We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning guest”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Returning guest”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I love to visit this great hotel and it is now on my calender for 2 visit a year for special occasions.
I find the hotel very comfortable , the rooms are great, the food excellent and the staff the very best you will find anywhere. To get a little exercise before meals, there is a great loop beside the hotel which will suit all tastes.
I will be back in the Fall

Room Tip: look online.. there is an excellent web site and views of all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Aidan,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back again to Harvey's Point. Thank you for your kind words and continued loyalty. We look forward to seeing you later in the year.

Greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,762
    290
    65
    22
    9
See reviews for
690
2,563
55
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is really a great hotel in spectacular and peaceful location in a beautiful part of Ireland. The staff are friendly and very professional, rooms are big and very comfortable, and the food is top notch! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ireland. Just one word of warning - watch out for the goose...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your lovely review. It means so much to us to know that our guests enjoy the Harvey's Point Experience. We appreciate your high recommendation. Special greetings from Harvey the grumpy Goose :-)

Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel is a real gem ..As you drive along the lake shore and arrive at the grand entrance gates you know that you are about to exoerience something special..Myself and my partner checked in there last Thursday evening at around 7 oclock. The sun on the lake was just beginning to fade leaving a lovely opeque light hanging over the whole place. First impressions were of a warm welcome and a lovely homely atmosphere. Our room was huge,warm and comfortable.
We had a delicious dinner at a table overlooking the lake and with a full moon spreading a glorious light accross it you couldn't wish for a nicer setting.
Our stay was too short .This is real Irish hospitality at it's best.We can't wait to go back !!
J

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Jaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Jaki,

On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our sincere thanks for your lovely review following our recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we enjoyed sharing a delightful evening with you.

We appreciate your kind comments in relation to our hotel and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to Harvey's Point for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the future. Our Team is at your service.

Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had a fantastic stay here, the hotel is in such beautiful surroundings. The views are breathtaking. Our room was very comfortable, we had dinner on one of the nights and it was suberb, loved every bite. Breakfast was by far the best I have ever had in a hotel. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intuanua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your delightful review and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubllin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Wonderful hotel. Peaceful and tranquil. Great location set against the backdrop of the Blue stack Mountains with the expanse of lake in front. I love the use of lamps and candles set around the hotel which sets the ambiance - don't change the decor! Food is always excellent and staff very friendly. On recent recent visit I even got to see an Eagle sitting on jettty outside whilst eating breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you like the little touches in terms of decor and ambiance. We all enjoy watching the wildlife who arrive each morning for their breakfast.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for a relaxing leisure break. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, Co Antrim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was our second stay in Harvey's Point and it just gets better every time. Our 935 square foot room was larger than the footprint of our apartment back home. The furnishings are fresh and the room was spotless. The fresh floral displays throughout the Hotel are artistic and very beautiful. We had meals in both the main Dining Room and in the Wine Bar - both excellent with a good choice. As for the breakfast - it is fantastic with a Chef on hand to cook practically anything you want. The staff throughout this Hotel is friendly and extremely helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them. This is how Hotels should be run. Our next visit is already being planned. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Premier Rooms are well worth the extra cost. Everyone should stay in one of the 935 square foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WTandMDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point and thank you most sincerely for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit.

We are delighted that you appreciated the attention to detail, the quality of the accommodation and food and most of all, the genuine care of our staff for our guests. We are indeed proud of each and every one of them, both front and back of house.

Together we work as a Team to ensure a unique and memorable guest experience, starting with and finishing with a warm Donegal Welcome.

Till we meet again…, thank you and special greetings from everyone at Harvey's Point.


Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have enjoyed the art breaks at Harvey's Point for many years now. It is the perfect holiday for solo travellers.The shared interest in art means you never feel left out but there is no stress. Each person proceeds at their own pace. I have made many friends over the years among both guests and staff. Staff greet you with genuine friendliness, remember your requirements (and foibles) and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and relaxed. The breakfast is the best I have seen anywhere and the standard of cuisine is excellent. Add to this a very high standard of accommodation, a heavenly setting on the lake shore, mountains and moon reflecting off the water and the softness of the Donegal air -perfect!

Room Tip: For the best views choose a lake shore suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eithne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Eithne,

We have always enjoyed welcoming our artists to Harvey's Point over the years. Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and special friendship. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and I will ensure that our Team are made aware of your lovely compliments.

We hope to see you again in the Autumn for our next Painting Break and in the meantime, may I personally wish you all the best of health and happiness. Kindest regards from the Gysling Family and everyone at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing