We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“midweek stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“midweek stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My moither and I have just stayed at Harveys Point for 2 nights. we take breaks often and have stayed at quite a number of hotels through out Ireland. We think this was totally the best hotel we have stayed at, the staff were excellent the food fab, location beautiful, we could not find fault, and we absolutely loved the new bar setting. Cant wait to return with my husband.
Just loved it.

Room Tip: we got complimentry upgrade to a suite, beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Irene,

Many thanks for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your mother to Harvey’s Point and we are honoured and humbled by such high praise. Rest assured that we will continue in our efforts to deliver excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you and your husband on your next visit.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,575
    274
    62
    20
    9
See reviews for
637
2,430
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with wife . I'll start with the negatives; limited bar menu and only a 49 quid set menu post 6pm. They need to expand lakeshore walk to optimise the experience. Lack of a swimming pool would put a lot of people off (tbh I couldn't care less but the missus likes to relax in the pool). Positives; amazing rooms, huge, warm alpine feel not cold modern. Views at breakfast amazing and breafast was DELICIOUS. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming . special mention to Sean the concierge/porter who is a true gent. We would return in a heartbeat

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ramsesniblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We appreciate such valuable feedback which assists us greatly in assessing our performance as a business.

I would like to kindly point out that our evening dinner menu is fairly flexible in that a guest can choose a’la carte options. For example, you can order a main course for €19 and still enjoy a quality dining experience in the restaurant. We also have daily ‘specials’ which can be purchased without having to go for the set menu offering. Apologies if we did not explain this properly to you.

Your point in relation to the lack of leisure facilities is fair and it would be of course an added attraction.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the overall experience at Harvey’s Point and it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife back again sometime.

Special greetings from Sean, ‘a true gent’.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having debated as to whether we would extend our weekend at Harveys Point we are now sitting at home regretting our decision!! As frequent guests who recently had an intimate wedding ceremony at the hotel we can only hope that the days pass quickly until we return in August. From the very very warm welcome back from Sean on Friday to the sad but necessary farewell from Brendan the two concierges epitomise the warmth and friendliness that keeps us coming back. The reception staff whom all now know us by name, ladies we appreciate all you do for us, especially the short notice requests!! The rooms are the best we have ever stayed in. The make over to the Lake Shore Suites make them a firm favouite with ourselves everytime. The quality of the food in the restaurant is as good as ever. Full marks to the chef and his staff. Marion, your breakfast exceeds any other hotel we have ever stayed in!! Orhan, your staff that are like family are a credit to you and your restaurant. A special thank you to our lovely Nancy whom we miss dearly in the evenings but love to see her beautiful smile in the morning for breakfast. Johnny is a huge credit to you Nancy. Tatiana, you are the most efficient, friendly and professional person for all the many hats you wear within the hotel. We appreciate all the restaurant staff and their attention to detail to ensure that a visit to their restaurant is the highlight of any stay. Kader, your football updates have been very much appreciated during the world cup!!! A special thankyou to the very friendly cleaning staff..... a very big hello to Anita from Chris.... lol. To all the other staff that we haven't named but know us we thank you for making each stay at Harvey's as memorable as our first. Noel, you need a holiday..... your tan is fading. x Finally we would like to wish Lucy and Gareth many congratulations and don't listen to Noel.... you will love the Maldives. xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab. Stay as long as you can......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Chris & Kate,

What a wonderful review! Thank you. Upon reading your kind compliments, it brought a smile and almost a tear to my eye! I am so proud of each and every one of the ‘Harvey’s Point Family’. They really do go ‘the extra mile with a smile’ and this is unprompted, natural and very special.

We are absolutely delighted to have you both as our regular guests and of course we must now hatch up some plans to ensure an even better experience for you in August :-)

On behalf of Noel, Sean, Brendan, Orhan, Nancy, Gareth, Lucy, Kader, Tatiana,Johnny, Marion, Anita, the Reception Ladies & our entire Team, thank you and we send you our warmest wishes.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Loved this hotel and it's idyllic setting. Stayed overnight for a wedding and found most areas of the hotel beautiful from the room, to the bar, to the food, to the scenic views. Very spacious with a sense of luxury throughout. Would love to visit again with my children.

The wedding reception was executed beautifully. The food and entertainment were fantastic and the staff very professional.

Room Tip: We had an executive suite which was a free upgrade as part of the wedding party. Well worth it, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Josephine,

Sincere thanks for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and your overnight visit. Please be assured that we will share your compliments with our dedicated banqueting team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed the weekend of the 20th of June. Was really looking forward to it since Harvey's Point had won hotel of the year in Ireland for 2013 and 2014. We had booked a twin room on the basis on staff guidance that the room contained two large double beds - this is not the case at all. We had to push the two beds together in order to create some room for two. The room itself was very large and this was a bonus, but I was disappointed with the description of the size of the beds and also whilst the mattresses were fine, they are getting old.

The location is really what sells this place. I would recommend buying a bottle of bubbly and going on a walk around the lake, choose a spot upon which to sit looking out over the lake sipping your bubbly. Also, if you can get a room with a view of the lake.

The food was very nice and the staff courteous. The piano player in the bar was OK. I realise that it must be hard as a singer not to add your own flair to songs, but sometimes, it is more advisable not to.

My overall assessment of the place is that is is fine, although no swimming pool is a big negative. I honestly cannot see what this hotel does over and above other hotels of a similar rating to warrant the awarding of Tripadvisor Hotel 2013 and 2014. I think the problem for me is that with such accolades, I went with very high expectations and as a result came away disappointed/disillusioned.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view Only book a double room not an executive twin, if you are looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with regret that we read of your disappointment in relation to your visit to Harvey’s Point. Please know that we are saddened to hear that your assessment of our hotel falls well below expectations.

As a business, we are highly aware of the mantra “you are only as good as your last performance”. It is our goal to exceed expectations at the highest level and should we fail as appears to be the case in your experience, we will do our utmost to resolve the matter.

We apologise if we misguided you on the size of the beds. While our double rooms feature super king size beds, the beds in our twin rooms are best described as “two large single beds”.

No comment is required in relation to the piano player which we provide as complimentary entertainment for our guests. Our residents may also avail of the quiet Reading Room overlooking the lake during their stay.

We fully agree with you that not having a swimming pool is seen by some guests as a negative. Other guests somehow, enjoy the great outdoors. However, provision of these facilities features on our long term investment programme.

Thank you for your positive comments on our location, our food and our staff. We really wish you had had a more enjoyable overall experience and if you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Yours sincerely,

The Gysling Family, General Manager Noel Cunningham & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed two nights in June 2014 in Harvey's Point Hotel. The bedroom are huge!! Worth going for a deluxe just for the jacuzzi bath. Everything you could want is included in the room and it is spotlessly clean. There was no noise or disturbance during the evening/night so a good sleep is guaranteed. The staff are all exceptionally helpful. The bar area is lovely but the restaurant is superb. The food is a reasonable price and delicious. if you are in this area of Donegal then I would recommend having dinner here - then a walk around the hotel grounds overlooking the loch. We attended a friend's wedding in the hotel as part of your stay and again the food was amazing. Would highly recommend it for a wedding!! The only negative point about this hotel is that it does not have a swimming pool or a spa. If it did then I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe for the jacuzzi bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annesmithdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We were delighted to have you as our guests.

It is rewarding and encouraging to note that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your comment in relation to the provision of pool / leisure facilities is fair and valid. This would greatly enhance our product and it does feature on our wish list for the future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great stay at Harvey's Point! Fab room/suite; really comfortable bed; the best bathroom ever, complete with classical music; lovely friendly staff; gorgeous food; great location...can't wait to return! (Sorry..Don't do Facebook) Jacqui MaK

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jacqui,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience at Harvey’s Point.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing