We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and pleasure”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Business and pleasure”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had work in Donegal and was also hoping to catch up with a friend so Harveys Point was the perfect place to combine work and pleasure. The drive up to it is gorgeous and the planting of daffodils on the roadside is a nice touch. Like everybody else, I thought Sean was a treasure. The food is excellent although I did think service at dinner was a little sloppy for what you pay - starters brought before the wine, we were not offered sides and cappocino was a little watery. These are minor criticisms and I must add the dover sole was the nicest I ever had. At all other times I felt the service was warm, good and unpretentious.

One tip I would suggest is to include suggested walks/runs in the information folder in the room. I discovered the forest walk myself. It was gorgeous to get out for a run and hear the water lapping at Lough Eske and the birds singing with the 'blue' bluestacks in the background. Good for the head, body and soul.

Sean told me that 80% of their business is repeat business and I can see why. I am definitely going to send my parents there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlaithmannion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Orlaith,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind review following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It truly was our pleasure to welcome you.

We appreciate you sharing the details of your experience and please be assured that we will take note of your comments regarding service which was less than seamless on this occasion. This is an area for constant improvement or fine tuning and as we settle into our new season, I am confident that we will iron out any wrinkles.

Our guest handbook is currently being redesigned and of course it would be useful to display the many lovely walks and runs available at our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming your parents to Harvey’s Point and you can be assured that Sean and our entire team will take good care of them.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,760
    289
    65
    22
    9
See reviews for
689
2,562
55
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wonderful location to get away from it all, the only outside sound was water lapping by the lakeside. The hotel is beautiful and the staff gave perfect service without being too overpowering.
I would highly recommend Harvey's.......that's The Point.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Gerard,


Thank you for your kind compliments regarding Harvey’s Point. We appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel. We like your strap line ‘Harvey’….that’s the Point!

Thank you and best regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a lovely place to chill out. The staff are friendly, the food a delight and the rooms are cavernous and well designed. We booked room 306 which has a delightful view over the lake. Our room was supplied with pieces of fresh fruit, home made biscuits and the usual tea/coffee facilities all laid out in an area with glasses and a fridge. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi bath and good sized shower (candles and piped music all added to the mood), a separate dressing room took care of our luggage and clothing.The bed and seating area were comfortable an clean.It was a pleasant surprise to have 2 hair dryers, one in the bathroom and one in the dressing room so no struggling with steamed up mirrors! This hotel really pays attention to detail with a candle lit corridor to dining room at night and many other little touches

Room Tip: Lakeside lodge type accommodation is very peaceful and private but noise insulation in main hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val808_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent experience at Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We are delighted that you have returned home relaxed and refreshed following your recent visit to our hotel.

We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality and we firmly believe that it is the attention to customer care and attention to detail which make for an exceptional guest experience.

Please be assured that we will continue to work hard to find new ways to delight our guests. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again sometime.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a brilliant stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful in any situation. The room was lovely and the bathroom just absolutely fabulous. And don't mention the breakfast buffet! :-)
We would go back without thinking about it twice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schokomaus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Harveys Point. It was our first visit to this hotel but we really hope it won't long before we get the chance to return.
Upon our arrival, we were given a fantastic welcome, which was so nice after the long drive. Our dog Nidge was thrilled with all the attention she received from the friendly staff. She was made so welcome from the minute we arrived, right up to us being waved off by the super concierge Brendan.
We had a beautiful Lake side suite, which meant Nidge had access to the the garden, woods & the lake. Never have I seen such a happy puppy.

I must also praise the chefs at Harvey's Point for the excellent meals we enjoyed. The breakfast is of a very high standard & the choices available meant we just had to try everything on offer!

I would, without hesitation, recommend this hotel. The setting is fabulous, the rooms wonderful, the food is excellent and the staff are superb!
Bravo Harvey's Point.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,


We are delighted to read your delightful review following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point with your equally delightful dog Nidge. Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to highlight such a positive experience. This means so much to us. It is most rewarding and encouraging to learn that our guests and their pets love Harvey’s Point as much as we do.

We certainly appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel,in particular regarding the setting, the rooms, the food and above all our customer care.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you all back. Special greetings from Brendan to you both and of course to Nidge.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I had a most enjoyable short break in March at this beautiful hotel. Our suite, overlooking the lough, was spacious and exceptionally well appointed. The jacuzzi bath was a rare treat. Food was first class and staff friendly and efficient. A really friendly well appointed hotel worthy of the highest recommendation. We will be back.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear William,

Many thanks for your high recommendation of Harvey’s Point. We genuinely appreciate your kind compliments regarding our accommodation, our food and our service.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife back again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I'm amazed that Harveys Point is considered the best hotel in Ireland by tripadvisor reviewers. We took advantage of the midweek package which had a free meal included. The rooms were very good. We didn't have a jacuzzi, but they were very large and comfortable. That said, it's hardly central manhattan, so we would expect this in a luxury hotel in a remote location.

The setting is nice, but the hotel should really do more to take advantage of this. There is just a small outside area to the front of the hotel, which is ridiculously closed off (I think so those in suites can have more exclusivity) so there isn't actually a walk to do along the lakeshore within the grounds (you have to then walk along the road outside the hotel for a lakeside walk).

Our main gripe was their policy towards dogs. On their website they appear welcoming, but when you arrive they are far from it. Dogs aren't allowed in the restaurant (understandably) or any other public place, including the bar (absolutely ridiculous). Nor are dogs allowed in rooms unattended. We explained to the manager that, as we were miles from anywhere else, it was a bit ridiculous for us to simply sit in our room for the whole time we were there. Their solution was to put the dog in the car while we ate or drank. This is in a car park that has large signs everywhere warning customers that the hotel accepts no liability for any damage or loss and that everything is done at our own risk.

I've no objection to hotels banning pets, if that's what their customers want. But it's misleading to suggest that the hotel is welcoming of pets when they have such a restrictive policy. There is of course a balance to be struck, and we have brought the dog to other hotels where dogs are allowed in the bar, but not the restaurant, which seems an obvious compromise. The manager tried to defend the policy by explaining that food was served in the bar. We asked then, as food was no longer served after 9.30, could we bring the dog along then? The answer was no, because people have complained about dogs in the bar in the past. The longer we stayed we realised that the clientele were on the 'fuddyduddy' side and complaints probably would be forthcoming. But the hotel cannot have its cake and eat it by attracting people like us to visit, only to lay down harsh laws on arrival (and they even hand you a list of do' sand dont's on arrival, which it would be helpful if they actually sent in advance or notified you of when booking!).

To be fair to the manager, she did ring around a few places for us to eat and drink in donegal town, around 6km away, and did find somewhere. The staff overall were quite hit and miss. Some were lovely and went really out of their way to help you. Others were almost on the surly side and we had to wait for ages at dinner to get things like the bill.

I'm also amazed that a hotel with no swimming pool, sauna, gym etc can get such rave reviews, but again I suspect the clientele at harveys aren't particularly interested in anything like this.

In short, we were looking for a luxury hotel we could use as a base to do some exploring around donegal, where it would be nice to bring the dog, then finish up the day with a nice meal and a few drinks together in a nice bar. As harveys couldn't even manage this - we ended up dining separately and stuck to bars in donegal town - a rating of 2 out of 5 is deserved.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LPH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are genuinely saddened and disheartened that you were not happy with your experience at Harvey’s Point. On behalf of the Gysling Family and our Team, may I extend our most sincere apologies. I know we tried very hard to resolve the matter during your stay and I know I tried to respond to your review some days ago but with regret, we were unsuccessful.

I can assure you that we remain committed to our 25 year old ethos of being a pet friendly hotel but we will ensure that our pet policy is communicated in advance.

As a business, we very much welcome constructive criticism but to be honest, I don’t think it was necessary or fair to criticise our valued clientele for whom we have the utmost respect. It is this respect and consideration for all our guests which ensures that we do not allow pets in public areas. Incidentally, this policy is directly inline with Irish food safety legislation and is common practice in the vast majority of Irish hotels.

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
884 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing