We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Fault The Place, That Much That We Returned To The Wedding Fair And Booked Our Wedding”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We travelled to Harvey's for a romantic weekend and also a bit of a scouting mission last May 2012. We could not fault the place.We were shown directly to our room where we were greeted with rose petals and champagne.The rooms were amazing.Luxurious,spacious and beautiful views.I had also booked and massage for my fiancé, who floated back to the room.She said the treatment was amazing.We had also booked a dinner in the restaurant for the second evening of our stay.The staff were amazing and very welcoming.The food was flawless and the wine went down a treat.We were also surprised with a free romantic desert to celebrate our anniversary, a beautiful touch by the hotel and staff. We love the place so much,that we have now booked the hotel for our wedding in July 2014.We can not wait!!! Thanks again to all the staff.
Stuart, Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Stuart,
It is wonderful to hear that you have booked your Wedding at Harvey's Point. We are excited to be part of your planning for the Big Day and our Team is at your service. Many thanks for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & everyone at Harvey's Point. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,142 - 3,148 of 4,242 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a weddin at this hotel last yr and felt we HAD 2 return back to it ,We have just returned from a relaxin weekend at Harvrys point,,This has 2 b the nicest hotel We have ever stayed in and we have stayed in loads..The staff r so friendly and will go out of their way to help u in any way ...Go the extra pounds for a Premium suite u will have a Jacuzzi in ur bathroom its well worth the money..The breakfast is fab and so is the food in the restaurent..Just LOVE this Hotel will def b back SOON :)

Room Tip: Pay extra for a premium room altho all the rooms are beautiful and very spacious..Ask 4 a lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest, A warm welcome back to Harvey's Point and thank you for your high recommendation. We are delighted that you were impressed by the Premium Rooms with their jacuzzi bath and lake view. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

i dont normally leave reviews on trip advisor but i couldnt let my weekend pass without letting people know just what a fantastic hotel Harveys Point is! from the moment we walked through the doors at reception we were made feel so welcome, the rooms were second to none and the breakfast was the best i have ever had at any hotel! it is the first hotel where i had a lump in my throat leaving it! thank you to all the staff and to Deirdre for personally welcoming us, it was a nice wee touch to know that a member of the family was there to welcome us to the hotel. we cant wait to return to Harveys Point - hopefully sooner rather later :)

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Laura, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means so much to us that guests leave very happy with their visit to Harvey's Point. We will continue in our efforts to delight each and every one of our customers. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Kindest personal regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

we have just returned from a most relaxing weekend in Harvey's Point. Definitely one of the best hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in. Staff go the extra mile to make your stay a great experience. Thank you to all who were on duty 22nd-24th Feb.

Room Tip: one overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mglashbeggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and it's great to hear that you have returned home relaxed and refreshed after your weekend visit. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff. We are so lucky to have a team who genuinely go the extra mile with a smile. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again sometime.
Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We are just home from our third stay in Harvey's within the last twelve months so suffice to say this is a hotel that we highly recommend. It has everything from friendly staff, amazing suites (we have stayed in an executive, deluxe and premium), fabulous food and the opportunity to really relax and get away from it all. I only realised on this visit that the hotel has a pet friendly policy so I will hopefully get to bring my puppy next time too ! We had dinner in the restaurant for the first time on this visit and it was delicious - my husband was given a complimentary drink because it was his birthday which I thought was a lovely touch. We find it very difficult to stay at another hotel now and unfortunately tend to compare them to Harvey's (nowhere has matched it yet !).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ew150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest, Sincere thanks for your super review of your recent experience at Harvey's Point. We certainly appreciate your continued loyalty and high recommendation. On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend birthday congratulations to your husband and thank you both for choosing our hotel for the celebrations. Kindest personal regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

had sunday lunch at harveys point today what a lovely hotel, There was 8 of us and we were seated at a bay window over looking lough eske an absolutely wonderful experience. Staff were really on the ball and couldent do enough for us. The starters were delicious anything and everything to eat just help yourself as much as you wanted. The mains choice was beef, turkey, pork, lamb or gammon and the vegetables were really nicely cooked and tasted superb. You have a choice then of pepper corn sauce, gravy, chasseur etc. The desserts again help yourself eat as much as you like and loads to choose from including the chocolate fountain with all kinds of goodies to dip in to it delicious!!! Also cones for the kids which seemed to be a great hit for the young and old. Overall the lunch at Harveys Point was gorgeous, staff really efficient, lovely atmostphere and view would have to recommend it

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobyLetterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest, We were delighted to welcome you and your family to Harvey's Point for our famous Sunday Carvery Lunch. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The suites in this hotel are nothing short of fabulous. If you like the charm of olde world glamour then this hotel is definitely for you. It is suits tes along the shoreline of a lake and has made the very best if this fact. It's staff are efficient, friendly, and very importantly, courteous without being standoffish. Of course they have no need to be as this hotel speaks for and delivers itself.
The food is equally worth the experience, although maybe not quote up to the standard of the rates charged.
As far as I know, this hotel is made up only of suites and they are fabulous. I have stayed in many hotels and this one really lived up to what you pay for in the area of the rooms. Seriously, they really make you feel like you have stepws into another world.
Overall this hotel is wonderful but on the downside it is very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pal18_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our new Lakeshore Suites. We would hope to offer added value in terms of customer care and attention to detail but naturally we take on board your comments in relation to price. Just to let you know that we will soon be launching some great midweek offers for March and April. Hopefully we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
938 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £167 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing