We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OASIS in Donegal”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fabulous room! (Lakeside) Fragrant sweet peas growing between the lattice on the outdoor patio. Immediately went outside, put our feet up with a glass of wine and felt like we were home away from home. View to be treasured.
Restaurant in the evening was busy and service was rushed but our observations were well received by management.

Room Tip: Yes,,request a Lakeside Room with a view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fair-by-nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We love your description of the Lakeshore Suite experience!

Apologies that the service was not paced well on this occasion due to heavy volume. We appreciated you highlighting this to management during your stay. All guest feedback is important to us and is most useful in guiding us to further improve our performance.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again at a future date.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,205)
There are newer reviews for Harvey's Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,225 - 2,231 of 4,206 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

On arrival at the hotel we were offered an upgrade to a deluxe room. Wow! the room far surpassed anything I have stayed in anywhere in the world - and that includes 5 star hotels. This was a truly memorable stay. The setting was idyllic, the food was great and the staff provided the highest standards of service. This was a truly memorable stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms have a very nice jacuzzi bath - big enough for two!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Gail,

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It truly was our pleasure to have you both as our guests.

We appreciate you recommending our hotel to your families and friends. We hope you will return again sometime, whereby the warmest of welcomes awaits.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just checked out of this fantastic hotel. The grounds alone are worth the trip. We checked into a surprise upgrade to a deluxe room which was huge!

The staff were very pleasant and we were greeted with a smile every day. We even got a chance to meet "Harvey", the resident goose.

This is a really peaceful, relaxing hotel. Perfect for a break away, but I feel it has a 30+ age group demographic. Regardless, we had a lovely stay here and will be returning guests.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Patrick,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind words and high recommendation which we really appreciate.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and relaxing visit and we hope you may have occasion to return again sometime.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a fantastic overnight stay here, the staff really are as good as everybody says. The dinner in the restaurant was lovely, we had the beef and I honestly don't think it could have tasted nicer. When we arrived we had booked a suite, I was a little bit disappointed with the view (not the room, as it was very impressive), when we mentioned this to reception they offered us an upgrade to the penthouse for as small % more with no issues, must admit it was a nice touch. We enjoyed it so much we got engaged the following morning down at the lake!

Room Tip: we were in both a suite and the penthouse, both we huge and well finished
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Strickers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Congratulations! We are delighted to hear that you got engaged at Harvey's Point. How romantic down by the lake!

Thank you for your lovely compliments. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope you will return again soon.

In the meantime, we send you both our very best wishes and kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Harvey's Point in July 2014. I have travelled widely-Britain,Europe, Australia and USA and I must say honestly that Harveys Point surpasses all other hotels that I have stayed in. The service,cleanliness,tranquility and friendliness of this place is outstanding.Everything possible was done by the staff to ensure that our stay was enjoyable.All staff work as a team and carry out their duties in a highly professional manner. We would have no hesitation in recommending Harvey's Point. We have had an experience of a lifetime.

Thanks to management and all staff concerned-much appreciated.

Room Tip: My wife and I had an executive suite on the 2nd floor. The window overlooked Lough Eske-an idyllic s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,


It is will immense pride that we read your fabulous review in relation to your recent experience at Harvey's Point. It gives us great satisfaction to receive such positive feedback.

Thank you for your high recommendation of Harvey's Point. Rest assured that we will continue in our efforts to deliver excellence in world class hotel keeping blended with genuine Irish hospitality.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company once again in the not too distant future, whereby the warmest of welcomes awaits.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here when attending the wedding of a friend. I have to say that the bedroom blew us away, in fact I would say it was one of the best appointed rooms I have ever stayed in. From your personal doorbell, kitchenette, extensive bathroom and most comfortable bed and further seating area, it is better than any suite I have stayed in in other hotels. I was so disappointed we were only staying one night as I feel we didn't make the most of having such gracious accommodation!

Room Tip: Every room is fab!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Franky,


Many thanks for your super review which is greatly appreciated by everyone at Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel for the occasion of the wedding and we hope you will return for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the not too distant future.



Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just back from Sunday sleepover at Harvey's Point. Out of this world, a 5 course lunch, overnight stay in an executive suite and a wonderful breakfast. Nothing can compare to the setting, surroundings and the food is the best I have tasted. The staff are just brilliant. Couldn't ask for more. Already planning our return.

Room Tip: Pack some walking shoes as you will want to walk around the beautiful surroundings.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Maggie,

Thank you for booking our new 'Sunday Sleepover' break which is proving to be very popular and thank you for your lovely review.

We are genuinely thrilled that you had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

There are indeed some wonderful walks in the area. We have a useful map and guidebook should you need one on your return visit.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
604 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £182 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing