We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be staying here again and again!”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be staying here again and again!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

From the moment my wife, our one year old son and I arrived at the front door, I knew our stay would be immensely enjoyable.
The hotel itself is beautifully appointed at the foot of the Blue Stack Mountains and Lough Eske making for wonderful walks and amazing scenery. If any of you regularly stay in hotels, (on average I am away on business 6 nights every month) you will know what I'm taking about when I say "Home away from Home".
The Exective rooms are spacious with well appointed furniture and the beds are super comfy. The food is fantastic, could not get over the set deal they deliver for €49, but it's the staff that make it for me!
Never in any hotel have I witnessed such good, professional staff. They know what to do, when to do it and it's clear to me also, that they know why they are doing it! That's the important part, that's the hook for me.
I have stayed with Harvey's Point on 2 separate occasions both as a corporate guest and with family on a leisure weekend and quite simply cannot say enough good things about both stays, in fact I'm staying again tomorrow night 08-05 and looking forward to it!


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joefitz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Joe,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for such high praise. I assure you that this will not lead us into complacency. It encourages us to raise the bar higher and find new ways to delight our guests and pursue excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

It was genuinely our pleasure to welcome you and your family to Harvey’s Point and it is fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. We feel we have done well when our discerning guests feel ‘at Home at Harvey’s’. That is our ethos.

You are correct in referring to our super team. At Harvey’s Point, we have a unique culture of caring for our guests and for each other. It is ‘the people who make the place’.

We look forward to extending another warm welcome to you on your next visit. Please let me know when you are returning so that I can meet you for a chat and say thank you in person.


Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,672
    282
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
661
2,500
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edenderry, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have recently returned from a truly special time at Harvey's Point hotel in Donegal. From the moment we arrived until we left we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had requested an early check in as we flew from the States overnight, and drove directly to the hotel and the staff at Harvey's were very happy to faciliate this request. Dinner in hotel that night was outstanding, and the staff working there were extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself was out of this world, I have never stayed anywhere so nice before! Every detail was thought of, and we particularly loved the postcard on the room key which the staff kindly posted for us on our departure. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you most sincerely for your delightful review which is greatly appreciated by the Gysling Family and our entire team. It is rewarding and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

Rest assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey’s Point.

Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My vegatarian and dairy free diet was catered for superbly even had a jug of soya milk in the fridge staff very friendly and welcoming Dog friendly a wonderful place for a break luxurious and spacious loved it

Room Tip: Ground floor if you bring a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Rosemary,

Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We hope to have the pleasure of you as our guest again sometime (and a warm welcome awaits your dog too).


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The staff and hotel were really special. My wife and I loved every moment. We really enjoyed the relaxing environment and look forward to going back again soon. Great location for exploring other areas of Donegal. David & Jennifer Wilson

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntrimDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear David & Jennifer,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to learn that you had a relaxing and enjoyable experience and that you had an opportunity to discover the amazing beauty of County Donegal.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donabate, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Thanks to all at Harveys Point for a late booking after midnight which I recently decided to stay overnight in Donegal as opposed to driving home back to Dublin.
To be honest, I had always wanted to stay here given that it is No.1 on tripadvisor in Ireland so this suited me fine and allowed to be see what was behind this hotel.
I rang from the phone and on arrival was very welcomed and on check in thought they had made a mistake as the room is the largest I have ever stayed in and asked had they made a mistake to the reply that no this executive room was their standard room. I think that says it all, it was over 800 sq.ft and well fitted out.
They attended to a late drink and some food even though it was after 12.
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic and based on this very short stay, I will definitely come back here as Donegal is a fantastic beautiful county and to have this gem of a hotel is a credit to the county and the Country.
Many thanks to all at Harvey's Point.
JD

Room Tip: I think they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveling-Wilburys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear JD,

We are delighted that you chose to stay at Harvey’s Point and thank you for your delightful comments following your recent visit.

We are honoured and humbled to receive such high praise but please know that it is only natural for us to extend the renowned ‘Donegal welcome’ to all our visitors, no matter what time they arrive or what their requirements are.

It will certainly be our pleasure to have you as our guest for a relaxing leisure break sometime soon. Take time to discover the amazing rugged beauty of Donegal and the charm of its lovely people.

We look forward to being of service to you again.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two fabulous day in Harvey's Point Hotel with my sister. Totally blown away.... It was fabulous. The place was just awesome . The accom was palatial . The staff were soooo nice and remembered names and the food was unquestionably the best Iv ever eaten . We will defiantly be back. The only negative thing I can comment on was the lack of a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Ladies, you know if you wear specticals that this is a must when applying make up!! However, we made this know to reception and I have no doubt that on our return , this little detail will have been rectified .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanbridgesueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you most sincerely for your kind comments in relation to your visit to Harvey’s Point last month. We are thrilled to learn that you had a lovely experience.

I appreciate your comment regarding the magnifying mirror in the bathroom. My understanding was that there was one in each room but for sure I will check this out. I know exactly what you mean, now that I have finally succumbed to wearing glasses. Fair point indeed!

Rest assured that this detail will be rectified well in advance of your return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a wonderful experience! What made our stay special was the ambience and ethos of the hotel. The efficiency and friendliness of all staff. The wonderful views,but the icing on the cake was the ability to have our lovely Golden Retriever with us in the chalet. The chalet was very luxurious and we loved it.The hotel offers peace and tranquility and the food was gorgeous. WE will definitely be back ourselves and also with our friends.I cant wait until our next visit. I can very highly recommend this hotel to everyone as it is also very affordable. Our dog even got a certificate of good behaviour!.

Room Tip: ask the advice of the staff but the chalets are great as they are luxurious but also homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear David,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point. It is most encouraging and rewarding to learn that you (and your lovely dog) enjoyed your visit to our hotel. This means so much to us and rest assured that we will continue to seek new ways to delight our guests.

Thank you for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
813 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
399 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing