We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The entire reception staff ...outstanding. Helpful,patient, well informed...could not do enough.
Great location,excellent meals...but it's the great reception staff that make this an easy stop.
Gerard Hughes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Gerard,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind comments in relation to your stay, it is such a pleasure to read such lovely comments about the staff and our food. I'll make sure to pass your praise along to all the staff, especially the front of house team that you are so fond off. We are truly blessed to have such a good team here at the hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind & Warm Regards
Megan and All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    229
    106
    56
    45
See reviews for
143
276
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel. A very warm and friendly hotel. Staff were helpful and always went out of their way to satisfy any query. Food was excellant, always plenty and hot. Rooms were of a nice standard. A bit warm at times, as windows only opened about an inch. Also quite warm in the restaurants. But did not stop us from enjoying ourselves. I would highly reccomend this hotel. My friend and I were on a organised trip with GB tours Birkenhead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june7gemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear June
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review , It was a joy to read and we are so happy you enjoyed your 4 nights stay with us so much. Yes this time of year the rooms can be a little warmer but that comes with our beautiful Donegal weather. Your high recommendation is greatly appreciated by everyone at The Central Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Donegal very soon

Kind & Warm regards
Megan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Have stayed here quite a few times and never have much to complain about! Tis reasonably priced. Only feedback this time is that I think the room service charge per person is too much. It should be per room. We paid 12 Euro for breakfast in the room and it arrived cold and not as ordered. But palatable enough. Nice room with a view of the bay and the staff are super nice and helpful. Great location in the centre of the town. Have found it can be noisy at times but on this occasion had no problems at all. Would both recommend and return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest
It was a please having you stay with us again here at the Central. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are always trying to improve our customer relations and service that we offer. I will take on board your comments about the charge for room serve being per room and not per person and I thank you for the honest feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon

Kind & Warm Regards
Megan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Rooms in desperate need of updating, bathroom was tiny and grubby....I expected more for the price we paid. The hotel didn't smell fresh and clean, especially the pool/gym area...we avoided this. I ate a late lunch in the bar, the bar man was very nice and friendly...food was ok, quite good value for money. Breakfast was nothing special, cramped breakfast room. We were woken up very early by the sound of someone running on a treadmill in the gym below. Not a great stay, I have had more pleasant stays in Premier Inns costing only £29 per night!!

Room Tip: I have read that the hotel has new rooms, insist on one of these to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank your for taking the time to write your review and make us aware of some of the shortcomings in our service. We accept your comments and we are happy to inform you that the older rooms in the hotel are currently being refurbished , I've also passed on your comments to the leisure centre manager who is dealing with the issue. WE were glad to hear you found the bar to be enjoyable and the staff friendly. The bar team is exceptional and we feel very lucky to have them. Please rest assure we are taking all your comments on board to better the hotel and its service
we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to Donegal

Kind & Warm Regards
Megan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and i spent the ST PATRICKS DAY holiday at this hotel. In general the Hotel was not too bad. The entertainment was excellent but the Break was totally ruined by the very poor standard of the food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 79awhitegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest
Can I extend my sincerest apologies from myself and the staff at the Central, I completely accept your view on our food at your time in the hotel. We had a stand in Head chef in for two week unfortunately the food served for those two weeks was not up to our standards or our customers. We are pleased that our new head chef is astounding and the food received by our customers has been nothing short of amazing . Please rest assure the issue is dealt with and if your are returning to Donegal the food in the central is certainly a must have. I was very pleased to hear your enjoyed our entertainment programme and would suggest coming in the Summer for our weekly show of Slice Of Ireland which is very popular with our customers.

We hope to welcome you back to The Central Hotel Soon

Kind Regards
Megan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

A great hotel right in the heart of Donegal Town. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food was excellent value for money. Room was huge and serviced every day of the three we stayed. A huge plus to have the swimming pool and jacuzzi on the rainy afternoons! Delighted with our choice and will certainly stay again when visiting that part of Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tracey
It was such a delight to read your review, the staff always try so hard to please our guests and its wonderful to read such good feedback. I completely agree with you theirs nothing better than relaxing in the Jacuzzi looking out into the garden to get over those cold rainy days. I Will pass on your kind words to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Central Hotel

Kind & Warm Regards
Megan & All The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were staying 1 night as we had a wedding in Donegal town. Our room was upgraded to a deluxe room as it was my boyfriends birthday and I was home for part of his birthday surprise (I am currently in Budapest for 3 months studying and teaching). The room was absolutely fantastic - can't fault it at all; four poster bed, rainfall shower, huge windows overlooking the lake...it was just lovely.
Staff were very friendly and the night porter was able to bring us toothpaste (which we forgot to bring with us) when we landed back to our room from the wedding at 2am.
Easy check-in/check-out, excellent value, breakfast was lovely and included in the price, great nights sleep.
All I can say is thank you to the hotel for making our stay and my boyfriends birthday special.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room overlooking the lake if the sound of ducks/birds first thing in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shauna1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Shauna
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Central Hotel, we'd like to thank you for your detailed and kind review. Its fantastic to hear my staff treat you and your partner so well and upgraded your room for his birthday. We really appreciate the time you put into your review as customer satisfaction is so important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Donegal and The Central Hotel in the near future

Kind & Warm Regards

Megan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
14.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
15.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Property: The Central Hotel - Donegal
Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing