We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent from the second we walked in until the second we left.”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff,great atmosphere,excellent food and the rooms are amazing in every way.The entire hotel is so well kept. I would recommend Harveys Point to anyone and already have recommended it to all my family and friends. In a word,perfection.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kram2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your high recommendation of Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we appreciate you taking time to share your experience.

We look forward to being of service to you again sometime.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,371 - 2,377 of 4,244 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Harvey's Point as part of a trip round the west coast of Ireland and it was wonderful. The staff are friendly and attentive, the room was very comfortable and spacious and the views over the Loch were stunning! It was a wonderful couple of days and we enjoyed it all thoroughly, Deidre and the team couldn't have done any more to make our stay so special. We hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: Views with a Loch view are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Jenni,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Harvey’s Point during your trip around the west coast of Ireland. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience in our hotel. It was truly my personal pleasure to welcome you we all look forward to extending another warm Donegal welcome to you on your return visit. In the meantime, we send you our very best wishes.

Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Had a romantic mini break at Harvey's. 5 star service, excellent rooms, the breakfast was lovely. The view of the lough was fantastic. Great location, very close to Donegal town and nearby a few lovely walks including a woodland walk. Would definitely recommend and already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Annette,

Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent romantic mini break at Harvey’s Point. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you. It is great to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay in our hotel and we appreciate you sharing your comments.

Thank you for your high recommendation and please be assured that we will continue in our quest to deliver excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We first discovered the hotel in the days when it was only the shalets and were the first guests into the main building (room 202). We have spent many christmas there and it was a wonderful experience. Over the years it has developed into one of the worlds finest hotels in a fabulous location and staff some of whom are now friends.

Room Tip: choose a room ending in an even number from floor two up for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveyou561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear ‘Longtime Harvey’s Point Guests’,

Heartfelt thanks for your continued loyalty over the years. It has always been our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point. It is lovely to know that you have been part of the story from all those years ago. How the time has flown in 25 years!

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding your recent visit. Special greetings from the Gysling Family and the entire Harvey’s Point Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next time and in the meantime, we send you our warmest wishes.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc, Jody, Noel, Nancy, Eileen and the rest of the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Serenity is the word we felt as soon as we arrived here, rooms were amazing and spacious with a rich country estate feel to them , friendly staff and breath taking scenery, thought possibly the menu was a tad modern for the hotel but nonetheless the food we ate off it was beautiful. This Is a treat of an experience

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larnegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

‘Serenity’ is a lovely word to describe an experience at Harvey’s Point. Thank you for your delightful review which is greatly appreciated by the Gysling Family, Noel and Team.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

Deirdre & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I couldn't praise this hotel enough. Its beautiful inside and out. Staff very helpful. Breakfast is amazing, great choice. Lovely surroundings . Our room was massive. Stayed with my husband and 3 children. We all loved Harveys point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnetteMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Annette,

Thank you for your kind compliments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that you all had an enjoyable experience.

We hope you will make a return visit to Harvey’s Point sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a very luxurious, sumptuous experience. We totally loved our room, and we had the basic. It was enormous with everything you could possibly want at your fingertips. The restaurant and all facilities were lovely. I wish we had stayed longer. The experience was enhanced by the wonderful Sean, who made it a truly Irish experience in hospitality.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marciamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind compliments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We are delighted that you had a great experience.

Warm greetings from Sean who will be thrilled to receive a special mention. He and his colleagues are a true reflection of Irish hospitality at its very best.

On behalf of the Gysling Family, Noel our General Manager, thank you once again and we hope you have enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland.

Best wishes,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £169 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing