We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvey's Point never disappoints”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This was our fourth vist to Harvey's Point and as always it was a wonderful experience. Arriving on a cold wet afternoon, we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome and a beautiful, cosy suite. So spacious and tastefully furnished, we have stayed in 5 star hotels that don't even come anywhere near the standard of Harvey's Point. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and as usual we felt as though we were among friends. Room service was of the same excellent standard as food in the restaurant and over the weekend we enjoyed both. Breakfast is outstanding and the porridge is the best I have had anywhere. Yum yum! The view from the restaurant across the lake is serene and the whole place exudes calm and tranquility. Although the hotel was busy with many guests we were made to feel as though we were the only people there and nothing was too much trouble for staff.
If you need to unwind and get away from the manic pace of life, Harvey's is the place to go. If you are celebrating a special occasion, Harvey's is the place to go. Whatever the occasion you will not be disappointed. Can't wait until our next visit. Thank you to everyone at HP for another lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Gillian, Your continued loyalty is very much appreciated as are your kind comments. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again for another relaxing leisure break. Kindest regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,246 - 3,252 of 4,244 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Spent Oct weekend there along with our 10 year old boy. Impressive throughout, food, staff, scenery and sumptuous furnishings - cd be 5 star. After exploring forests and lakeside walks the first day, we were happy to simply succumb to chilling out and enjoying the luxurious room and residents' lounge, encouraged by 24 hours of solid rain! Our boy, although initially disappointed with no leisure centre, soon forgot all about it and enjoyed the spacious room, swam in the bath, fed Harvey and put a fair dent in the hotels homemade cookie supply and pancakes. Even exec rooms have long hallway which means any corridor noise is not heard in room. Loved it all & looking forward to returning in New Year - maybe without the boy so we can all get a cookie!

Room Tip: Even their basic Executive rooms are fabulous. Had mountain view which was fine but will try for lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Aine, A warm welcome awaits you on your return to Harvey's Point, hopefully in the New Year. We are thrilled to hear that your son enjoyed the experience and please tell him that our Chef will make him more special cookies next time or even better, he can have a cookie cooking demonstration (now that's an idea :-). Harvey our Goose will also be pleased to have yet another visitor to 'his' hotel. We'll even try to hold the rain off for a day or two. Thank you and best wishes from everyone at Harvey's Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

its magical..the setting is fabulous the rooms are lovely and the staff are friendly and gracious. we spent a weekend at Harvey's point and were spoilt. the staff are extremely helpful, approachable and friendly. They make you feel like home..the restaurant is fantastic woth great food , and the grounds are lovely with some great walks around.. cannot recommend harveys point enough ..our little girl loved it and asked when we could go back :) ! one of the best experiences we have had

Room Tip: the executive rooms were fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest, Magical is a lovely word to describe the Harvey's Point Experience. Thank you for your kind comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back again sometime. Greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like V.I.P.s. Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff........excellent food......seafood chowder to die for!......, and the executive suite was jaw-droppingly spacious and luxurious. Love the piped classical music in the bathroom! There was great attention to detail in the rooms, and as the weather was so bad when we were there, we spent quite a bit of time in the room. Fluffy dressing gowns, delicious smelling bath products, and well-stocked bar, and generous tea and coffee making facilities!
We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Executive suite was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Lorna, Many thanks for your high recommendation. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Beautiful surroundings, fabulous rooms and gorgeous food - really lovely 2 nights at Harvey's Point. Perfect place for romantic break even in true Irish weather of rain it is a beautiful place to spend quality time for some R&R.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Judith, Sincere thanks for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your romantic break. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel had the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever encountered. Everyone wanted to help us enjoy our stay. The rooms were really spacious and luxurious. You genuinely felt you had a real hallway, together with a kitchen area, splendid lounge/ bedroom and a sumptuous bathroom. Has to be seen to be believed!
Liked the music available in the bathroom, the cookies, fresh milk. Nice touches everywhere.
They also welcomed our dog and had a sensible approach of asking guests to put the dog in the car when out of the rooms for meals etc.
Breakfast buffet excellent and served to the same exacting standards as dinner. It was amazing to see so many of the silver service waiting team working cheerfully on the breakfast shift. A hallowe'en night cabaret singer even helped with service on the following breakfast and sang 'What a beautiful morning!', to everyone's delight.
Bar food and service excellent. Restaurant food and service at extremely high level. Cuisine was as well executed as many Michelin star restaurants we have visited.
Can't speak highly enough of this hotel and it's friendly, professional team!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank RonJKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear RonJKen, On behalf of the Gysling Family and our Team, may I thank you most sincerely for the lovely review you have written in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the details of the experience. It was indeed our last Cabaret of the season and therefore fitting that 'Gino our Chef' concluded it by singing to our guests at breakfast. (Hope he didn't waken your dog as he was on his holidays too :-)
Many thanks for your compliments about our wonderful Team. Kind regards, Deirdre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this Hotel it is in the most beautiful setting over looking the water of Lough Eske,
The rooms are amazing, large and very nicely decorated also very comfortable.
We attended a wedding reception there and the food was excellent and there was so much of it.
With great service and friendly staff , we will certainly return for a future stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieQ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Suzie, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and we are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding reception. We look forward to having you back sometime for a relaxing leisure break. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £169 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing