We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend break”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

As first time visitors to Harvey's Point, we can honestly say that our visit was the most wonderful experience, right from the receptionist, to all of the members of staff we met.
The executive suite was fabulous, luxurious, warm and cosy. Food was amazing, setting is both tranquil and beautifully peaceful, our weekend passed all too quickly, but we will definitely return!
Thank you to everyone for such a pleasant and memorable stay. Julie C.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Julie, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Harvey's Point and we genuinely look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,760
    289
    65
    22
    9
See reviews for
689
2,562
55
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Harveys Point. From the the time we stood inside the front door to our departure we had such a relaxing time. All the staff are so friendly, the food is of the highest qulality and the size of the rooms have to be seen to be believed. We parked the car on Friday evening and did not get back driving until we were reluctantly leaving on Sunday morning. We enjoyed a lovely walk around the nearby Bluestack Mountains on Saturday and spent the rest of our weekend just relaxing in the environs of this wonderful hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants comfort, relaxation and being pampered by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BordNaMonaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your high praise and recommendation. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and it is great to hear that you had a lovely relaxing weekend at Harvey's Point. Thankfully the snow stayed away although it would be romantic to be snowed in (for a day or two :-)
Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just back from Harvey's point booked by our two daughters for Christmas it was also my birthday on the 18th jan so double celebration what a weekend hotel rooms were amazing size the staff were all very helpful nothing was to much trouble breakfast try the porridge with honey and baileys cream dinner in the resturant on our first evening was first class we eat in the wine bar on Saturday again the food was superb will be booking again hopefully in the very near further thanks again all the staff at Harvey's point for your hospitality Marian walker

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyminders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Marian, Many thanks for choosing Harvey's Point for your family celebrations. It's great to hear that you all had an enjoyable weekend. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I booked Harveys point for my husbands 30th from 11th-13th jan we had a brilliant weekend from start to finish having got married here is sept last year we talked about going back so this was the perfect opportunity! Staff are amazing always pleasant helpful and smiling, food was amazing in restaurant a la carte menu v reasonable
Rooms as always perfect
Was a treat watching the swans getting their breakfast as we ate ours, very cute!!
If you have never been to Harveys Point u r truly missing out on a wonderful experience!
can't wait to get back can't wait to try new lakeside rooms next time and the swimming pool!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Roslyn, Welcome Back and belated Happy Birthday to your husband. Great to hear you are enjoying married life and taking time to have a romantic weekend away from time to time. Always our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point - your 'Home from Home'. Many thanks for your kind words and high recommendation. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a special offer price for a weekend stay just after new year. Having held our wedding reception at the hotel in 2010 we know what to expect and it did not disappoint. The service is friendly and efficient, the hotel is clean and warm and the food is wonderful. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Richard, It was wonderful to welcome you and your wife back to Harvey's Point again. The time has flown since your wedding in 2010. Many thanks for your continued loyalty and high recommendation which we sincerely appreciate. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Just spotted you came 11th in the Travellers Choice Awards for 2013 of top hotels in Europe. Well done! That is a fantastic achievement. I live in Dublin, Ireland and never knew you guys existed. Will definitely be making a reservation for a weekend away there. I am sure this award will bring you many more new reservations from people like me. Looking forward to my stay there.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank conors-kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest, Sincere thanks to you for taking the time to write such positive words about our recent TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Award. We are truly delighted to have this prestigious award bestowed upon us as it is a true reflection of our guests' experiences. We will continue to work hard to delight and impress both our regular and new guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you to Harvey's Point. The Gysling Family & Team are at your service. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

my hubby n i had a wonderful 2 night stay at harvey's point......the welcome on arrival was very plesant and we were both speechless when we were shown our room....the room n view of the lake was awsum.....breakfast on both mornings were faultless the chef was very friendly n nothing was a bother to him excellant manner with him......def be back at harveys point & hopefully very soon.....sooo peaceful n relaxing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Grainne, A pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Harvey's Point. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience. Many thanks for your lovely review. Special greetings from Chris, our Banqueting & Breakfast chef who has a wonderful way with guests as do so many of our dedicated team. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
589 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing