We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“All round excellence”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at Harvey's Point for three nights in July and it was fabulous. The rooms are huge and so comfortable. The staff are very friendly and nothing was a problem. We dined in the restaurant twice and it was delicious - great flavour combinations and presentation. The setting overlooking Lough Esk is magical. Wold love to return here one day and would definitely recommend Harvey's Point for those looking for luxury at an affordable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNGRL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

“Luxury at an affordable price” is exactly what Harvey’s Point is all about. Thank you for your lovely review which is greatly appreciated.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and thank you for choosing to visit Donegal and Harvey’s Point during your trip to Ireland.

We hope you bring back many fond memories to New Zealand and that someday you will return.

In the meantime, we send you our warmest wishes and kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,728
    285
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
675
2,543
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benedict, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Harvey's Point is a secluded resort situated beautifully on its loch. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and amazingly appointed. We were there for two nights, decided to stay extra night since it was so restful and the food was amazing. The restaurant was full service, and the service was top notch, there was a problem with one of our dinner companions lamb and the chef himself came out and addressed it. He gave no excuses, no arguing, he explained the possible problem (tough and a new supplier) and comped the diner's meal. During breakfast the next day one of the owners made the rounds, dressed impeccably and genial and welcoming. If you're not in a rush this is where you need to be.

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper floor facing the loch in the main building. I would avoid ground floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Frank,

It truly was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you have discovered the beautiful county of Donegal and that you chose to stay with us during your trip to Ireland.

Thank you for your delightful compliments. We are always keen to listen to feedback from our discerning guests, whether it is positive or negative as in this way, we can measure our performance and address any issues that may arise. Apologies about the lamb dish but great to hear that our chef dealt with the situation properly.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that you brought home many happy memories of Ireland to the US.


Kind regards,

Deirdre & Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunboyne, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself and two friends had the recent great pleasure of staying in Harvey's Point. From the moment we arrived (where Sean promplty greeted us and took our bags), to the moment we checked out- it was a delight. We got everything we expected and more. No matter where we went throughout the visit, someone was always available for a suggestion or assistance of any kind (in a very non-invasive way!).
We thoroughly enjoyed the cabaret and dinner, the trip was all inclusive.
Can't wait to book in again!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking Lough Esk, stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Anne Marie,

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time in our hotel and we hope you will have occasion to return again sometime in the not too distant future. Our Team is at your service.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Harvey’s Point Donegal

Attended Harvey’s Point Dinner Cabaret Wednesday 16th July and what a great night. Entertainment was second to none, especially Roly Daniels performance and Sephira, The package also included dinner - don’t go if you are trying to lose weight - spoilt for choice and professional service with a smile. If you are looking for a great night out and are willing to pay a little extra , this is the place. Noel Cunningham, as compere, worked hard to get the audience involved and had his work cut out that night as the combination of food and heat took its toll on us - on warm nights make sure the doors/windows are open!Other acts that impressed were Eugene Ginty, Happy Feet and the comedy act of William Caulfield (a very funny man when he leaves the audience alone - be careful where you sit !) The final act was Mary B who got us up and dancing. The backing group of The Bluestack Ensemble are all very talented musicians and very easy to listen to.
We stayed in “Eas Dun Lodge” just up the road from Harvey’s Point - lovely place to stay - friendly and relaxing. We were offered a lift down to the hotel by the lady of the house should we want to have a drink but declined.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much. It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and we are absolutely thrilled that you had such a lovely time at the Cabaret.

We will be sure to pass on your kind compliments to Noel and all the Cast. We are thrilled with the exceptionally high standard and variety of talent in the Cabaret this year. Feedback has been fantastic in relation to the line-up, the food and the service.

We hope you will have occasion to return again at a future date and in the meantime, we send you our warmest wishes and kind regards,


The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

just returned from an overnight stay and availed of the Wednesday cabaret night. food was amazing, service exemplary. accommodation pure luxury and the breakfast was outstanding. All of this was delivered with professionalism, courtesy and attention to the finest detail. well done to all the team on an incredible service.

Room Tip: all are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Colette,

Many thanks for your lovely review. Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by each and every one of our Team.

It is encouraging and rewarding to hear such great feedback about our hotel, our staff and our Cabaret.

We hope to have the pleasure of our company again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I don't usually write reviews but just had to for this! We stayed here on Sunday night for our 10 year wedding anniversary. As soon as we walked in the door there was a warm welcome. We thought our room would not be ready so went for a drink in the bar. A very nice and relaxing bar again with friendly staff. On checking in early we were told the room was ready and Sean the porter would take us up. I thought a porter oh no but Sean was very friendly and welcoming. On opening the door he said " welcome to heaven" and he wasn't far wrong! He explained everything in the massive room really well and always spoke when seeing him in the hotel. The room is the best room I have stayed in in Ireland. At times you wouldn't want to leave he room. Mini bar prices the same rate as the bar meaning you could stay in the room for a while if you wanted. The wide corridors and classic music playing really added to the feel of relaxation. We then had the delicious Sunday carvery and headed back to the bar for drinks. A really relaxing evening. Breakfast was again delicious and we're placed at the window looking out to the lough with stunning views. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is the best we have stayed at but I would say it is more for couples. My only suggestion would be more bar staff on a Sunday evening as at times there was a bit of a wait at the bar. Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Welcome to “Heaven” - one of our charming Concierge, Sean’s favourite lines when he shows our guests into their suite.

We are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable experience at Harvey’s Point. It gives us great satisfaction to hear such positive feedback. This only encourages us to keep raising the bar so that we keep improving our standards at every opportunity.

We appreciate you referring to Sunday night staffing levels. Thanks to valuable feedback like this, we can easily rectify the situation.

Special greetings from Sean and everyone at Harvey’s Point.
We look forward to welcoming you back to “heaven” again sometime.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aughnacloy, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Wouldn't rush back at these prices.

Beautiful room with some lovely views. Breakfast was average at best.

I think that midweek should be priced around £125 per night. This would be a fairer overall reflection of what you really get.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinky_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit. We accept that pricing is a sensitive issue in any business and we do our utmost to offer the best value possible. July & August are peak season months in the tourism industry but you will find some excellent deals in our shoulder and low season (spring, autumn, winter).

It is a pity that breakfast did not exceed your expectations. We would be keen to learn more details in this regard so that we could address any issues you might highlight.

Thanks for your feedback and we hope you may have occasion to return again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
858 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HRS, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing