:- good loctaion, reasonable prices, leisure centre, lovely view of Donegal bay

Negatives:- stale room in need of redecoration, overly hard mattress, no information in room on hotel or facilities, sachets of shampoo / shower gel in bathroom which are surely designed to frustrate, couldn't turn off heating, squeaky door hinges

In general, I find it a big plus to find a simple bottle of water available as standard in the room and this should not be a major expense.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eldel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review, With regards to some of the points you raised.
we are taking everything you said on board and you'll be pleased to know we are in the process of switching bathroom products, and are refurbishing the majority of the rooms. We are always trying to better the hotels facilities and services on offer and we thank you for bringing some unsatisfactory points to our attention.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon

Kind & Warm Regards
Megan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here on 30th December with my husband and parents. Although the hotel doesn't look that impressive from outside, the interior was beautiful with lovely carpets and a huge Christmas tree. Staff on the desk were incredibly polite and helpful, including storing our tablet when we accidentally left it at the desk! The on-street parking (using a ticket from the desk) was very easy. Rooms were spacious, well-designed and had beautiful furniture as well as great views over the bay. Breakfast was great and I was delighted that there was herbal tea available!

I would say that the hotel vastly exceeded all of our expectations and would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the bay if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScotchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Ruth
Thank you most sincerely for your delightful review which is greatly appreciated by myself and all the staff. It is rewarding and encouraging to receive such positive feedback from our customers, ill make sure to give a special mention to the front office team which gave you such a warm and friendly welcome.

Your high recommendation is greatly appreciated by everyone at The Central Hotel and a Very warm welcome awaits you on your next visit to Donegal

Kind & Warm Regards
Megan & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I enjoyed the restaurant - good food, better price than the hotel where we were staying. The restaurant had typical Irish cuisine - lots of potato choices. They also had Irish music playing several nights a week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Comfortable stay, excellent evening dinner....the only negative would be the Bar is even more expensive that the U.K
Located centrally..... A bar around the corner has traditional Irish music, which is a great experienced a nice way to spend the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudeAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Friends took me for lunch as it was my birthday and the Manager Eamonn took us to a booth and told us we can stay as long as we wanted, we had an excellent lunch and the staff were very good. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 864Paula16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Travelled with a friend on a five day coach tour holiday and ours was was one of three coaches. We were late arriving on the first evening but this seemed to be no trouble to the hotel even though it meant a later dinner. The staff were very friendly and coped well with the large number of people. The food was good and the room and bed comfortable. The hotel is in a very good situaton in the middle of the town and for the view of the bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

First impressions were not good due to the girl on reception who was abrupt and unfriendly, the other girl who worked on reception was very friendly and helpful as was the rest of the staff, food poor, unable to get into room at times due to faulty lock on door, also problem with locker which wouldn't open after using leisure facilities at hotel, Pool could be very noisy when there are groups of school children in, Hotel in good location with lovely view over the bay and free parking nearby although the decoration could do with some attention.

Room Tip: some rooms with a nice view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,244 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £84 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing