We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Had an amazing stay, the room was beautiful and the service was excellent. Breakfast tasted great and was much needed after the fabulous wedding the night before. Such a shame we only had one night there. When I stay again it will be for a full weekend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Eileen, Many thanks for your kind words. Delighted that you enjoyed your short visit to Harvey's Point and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back for a relaxing leisure break. Greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,522
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
615
2,396
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is located in a wonderful lake side area just outside donegal town. We stayed in the executive double and my jaw hit the floor when we were shown to our room by brendan who was so helpful. The room was huge and the bathroom was twice the size of any other hotel i'd stayed in previously, I was so shocked with the room i didn't even see the beautiful bouquet of flowers my boyfriend had delivered to the room! The breakfast was laid out well and the homemade pancakes and omelettes were a lovely touch. A lot of little extras in the room really made it homely, the jug of milk for making tea and the jar of cookies yum, the candles around the bath tub. We were very fortunate with the weekend we picked as the weather was in the high 20's, the negative I would have is, there is no air conditioning in the room, the hotel do supply a fan but unfortunately it did little to help with the heat of the room, however as it is Ireland and the weather is very unpredictable it is easy to overlook. A swimming pool would have been a wonderful extra but unfortunatey there isn't one, however we certainly made use of the fabulous beaches in the area. We ate off the bar menu as the dinner one seemed a tad overpriced and i didn't really see much i would eat off it, We got a jug of mi-wadi orange and were quite surprised at being charged 3.80 we only noticed this after we had left and were looking over the receipt the 2nd time it was 2.80 a little ridiculous for some dilute in "free" water! Also had facials in the spa with Roisin and they were great she was lovely and our faces glowed after. Would definately recommend the Hotel, the staff are an asset to the place and the owners.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleGon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Michelle, We appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent experience at Harvey's Point. Thank you for your valuable feedback and please be assured that we will take note of your constructive comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

What a remarkable place to stay. Trully a breath of fresh air with regards to services, hospitality and quality. The food at dinner was excellent, the breakfast was probably the best I've ever had... even compared to most 5 star hotels that I have stayed in around the world. The views are breath taking! This place and the vigilant staff wont let you down. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Mark, Many thanks for your super review. It has been our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and we look forward to having you as our guest again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I had an "executive room" in the new wing. I have never stayed in a such a large room! Along with the bedroom area, the bathroom was massive, with a shower and huge bath which had bath salts and candle included, along with piped relaxtion music. The only downside in the bathroom, was that although the room was huge, the actual shower stall was a small "walk in" with a floppy gate to get through and a shower curtain on the top half. The stall itslef was so small that when showering the bath curtain kept sticking to me - not sure why they have made the stall so small,. there would easily have been space to put one in 4 times the size. There was a sepearte entry foyer to the room, which had a door before entering the bedrrom, this ensured no noise from guests passing along the corridor was heard.

There were nice little touches, such as being escorted to the room and given a tour of it. The dining room had a huge bay window that overlooked the breathtakingly scenic lake. Both dinner and breakfast were great with huge choices.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and we appreciate you bringing the issue with the shower to our attention. To be honest, the room in which you stayed had originally been designed for guests with reduced mobility but is now used for all guests. Certainly there is no reason why this room doesn't have the same high standard of spacious power shower and we will deal with this promptly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Where do I start. What a fantastic hotel. Located outside Donegal town on the shores of Lough Eske. Hotel is beautiful, we arrived early and were registered straight way and advise that they would get housekeeping to see how long it would be, as we were going out for the day it made no odds to us. When we came back to the hotel our luggage was all ready in our room. Now for the room, it was just out if this world, we had booked into an executive twin room which had 2 queen double beds which are so comfortable. When you come into the room, there is a hall way, then a little kitchen area where there was home-made cookies (which were yum), then a Hugh bathroom and bedroom, big flat screen tv and a sitting room area. Had bar food that evening which was nice. Breakfast the next morning was just out of this world. Loads to choose from, fresh juices, and pancakes or omelets made to order.Staff were very nice and friendly. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14sunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. Apologies for our delay in acknowledging your review but we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is my second time in Harvey’s point and it never fails to surprise, 4 of us went on a break for Mum's Birthday and the lovely staff at Harvey’s point upgraded both rooms complimentary which was a lovely touch. We had a deluxe twin and premium double both rooms were massive and the big bathroom with Hugh whirlpool baths was lovely. We were escorted to our rooms by the portage and given a tour of the room which really adds to the welcome in this hotel. our room has a Hugh 4 poster bed as well which was one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. we had the Sunday carvery lunch where we meet the lovely Noel Cunningham from TV3 who greeted us with a warm welcome. The choices for lunch are fabulous loads of starters and desserts to choose from just make sure you have a big appetite as everything looks so appealing. We took a walk around the hotel after lunch where we seen Harvey the pet Swan that comes to the doors of the hotel. We ate in the bar that night where we the food was again fabulous and quiet reasonable. Breakfast next morning was to die to Hugh choice of cerals juices smoothies and hot buffet with a chef cutting hot gammon and making pancakes a requested could have kept eating, we even decided to splash out and go for the champagne breakfast. Love this hotel already thinking of another trip in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and thank you for your highly positive review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind greetings from Noel and our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our seven day stay. The staff was very friendly yet professional. The food was excellent and the dining room over looked the scenic lake. Our deluxe room was beautifully appoined and spacious. Very few resorts or hotels are as well managed. During our stay Harvey's point received the best customer award for all of Ireland. The wine steward was absolutely wonderful, a perfect host. Several employees had been or near the 25 year mark with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Charles, It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for your wonderful review. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Ireland. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing