We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek Leisure Break”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Midweek Leisure Break”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Once again another very enjoyable break with both of us relaxing in the well appointed hotel surroundings. The staff were very courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them. The recent refurbishments has added a buzz to the atmosphere in the restaurant.

This hotel has now become our country retreat. Thanks to all for making our stay so pleasant. We are so looking forward to our annual visit to the Cabaret in July.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and of a high standard but the Deluxe gives you extra luxury at an affordable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliechada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Charlie,

It is always a pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and thank you so much for your continued loyalty over the years. We are absolutely thrilled that you are impressed by our new look restaurant. We have been delighted with all the positive feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ to your ‘country retreat’ on your next visit for the Cabaret in July.

Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre, Noel, Orhan, Nancy, Teresa and the entire Harvey’s point Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,678
    282
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
662
2,505
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel and absolutely loved my time here, the surroundings are stunning, our suite was beautiful and very clean, the staff were wonderful and service generally was great. The one little issue was that given the cost of meals and staying here you would expect great service. I found the staff seemed to be under pressure at breakfast and dinner and service could therefore be a little slow, also only one vegetarian choice of main course, the food was delicious but I would like a choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyMadame007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and thank you for choosing our hotel for your short break. Thank you also for your constructive feedback which we greatly appreciate. Please be assured that we will follow up on your comments in relation to pace of service and vegetarian options and in the course of our new restaurant settling down, I am confident that we will iron out any wrinkles well in advance of hopefully a future visit.


Kind regards,

Deidre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Arrived at Harvey's Point at 3.30p.m. met by Sean who instantly 'cracks' a joke and makes you feel important. Sean helped me in my wheelchair reverse out of my wheelchair adapted vehicle took us to our room carrying our luggage, nothing was too much trouble for him. We both feel that he is a great asset to this Hotel and is a wealth of information. Huge suite and spotlessly clean. The new décor of the Hotel is very fresh and vibrant. At dinner that night the attentive waitress named Nancy showed us to our table and explained the menu to us. The starters and main courses were 'to die for'. Sweets were a little disappointing after the excellent starters and main courses. The next morning the variety and range of food for breakfast was very good only fault-- the damned self service has been introduced, means my wife's s food is cold by the time she takes two service tours. Dinner again that night was excellent except for the sweets and the two glasses of wine, waiter did offer another wine as it was only tasted and not drank but we did not want to take the offer. After dinner we went and enjoyed the singer and his guitar until bed-time. Checked out next morn. after self service breakfast we chatted with Sean and left the luxury for the drive home. Fantastic Hotel to stay in except for one point, in quite a few other European countries good Hotels have went one small step further the rooms with bathrooms equipped with disabled facilities have another bathroom with no disabled facilities for the accompanying wife, husband or the career. Means everyone is catered for by thoughtful owners. Croatia/Italy are very good examples. Just a point for Harvey's to consider but otherwise thank you for the hospitality and attentive stay.

Room Tip: Room 110 for wheel chair users. Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elljim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to share a detailed account of your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It is most useful to have access to valuable feedback such as this from the perspective of a guest. In this way we can work on fine tuning further details to improve the guest experience. Rest assured that we will take note of your interesting point regarding wheelchair facilities for both the user and the carer.

It is a pleasure to receive such praise in relation to our team. Sean of course is loved by us all and is truly a treasure or as we call him ‘a legend’ in Harvey’s Point! I will personally pass on your kind compliments.

On behalf of the Gysling family and our entire Team, may I extend our heartfelt thanks and best wishes to you both.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel with luxury all the way, yet not at all pretentious - still has that warm friendly feel of a family run business. Could not recommend it highly enough and hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkburke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and we love your heading 'A haven for body and soul'.

It's rewarding to know that we can achieve high standards and yet retain the warmth of a family home. This is what Harvey's Point is all about.

We appreciate your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From the warmest greeting from Shaun the consierge, to the fantastic service from ALL the staff in the dining area, the service couldn't have been better.
Our suite was enormous! We had a jacuzzi in our bathroom which was a real treat.
I would really recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled to know that you had an exceptional experience at Harvey's Point.

Special greetings from Sean, our affable and charming Concierge and from all the Team.

We appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel.


Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as guests at a wedding. On entering the room, we were blown away at the size it. The rooms are huge and absolutely beautiful. We had a room overlooking the lake, such a beautiful view. The hotel is just superb and the surroundings of the hotel are stunning. Initially we were only supposed to stay for one night but ended up staying on for the second night to really enjoy it and get the use out of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Dawn,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind compliments. We are delighted that you chose to extend your stay to a second night so that you could have time to enjoy the entire Harvey's Point Experience. We hope that you will make a return visit for a relaxing leisure break soon.



Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

If its relaxation ,good food ,beautiful surroundings and just pure luxury you are looking for then look no further. Harvey's Point has it all . The staff are so helpful and friendly. Everything about the hotel is perfect. Looking forward to our next stay. Thoroughly recommend Harvey's Point.

Room Tip: we have stayed on a few occasions in different rooms and each one was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemarie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Annemarie,

We were delighted to welcome you back again to Harvey's Point and thank you most sincerely for your wonderful review. Please be assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

Thank you for your high recommendation of Harvey's Point. Hope to see you soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
819 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing