We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harvey's Point
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Hotel(Glenties)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Rose Hotel(Ballybofey)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,530)
Filter reviews
4,530 results
Traveller rating
4,126
306
67
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,126
306
67
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousewine tastinglakeshore suitenoel cunninghamcookery demonstrationlough eskeexecutive roomreading roomcabaret nightclassical musicjacuzzi bathsunday carveryfirst classattention to detailout of this worldsecond to noneturf fires
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,989 - 3,994 of 4,530 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was our second visit to Harvey's Point and, just as on our first visit,we were not disappointed. We were met with a smile and a friendly welcome. Check-in was quick and easy, after which we were shown to our room. The accomodation was outstandinding - spacious, fresh and clean,beautifully decorated, warm and comfortable. The view of the mountains from our suite was amazing, especially in the morning light.
The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and assisted in creating the relaxed atmosphere so characteristic of Harvey's Point. Despite the fact that the hotel was busy, we were made to feel as though we were the only people there.
The food and service were exceptional, from the hearty breakfasts to the lucious gormet dinner. Carbaret night was a real experience,both from the point of view of the food and the entertainment, and again staff made us feel very special.
If you need somewhere to 'get away from it all and recharge the batteries', you won't find a better venue than Harvey's Point. A secluded, spectacular, restful retreat. Well worth the tariff. Can't wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: Regardless of which room you stay in you will not be disappointed. All are exceptional!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Gillian, Thank you for your lovely review and it was great to welcome you back again. We will be delighted to have you return on your next visit. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is like no other, it is located in a breathtaking setting on shore of lough eske and as you drive down the winding road and the hotel comes into view you cannot help but get excited! The staff are so lovely but not intrusive. We had booked an executive room and it was just gorgeous, nothing prepares you for how massive it is! Harveys Point is all about attention to detail from the little candle by the ginormous bath to the jug of real milk in the fridge, none of your long life stuff here! We had the set 4 course meal on our first night and it was just perfect, scallops with white chocolate anyone? Who knew?! Dinner was a gastonomical delight. We had drinks by the fire afterwards feeling totally chilled and happy!The next morning when we woke we noted the silence! You cannot hear the other residents maybe because there is approx a mile and 2 doors separating your bed from the corridor. We spent a class wee day in Donegal town, touring the castle and mooching round the shops, then a quick change and back into town for lovely dinner in The Harbour restaurant and several drinks in the Reel Inn then home to Harveys! The next morning instead of the usual fry up we opted for pancakes with maple syrup and an omelete,all created in front of us to our own specifications, fab! I know its a cliche to say the only downside of our stay was leaving but it was so true. We were even sent on our homeward journey with bottled water and fruit, like I ve said its these wee touches that make you feel appreciated! We re already planning our next visit for next year, Harveys is somewhere you keep for when you want a break away from reality and as a special treat and definitely go for 2 nights, we might stretch to 3 the next time!

Room Tip: the executive rooms are smaller than the deluxe, premier and obv the penthouse but in all honesty I cant think why you d want to upgrade!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ackearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Ms Kearney, Thank you for your super review of your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you appreciated the size of the bedrooms, the food, service and little touches that we hope make a guest feel welcomed and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Harvey's Point is our favorite hotel in Ireland. We stay there at least twice a year for the last 5 years. While we travel abroad also we always look forward to Harvey's and often feel as relaxed after a 2 or 3 night visit to Harvey's Point as we do after a fortnight abroad! We cannot decide which of the many great aspects to the place is the most influential in our love of the place. The setting is incredible, as we love to walk. As a vegetarian, I can eat delicious food with out being made feel like a 'freak'. The big beds and luxurious rooms appeal to my 'Leo' regal need for pampering. Perhaps it is the sense that once you enter the door,' you're home'. While extremely professional, the warmth and care the staff provide is unique and very special. They deliver all that is good in true Irish hospitality, That is why before we arrive we hope things have not changed and why recessionary times or not, our visit last week was as good as ever..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annequinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Anne, On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our sincere thanks to you and your husband for your continued loyalty to Harvey's Point. It is always our pleasure to welcome you back and it is important for us that each visit is special for you. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a beautiful review and we hope to see you soon again. All the best from everyone at Harvey's Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A superb stay from start to finish. Greeted with a glass of sparkling wine in the library then taken to our exceptional room. We were upgraded to a premium suite which was huge! The bathroom was fantastic and very well appointed. afternoon tea looking out over the lake was a treat. Dinner was quite superb with an excellent menu and very fine cuisine. breakfast was also excellent. Very friendly staff made us very welcome with a very high standard of service throughout and attention to detail. I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nscc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Guest,We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent Harvey's Point Experience and thank you for your lovely review and kind recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Ok, i have far from seen it all but Harveys point is the treat everyone should allow themselves every once in a while. We treated ourselves to a night in a premium suite and loved it. Attention to detail is what sets this hotel aside from others. Fresh flowers and Candles galore. Lovely, friendly and professional staff make you feel right at home in the lap of luxury. Will definately be back! Congratulations to the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Sophia, Thank you for your kind words which are most appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews