We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed in lakeside suite”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
302 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“stayed in lakeside suite”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in a lakeside suite which was newer and very comfortable, it had a living room, a lovely patio with view of the lake and a bedroom with a new queen size mattress. I did not see this room as an option on the website, the manager kindly put us into it when we found the mattress in our executive double was unacceptable. I must say the managers response to our issues were promptly and professionally handled. We ended up very happy with our room and with the staff.

We had booked two gourmet dinners and found the food was decent but not outstanding. We had no complaints with breakfast, there was a good selection and everything was fresh.

Room Tip: stay in lakeside suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowenevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We appreciate guest feedback, especially if we can recover an issue during a stay. We are happy that you liked the lovely lakeshore suites which were recently renovated. They will feature on our new website which is being launched in the coming days.

Rest assured that each room in the hotel receives regular upgrading as it is our policy to keep our product fresh and up to a high standard.

We hope you may have occasion to make a return visit again sometime.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,634
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,473
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Im irish and weve been to this hotel many times, and have attended beautiful weddings here
Its lovely in summer or snow
The lake is beautiful and can see it everywhere in the hotel
The hotel has a lovely fire, nice bar,
And on a sunday the buffet is the best buffet you will hAve
Great staff
A really great place to eat or stay
Rural ireland at its best
Cant fault

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myagolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It has always been our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate all guest feedback and it is especially encouraging when we receive compliments such as this.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for one night. We stayed in an executive suite which was lovely, clean and very spacious.
The staff were lovely, we were showed to our room by Sean, who gave us the background of the hotel.
We dined in the restaurant, that evening and the food was first class. We have already recommended Harvey' s Point to a number of our friends and family and we will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owen1599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Owen,

Thank you so much for recommending Harvey’s Point to your family and friends following your recent visit. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience.

We agree wholeheartedly with you and many guests that Harvey’s Point is ‘a magical place’.
It will be our pleasure to extend a warm Donegal welcome to you when you return.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballygawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is my second time staying here. Stayed in the superior lakeside suite. Excellent view and huge room with two flat screen TVS, four poster bed, sofas etc. Big bathroom, very well finished throughout. Sliding doors open out onto decking with lots of room, 2 tables and seats for 8. Ideal for smokers, or non smokers who like a view. Staff very helpful and very friendly. Whole place very modern and clean. Lovely bar with great drink selection and reasonably priced. Excellent food also. Both our three course meal and breakfast was top class! Would recommend to anyone and plan to be back soon :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherHughesCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Christopher,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey’s Point and thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your second visit to our hotel. The lakeshore suites are a very special experience this time of the year with the lovely balcony feature overlooking the lake.

We appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We hadn't been in Donegal for 45 years so our expectations were high and we were excited at the prospect. Friends had recommended Harvey's Point and on arrival, it was easy to see why from the setting of the property. The welcome and service we then received from everyone was absolutely 'par excellence' and we very much enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners. Taking a little exercise is therefore very necessary but not a hardship in such beautiful surroundings.

We are sure that it won't be another 45 years before we're back and Harvey's Point will definitely be the destination of choice.

Thank you to all at Harvey"s Point, for making our stay such a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you're bringing your mutt he or she will enjoy it just as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear John,

Sincere thanks for your delightful review of Harvey's Point. We are thrilled that you have discovered the magic of our hotel and that you have re-discovered the amazing beauty of Donegal.

We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you can make it!


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanturk, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Spectacular location by Lough Eske to match a spectacular Hotel. I can't really think of anything remotely negative to say; if I tried hard I suppose you could say that the food, although excellent, was a bit limited in choice and I have had better elsewhere, but that really is nit-picking though.
To say the room was large would be a massive understatement; I can't find a superlative to fit it!. Immaculate in every way and spotless with all fittings very high quality. The Staff were all at the top of their profession, highly trained and efficient. The grounds were beautiful to match the natural surroundings

There was no leisure centre as far as I saw, but then I wasn't looking for one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your lovely review and for sharing your photo of Harvey's Point. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you and we really appreciate you taking the time to write of your experience.

It is our hope that you will return again sometime and on that occasion, the warmest of welcomes awaits you.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the moment we walked through the door until the moment we checked out we were made feel welcome and appreciated. All the staff were wonderful and very professional. Our room was beautiful and by far the largest and most luxurious we have ever experienced. Food was excellent. Overall, we had a wonderfully relaxing time and would not hesitate to recommend Harvey's Point.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Anto,

Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that you have returned home relaxed and refreshed.

We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing