We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R and R”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“R and R”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This has been our second New Year enjoying a break at Harvey`s Point and what a way to start the New Year.Again we really enjoyed the room, the food and the relaxed atmosphere.We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Gerry,

A warm welcome back to Harvey's Point and thank you for kind words and continued loyalty.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. In the meantime, we send you our very best wishes for the New Year and fond regards.


Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,675
    282
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
661
2,503
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Harvey's Point is quite possibly the best hotel i've stayed in. It is quite pricey but it's worth it. We have been here twice. The staff are exceptional from the reception staff right down to the waiters. The duty manager was so nice to us. The rooms are amazing, the first time we stayed we were in the Executive room and the 2nd time we stayed we were upgraded to a Deluxe room. Both amazing rooms and So big!! The bathroom was amazing also and had beautiful music playing from it, so relaxing!! Never had anything like it. The food from the restaurant was top class, tried things on the menu that i wouldnt usually choose, just because im afraid to but they sold it to me and it was beautiful. My compliments to the chef! The hotel is situated just outside donegal town on a narrow road which leads to the beautiful blue stack mountains, we went from some lovely drives, the scenery was amazing. Thanks a million Harvey's you deserve more awards!Will be back again hopefully soon!! (we are a couple in our late 20's)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBling2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Helen,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point. Thank you for your lovely review which is greatly appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.

We are very happy to hear such positive feedback and rest assured that we will continue to work on finding new ideas to delight our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Warmest regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Easily the most elegant and refined accommodation during our 11 day stay in Ireland. It was also one of the most expensive places we stayed, but we still felt it provided excellent value. First of all, you don’t just drive by Harvey’s Point and decide to stay there. It is off the beaten path and you need to be looking for it. It touts itself as a “country hotel” and it certainly is. It is also beautifully situated on Lough Eske with a great view of the Irish countryside on the other side of the lake. We stayed in what they called a “lakeview room,” which I suspect is a mid-level room at this fine establishment. The room was absolutely massive. It had a comfortably sized bedroom and a great bed. It had a huge bathroom with both a claw-leg tub big enough for two as well as a walk-in shower with a rainforest shower head. The bathroom also had a sound system that played relaxing piano music. At the back of the suite was a living room with sliding glass doors that led to a private porch overlooking the lake. The suite’s furnishings were absolutely first class, including leather sofa and chair, fine art prints everywhere, the works! We chose the casual dining area over the formal dining area and had a very nice meal and drinks. I thought the food was reasonably priced for a five-star establishment. Breakfast was included in the price and was a lavish buffet that included carved bacon and made-to-order omelets. Harvey’s Point provided a completely different experience for us compared to all other accommodations in Ireland. Frankly, it was so luxurious that it didn’t feel like the real Ireland to us, but it was a very nice change of pace in the middle of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkrontravelerAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose to stay at Harvey's Point during your vacation to Ireland and even more delighted that you had an enjoyable and unique experience.

Thank you for taking time to write such kind compliments in relation to our accommodation for which feedback is always excellent. The Lake Shore Suites are in addition to our Executive, Deluxe, Premium and Penthouse Suites. They are all palatial and luxurious.

We hope that someday you may make a return visit to our shores and on that occasion, the warmest of welcomes awaits you.

In the meantime, may I extend special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.


Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maghera, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Second time staying at Harveys and It didn't disappoint. From the moment we stepped through the front door it felt like we had come home. We were greated warmly by Kathleen who no matter how busy has always time for a chat which means a great deal. Deirdre welcomed us kindly and spoke to us throughout our stay to ensure everything was going well. We have to say all staff were extremely friendly and happy to chat. Room was beautiful in every way. Breakfast was the best we have ever eaten and we have been to many hotels! Our favourite part of the break was relaxing in the bar in front of the turf fire, a haven where we could totally relax and unwind after a hectic Christmas. To sum up the hotel, staff, food, rooms and the entire surroundings were perfect in every way and we are looking forward to our next visit. May it be soon!! Many thanks.
Emma.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful no bad choice at Harveys
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you so much for your warm words of praise following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you 'home':-)

We are delighted that you enjoyed your second visit and thank you for your valued custom. It's great to know that we once again exceeded expectations and that you have returned home relaxed and refreshed.

A genuine Doneagl & Harvey's Point welcome awaits you on your next visit. May it be soon!



Best wishes for the New Year. Special greetings from Kathleen, Noel and all their colleagues.


Kind regards,
Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Poor signage and imprecise directions make finding this out of the way property a little challenging. Once found it is extremely comfortable with exceptionally large and well appointed rooms. Accommodation is of five star standard. However lack of gym, no swimming pool and average standard of service mean that it is someway short of being 5 star standard. The surrounding environs are most beautiful and give many opportunities for varied outdoor activities. Overall very pleasant but is clearly aiming for the mass market.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dromsoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are always keen to learn details of our guests' experience in our hotel as in this way, we can address any issues and continue in our quest for continuous improvement in our product and service.

It is encouraging to note that you were impressed by the size and quality of our suites which were in fact designed to five star standard. We fully agree that a swimming pool and gym would greatly enhance our offering and they certainly feature in our long term plans.

We believe that at any classification, high standards of service and customer care are of utmost importance and it is a pity that we did not show our true colours on this occasion. Apologies for this.

We should stress that our target market is couples on leisure breaks, primarily from the Irish and overseas markets. We would concede that the recent Festive period was exceptionally busy and to be fair, the revenue generated from this contributes significantly to our continuous reinvestment in our business.

Please be assured that your constructive feedback will be very useful to us in our ongoing assessment of our market position and business performance. Thank you on behalf of the Gysling Family & Team.


Yours sincerely,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Beautiful surroundings, very peaceful. Staff extremely helpful and attentive, but not invasive. Food fantastic. Rooms are extremely comfortable, spacious and have everything you need. This was a post Christmas treat and we came home feeling very relaxed. We were thoroughly spoiled and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else now!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Suzi,

Thank you most sincerely for your lovely review following your post Christmas stay at Harvey's Point. We are delighted to receive such positive feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

In the meantime, we extend our best wishes to you for the New Year.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just want to thank all the team in Harvey's Point for making our wedding experience truly unforgettable. My husband's family are from Meath of which many stayed in the hotel.They were overwhelmed by the hospitality, food and overall experience.A special word of thanks to Sara and Samantha for all their help, encouragement,good humour.advice and expertise!I may be biased being from Donegal myself but I really believe Harvey's Point is the best hotel in Ireland... A real hidden gem!!
Mile buiochas,
AnnMarie O'Donnell

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear AnnMarie,

Congratulations to yourself and Keith on the occasion of your recent Wedding at Harvey's Point. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you, your families and friends to join in the celebrations of your Special Day.

Of course, we were also proud to 'show off' Donegal & Harvey's Point to the guests from Meath and based on recent feedback, we hope to welcome many of them back again for a relaxing leisure break.

Both Sara and Samantha said it was a delight to work with you in the preparations leading up to your wedding and they join me in sending you our warmest wishes for the future.

Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
817 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
399 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing