We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot see what all the fuss is about”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cannot see what all the fuss is about”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed the weekend of the 20th of June. Was really looking forward to it since Harvey's Point had won hotel of the year in Ireland for 2013 and 2014. We had booked a twin room on the basis on staff guidance that the room contained two large double beds - this is not the case at all. We had to push the two beds together in order to create some room for two. The room itself was very large and this was a bonus, but I was disappointed with the description of the size of the beds and also whilst the mattresses were fine, they are getting old.

The location is really what sells this place. I would recommend buying a bottle of bubbly and going on a walk around the lake, choose a spot upon which to sit looking out over the lake sipping your bubbly. Also, if you can get a room with a view of the lake.

The food was very nice and the staff courteous. The piano player in the bar was OK. I realise that it must be hard as a singer not to add your own flair to songs, but sometimes, it is more advisable not to.

My overall assessment of the place is that is is fine, although no swimming pool is a big negative. I honestly cannot see what this hotel does over and above other hotels of a similar rating to warrant the awarding of Tripadvisor Hotel 2013 and 2014. I think the problem for me is that with such accolades, I went with very high expectations and as a result came away disappointed/disillusioned.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view Only book a double room not an executive twin, if you are looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with regret that we read of your disappointment in relation to your visit to Harvey’s Point. Please know that we are saddened to hear that your assessment of our hotel falls well below expectations.

As a business, we are highly aware of the mantra “you are only as good as your last performance”. It is our goal to exceed expectations at the highest level and should we fail as appears to be the case in your experience, we will do our utmost to resolve the matter.

We apologise if we misguided you on the size of the beds. While our double rooms feature super king size beds, the beds in our twin rooms are best described as “two large single beds”.

No comment is required in relation to the piano player which we provide as complimentary entertainment for our guests. Our residents may also avail of the quiet Reading Room overlooking the lake during their stay.

We fully agree with you that not having a swimming pool is seen by some guests as a negative. Other guests somehow, enjoy the great outdoors. However, provision of these facilities features on our long term investment programme.

Thank you for your positive comments on our location, our food and our staff. We really wish you had had a more enjoyable overall experience and if you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Yours sincerely,

The Gysling Family, General Manager Noel Cunningham & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,721
    284
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
673
2,537
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed two nights in June 2014 in Harvey's Point Hotel. The bedroom are huge!! Worth going for a deluxe just for the jacuzzi bath. Everything you could want is included in the room and it is spotlessly clean. There was no noise or disturbance during the evening/night so a good sleep is guaranteed. The staff are all exceptionally helpful. The bar area is lovely but the restaurant is superb. The food is a reasonable price and delicious. if you are in this area of Donegal then I would recommend having dinner here - then a walk around the hotel grounds overlooking the loch. We attended a friend's wedding in the hotel as part of your stay and again the food was amazing. Would highly recommend it for a wedding!! The only negative point about this hotel is that it does not have a swimming pool or a spa. If it did then I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe for the jacuzzi bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annesmithdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We were delighted to have you as our guests.

It is rewarding and encouraging to note that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your comment in relation to the provision of pool / leisure facilities is fair and valid. This would greatly enhance our product and it does feature on our wish list for the future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great stay at Harvey's Point! Fab room/suite; really comfortable bed; the best bathroom ever, complete with classical music; lovely friendly staff; gorgeous food; great location...can't wait to return! (Sorry..Don't do Facebook) Jacqui MaK

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jacqui,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience at Harvey’s Point.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed at Harvey's Point five or six times now and our most recent visit was as enjoyable as ever. The accommodation is excellent, the food is of a very high quality and the staff are cheerful and friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as memorable as possible. The hotel is in a beautiful location and the entire package is guaranteed to see us back there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake are the most desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimW1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jim,

It is always our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey’s Point. We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty over the years. Thank you on behalf of the Gysling Family, Noel our GM and the entire Team.

It is important for us to know that we retain our high standards for each and every guest at each and every visit. Above all, we realise the importance of the warm welcome and attention to guests’ needs. We will continue to endeavour to deliver world class hotel keeping blended with Irish hospitality.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Please let me know when you will return so that I may thank you in person.


Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just back from our first (definitely not our last) visit to this beautiful hotel. We had booked last minute as my husband's parents decided to treat us and our two young children to 2 nights away. We'd been staying in a family home in Donegal with the parents and the dog. We rang to see if there was availability & if it was dog friendly. The receptionist couldnt have been friendlier and we were thrilled they allowed dogs. We arrived at the hotel and were immediately impress. The concierge & receptionist were very welcoming. We decided to all go to the parents room first as they had offered to take the dog in their Lake View Suites. Wow. The concierge opened the door to a very impressive bedroom with a huge bed and flat screen. Then he pointed out the bathroom with the vintage bath tube, then he brought us through to the sitting room with another Flat screen tv, and then finally to the balcony with an fabulous view of the lake. The parents were thrilled. Off to our room next, a Premier Suite. The second we stepped inside I didnt want to leave. The concierge showed us our dressing area, the our main bathroom with Jacuzzi, huge wet room and toilet and then on to the second toilet, then the bedroom with a huge bed, plenty of seating and a massive flat screen tv. I was really impressed by all the little touches. A small jar of homemade chocolate chip cookies, a small dish with Lindt chocolates for each of us, a jug of fresh milk in the fridge, a cafetière and a selection of teas & coffees. The breakfasts were amazing especially the made to order omelette. The dinner was very tasty. I couldn't fault the hotel or the staff. We'll definitely be back. The No.1 Hotel in Ireland rating from Tripadvisor is very much deserved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenHarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was truly our pleasure to welcome your family and of course your dog to Harvey’s Point. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey’s Point Experience. We appreciate your kind compliments. Rest assured that we will continue to look for new ideas to delight our guests.

We hope you will plan a return visit in the not too distant future whereby the warmest of welcomes awaits.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

this hotel offers excellent service and it is all the extra details that make it. like the lovely easter bunnies waiting in the room for us(was easter sunday) and the tasty complimentary cookies and water. the rooms were exceptional and very clean and spacious.couldnt fault the rooms in any way at all. staff were lovely and very helpful, and their own attire was smart and presentable.the only thing i wasnt too impressed with was the dinner menu. it lacked choice and the portions were small and only roast potatoes were served with main course and had to look hard for the vegetables.the food was very tasty and well presented though. i did like the extra details on each table. overall the hotel is stunning and is a little haven in itself.although quite pricey it does offer those extra bits and having good staff does help.

Room Tip: every room here would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariasophia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments in relation to your visit to Harvey’s Point over Easter. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the overall experience and that you were impressed by the attention to detail in addition to the courtesy and care offered by our team.

All guest feedback is important to us and we are always keen to follow up on any areas for improvement highlighted by our discerning customers. Our menu has been fine tuned in the past few months in order to offer a more substantial and yet elegant dining offering.

We hope you may have occasion to return to our hotel sometime to enjoy an even better overall experience. Please let us know if we can assist you at anytime.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our first stay at Harvey's Point but certainly not the last. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by polite and pleasant staff, directing us to car park spaces, taking care of our luggage, organising our room and generally making us feel very special guests.
We had arrived about 1.00pm for Sunday lunch, hoping to eat around 2.00pm but were not aware we needed to book a table (an email was sent but my email address was unfortunately taken down incorrectly) so we had to wait until 4.00pm for a table. We were shown to the bar where we had a drink whilst waiting for our room to be prepared. We received a complimentary upgrade to our room (218) and were amazed at the size when we went in. It was like walking into an apartment - wonderfully furnished and spacious. Sean showed us all the features and wished us a pleasant stay. We were quite stunned by the room and the welcome we had received. A short while later, reception called our room to ask if everything was OK (such a nice touch).
We relaxed until we went down to the restaurant and asked if we could sit at a window table. We were told that if we did not mind waiting for a short while, they would sort one out for us. Duly seated with a wondeful view of the lake, we received prompt service and attention throughout a very enjoyable meal.(Excellent choice and very high quality food).
After lunch, we went for a walk round the well tended gardens, taking in views of the lake, then sat in the comfortable reading room for an hour or so, playing Scrabble, before returning to our room for the evening. We enjoyed relaxing in the whirlpool bath and lounging in front of the TV wearing our complimentary dressing gowns.
After a very comfortable nights sleep in the huge bed, we went down to breakfast, again getting a table overlooking the lake. Good choice of food and excellent service again.
When we checked out, the reception staff asked if we had enjoyed our stay and we said we felt it was the best hotel we had ever stayed in.
I can thoroughly recommend Harvey's Point. It deserves its number one rating and we will be visiting again without a doubt.
Thank you to all the staff who made us so welcome. You are all a credit to Harvey's Point!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobelmer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for such a lovely review in relation to your visit to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience in our hotel. This means so much to us.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team who genuinely want to ensure that each guest enjoys their time with us. They join in extending thanks and warmest wishes.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again sometime.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
855 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
408 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing