We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, great scenery, awesome rooms”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely place, great scenery, awesome rooms”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We came across Harvey's Point when talking about our Donegal trip on Twitter, they said "pay us a visit". We agreed to stay a night and got a double deluxe suite for myself, wife and son. It's about 5km from Donegal Town and beside Lough Eske. The room was simply staggering, 80 metres squared, well appointed, jacuzzi, fancy TV etc. The porter brought us there, taking a proper amount of time to show us the room and explain the services. We had lunch from room service and then a meal in the wine bar, which could be cosier, but the piano playing and great view made up for that. We had lovely burgers, chowder, and a pinot grigio. We slept well, as I said the room was gorgeous. The next day we had a great breakfast (there was a chef cutting Gammon) and then a 3 hour guided walk around the surrounding area by local expert Keith Corcoran. We left feeling totally relaxed, it may be the best 250-300 euros you'll spend if you are in need of a pick me up...It was truthfully the first time when I had left knowing the names of the staff, they were that friendly...super...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Simon, We are delighted that you discovered Harvey's Point and I will extend our thanks to Roger who manages our social media networking and local authour and storyteller, Keith who does our 'Saturday Stolls'. On behalf of the Gysling Family and our entire team, thank you for visiting Harvey's Point and perhaps we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,675
    282
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
661
2,503
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is one of the most sumptious you will ever stay in. The accomodation is luxurious and is second only to the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. Nothing is too much bother and every single member of staff is politeness and courtesy personified. I can honestly recommend this hotel as an experience that cannot be missed. So all you out there head for Harveys Point and discover heaven for yourself.

Room Tip: Every room is luxurious but go for a suite for pure luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Beth, Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes from everyone at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed in harveys point for 1night this month, August, to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had a great time! Went to the cabaret show that evening nit knowing what to expect but had a really good time, the show catered for everyone's taste. The food and service were both excellent and we didn't want for anything. The rooms are beautiful with no expense spared. Our only regret is that we didn't stay a 2nd night!! Huge thanks to harveys point for our little trip of luxury, we will definitely be back another time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here with a colleague while on business. The lake setting is stunning, so peaceful and beautiful. My room was enormous, with a huge bathroom and a bath that would fit four. There was a kitchen area and a huge bed, and then a large very comfortable sitting area. Sadly I did not have a lake view, but I could gaze out at the lake over breakfast and dinner.

The dinner was extraordinary, some of the best food I have ever eaten, delicious perfectly prepared food. Breakfast was extremely varied and delicious. lots of fresh fruit juices and smoothies. fresh fruit salad. pastries, breads. A fry. Pancakes. it included a chef who cooked omelettes there and then. And good coffee on request, a rarity at hotel breakfasts. Service was impeccable throughout. This hotel is swiss owned - I am not sure if that is what makes the difference but they really thought of everything. Candles with matches by the bath; bottled water and ground coffee in the room; an offer of a bottle of water and some fruit when checking out 'for the journey' - I have never encountered that before. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous and absolutely professional. There was a large residents 'library', a quiet, comfortable room looking out over the lake (some books would be a welcome addition!). There is a goose who comes to the door of the bar to be fed, so it is a relaxed homely place as well..

This is a somewhat costly hotel, but such a special place, maybe somewhere for a special occasion celebration. There was a cabaret on the Wednesday night which we attended (when in Donegal...). there seemed to be an overnight with cabaret package available. the night included a huge buffet meal (very nice but not the same quality as the usual dinner, not surprisingly given the quantities). There were dozens of staff employed; front of house just welcoming people, chefs, kitchen staff, a dozen waiters, a five piece orchestra and a host of quite high quality entertainers... they really push the boat out. So if you like that kind of thing, you could include a Wednesday in your trip, if not and you prefer the romantic gourmet dinner you can avoid it.

I would love to go back when not working, and will when I find a fitting excuse. I have to say this is the best hotel I have stayed in in Ireland. I presume the four rather than five stars is becasue they don't have a swimming pool or something, but from the point of view of quality and accommodation, this is five and a half star, with something extra after that.

Room Tip: push the boat out and get a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel.'Swiss made in Ireland' is our slogan and it is our hope to offer excellence in Swiss hotelkeeping combined with the world renowned Irish hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the future. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

First visit to this wonderful hotel. Food was terrific, varied, well cooked and presented. The Premium suite was amazing and so luxurious. We had a view of the lake. We returned home rested and very happy. Jackie and Joe Clarke

Room Tip: Premium suite worth extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Jackie & Joe, We are delighted that you have discovered Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

from the initial welcome we could not have been more impressed we arrived late on friday evening and the staff obliged us by providing bar food (the Paddy carbonara was wonderful) even though it was past the time for ordering , the rooms were fabulous and very clean we slept soundly
breakfast was second to none pork loin served by the chef as well as made to order omlettes
and you should definitely have an evening meal it was amazing
the one thing that stood out from everything else was the staff they were amazing always friendly and courteous and willing to engage in conversation and give good advice on things to do
we expect to be back very soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Pat, Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Harvey's Point again soon. Kind regards from everyone at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My Husband, 2 young babies and myself went to this hotel to celebrate my 31st Birthday and Our 3rd Wedding Anniversary. Right from the get-go we felt as though we didn't belong there and we were treated as such. We had to bring our own bags to our room, the In-Room Dining order was wrong, we had to ORDER takeaway from the town to be delivered to us because the food was awful. We were going to stay for 3 nights and ended up leaving the first evening at 11pm with a 2 hour drive ahead of us. The night Manager was the only person that was genuinely concerned about our feelings and wanted to make it right, but by that point we had made up our minds to leave. I don't know why we were treated this way, maybe we weren't posh enough to be there...I guess we'll never know because we won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SCarrollCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
In response to your question ‘What’s the Point?’, the point is that we genuinely care for our guests and should an issue arise, our team will do their utmost to resolve the matter to the guest’s satisfaction. Further to your recent review, I have conducted a thorough investigation with our team to ascertain the circumstances under which you took the decision to depart early from Harvey’s Point. The following statements outline the sequence of events:
1. As is policy for guest arrival, you and your family were welcomed and Rory, one of our concierge team carried your luggage to the room. Your husband then returned to collect more luggage and assistance was offered but declined.
2. I accept that there was a minor error in your room order and for this I extend our apologies but we stand over the quality of the food.
3. As you mentioned, Paul our night manager did his best to persuade you to stay and he was concerned that the young children had to depart from the hotel at such a late hour. His report states that he actually offered the room with our compliments as a gesture of goodwill.
4. Noreen, our Operations Manager made several attempts to contact you by phone the following day without success and subsequently forwarded an email of apology to you on the same day.
In conclusion, we very much regret that you did not enjoy the Harvey’s Point Experience and we would welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel but we respect your decision not to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
816 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
399 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing