We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M & M, Ballymena Absolutely Wonderful”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“M & M, Ballymena Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went for two nights but was so delighted with everything was lucky to be able to stay for three nights. It is so welcoming in every respect. The spaciousness and cleanliness of the whole building from the wide staircase (even one long thickly carpeted sloping ramp to the first floor) to the large en suite bedroom, which is complete with everything to the bright dining room overlooking the lake was fantastic. The buffet breakfast was to die for. The main dinner menu is expensive but there is a very good smaller bar menu, less expensive and for a main course is excellent, beautifully presented and while we were there it was served in the diningroom.
I feel the hotel should have a larger sign on the N15 road as the hotel is off this on very narrow unnamed roads. I missed this sign and ended up in Donegal town and was on endless narrow roads before I eventually found it.

Room Tip: We had an executive twin bedded room on the first floor, overlooking the car park, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Margaret,

Thank you for your kind compliments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you extended it to three nights. This is the best way to really relax and let us pamper you.

You are of course absolutely right that our signage is small (per local government guidelines) as we appreciate the need for a guest to find our hotel easily after a long journey. Hopefully, in time we will address this matter with the powers that be.

We will do our best to allocate you a room with a view of the lake on your next visit. Perhaps try one of our Lakeshore Suites with a private balcony almost at the water’s edge.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,673
    282
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
661
2,501
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I’m not great at writing reports like this but just to say that my wife, son and I had a lovely weekend in Harvey’s Point. Lovely Irish hospitality in beautiful surroundings. I only wish we could still be there now.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishDaddyMummyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking time to share your experience of Harvey’s Point. It was lovely to have you and your family stay in our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,
The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a really brilliant midweek break. Accommodation and meals were first class and staff were very pleasant and very well trained. Beautiful setting which was very relaxing. Very amenable for all age groups.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Marian,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you soon again.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

'If this isn't 'Paradise'! then I don't know what is. From the moment you drive in the gate you know straight away 'this is it'! Pure luxury. Plush but not posh. The setting is so beautiful it takes your breath away. Clean air, rich colours, mountains and lake.

Warm inviting reception area with real fireplace tucked away in a 'snug'. Fabulous bedrooms. Luxurious bathrooms. Dining room overlooks the lake with the mountains as a backdrop. Think Austria or Switzerland or Harvey's Point! Food is delicious. Don't miss the breakfast - it's a feast.
Smart octagonal cocktail bar overlooking the lake, Lots of nooks and crannies with wonderful
items on display to tempt you. Gorgeous Forget me Not 'shoppe'!

This hotel is top class. Suitable for that special day, private party, lunch with family or friends, special 'date' or somewhere to simply relax and soak up the atmosphere.

And the staff: Professional, friendly, smiling and helpful. Yup! 10/10.

Room Tip: Al rooms are large and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKRIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Brid,

Thank you so much for your lovely kind words. We are honoured and humbled by such high praise. This encourages us to raise the bar even higher in terms of customer care and service.

It was genuinely our pleasure to welcome you and we hope that you will return again soon. The warmest of welcomes awaits.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

im in the hospitality industry , so I like good things and like treating my wife and myself well we decided to go for lunch in harveys point to see what all the talk was about, my word the staff were brilliant the place blew us away the views breath-taking , then we were brought around the rooms with what I can only say was the nicest lady ever ! as for the rooms words can not explain how good they are , by a country mile (maybe more ) the best place ever we have been to , a family run business well run and staff to be proud off scenes from movies and all here in Ireland , IF YOU LIKE NICE THINGS , this place is amazing , good luck to harveys point the best ever for me im glad we called now I know what standards are about , we will be back soon cant wait until we stay in your palace :)

Room Tip: top floor looking over lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your high words of praise following your brief visit to Harvey’s Point. We are always keen to impress our discerning guests and rest assured we will leave no stone unturned as we continue in our quest for excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife to Harvey’s Point for a relaxing
leisure break. Please let me know if ever I can be of assistance with your enquiry. It is always a pleasure to meet fellow colleagues in the industry.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just back from a two night break which wasn't long enough. The staff are excellent, great training is evident and the friendliness and helpfulness of each staff member is just right and not intrusive.
The size of the rooms was a lovely surprise....big! We had a lakeshore suite which was ideal with our dog. We would have loved to have been able to sit for an after dinner drink with our dog as we had felt guilty having been in the restaurant for so long partaking of their sumptuous food & leaving him in the room on his own but we totally understand they aren't allowed. It's just it forced us back to our room earlier purely out of guilt for leaving the dog! That said returning to the room was a lovely luxury and the balcony was beautiful to sit outside on,
We feel so relaxed after our stay yet we did a lot of driving during the day sight seeing and really can't wait to return for hopefully a longer stay.

Room Tip: Chose a lakeshore if you want an outside space but you lose a little on bedroom size. Otherwise roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle2home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Danielle,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and we are thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to extending a warm Donegal welcome to you both (and of course to your dog) on your next visit.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had arranged to propose to my partner on the banks of Lough Eske and Harvey's Point seemed the perfect setting for our stay at this beautiful location. The team at Harvey's Point went beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had an experience bespoke to our wants. We had a wonderful and relaxing time and are now engaged to be married. I would thoroughly recommend Harvey's Point to anyone who is looking to have a break from a busy lifestyle for a more peaceful and serine environment and I would like to thank the staff once again as it was the staff who made us feel so comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: Although there are little leisure facilities, this is an ideal location for walks and for generally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Mark,

Congratulations to you and your fiancé on your recent engagement. We are so happy that you chose Harvey’s Point to propose to your partner. It was a privilege and an honour to be part of your special celebration.

On behalf of the Gysling Family, Noel our General Manager and his Team, may I extend our heartiest congratulations and very best wishes for your future life together.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
815 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
399 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing