We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"First visit"”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first visit to Harvey's Point and I can safely say we weren't disappointed. The room we had was huge, very comfortable and had everything you could possibly want. There was a
lovely atmosphere in the hotel thanks to the friendly and attentive staff and the highlight of our
3 day stay was the superb Cabaret on Wed.night, well worth including in your stay. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ramblingrosie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Many thanks for your lovely compliments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel for your first we hope of many visits.

We are delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable experience and that you enjoyed the Cabaret as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,



The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,206)
There are newer reviews for Harvey's Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,186 - 2,192 of 4,206 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very poor. Stayed in Lakeshore suite:

- curtains are not black out, in fact very flimsy
- water is brown- sure, there is the story with bog water bla bla bla but not something you expect in modern day Europe
- relaxing bath salts in bathroom containing Propylene Glycol- Id rather they put none there
- synthetic duvet, unacceptable in 4 star hotel which describes itself as "finest 4 star hotel"
- "king size" bed on which my 6.3 husband had to fit his feet through the bottom of the bed
- terrace roof did not fully cover the terrace hence furniture was wet and we werent able to use it- how is this possible in a suite where terrace and lake view are the selling point and charged at a premium? Esp given the rainfall in Ireland
- breakfast deserves a separate mention: on entering the restaurant the smell of refried cooking oil was very prominent. Eggs were literally soaked in this oil and so was the bacon, and both had a smell of rancid or cheap cooking oil which ruined the food. Other food was just average.

As a footnote:
Furnishings, wallpaper and design of the suite resembled that of a cheap caravan. All very mismatched, badly designed and not at all uniform throughout the room.

Would not return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Yanaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I read your review with disappointment. As a business, we are fully aware that we cannot please all of the people all of the time, despite our best efforts.

Thank you for taking time to highlight your perceived shortcomings in terms of design and decor of the lakeshore suites. It is such a pity that you did not afford us the opportunity to re-locate you to one of our executive, deluxe, premium or penthouse suites. Any member of our team would have been more than happy to listen to your concerns in the hope of resolving the matter to your satisfaction.

I am genuinely sorry that you checked out of Harvey's Point with such a negative impression. To be honest, we have no issue with accepting balanced constructive criticism. In fact, we welcome any pointers which will assist us in improving our product and service. Please be assured that each and every comment you have mentioned has been discussed in detail at our weekly management meeting.

I have to say that this is the first time one of our guest bedrooms has been likened to 'a cheap caravan'. Unfortunately I cannot comment on this as I have not yet had the pleasure of staying in a cheap caravan.


Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just when I thought it couldn't get better, it just did.

We stayed in the new lake side rooms and they were just lovely - so relaxing and homely.

The decked patio was heaven on earth, just sitting there watching the swans glide past.

These rooms are like private flats and are divided into a bedroom and a sitting room area.

The Wednesday night show and dinner were superb, as usual.

No wonder Harvey's Point has won so many awards. They put a lot of thought into the running of their hotel and the attention to detail shows.

I am already looking forward to my visit next year.

Room Tip: The new lake side rooms are superb, but all the rooms are brilliant.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Teresa,

It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point and thank you for your continued loyalty which is greatly appreciated by the Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

It gives us great satisfaction to hear such positive feedback from our discerning guests. Rest assured that we will continue in our journey towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

We look forward to extending another warm Donegal welcome to you on your visit next year. In the meantime, we send you our very best wishes.



Kind regards,

Deirdre & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Have eaten here several times at their Sunday lunch buffet. It is fantastic. Unbelievable choice and quality. The starters include a full cooked salmon, marinaded chicken pieces and some tasty salads. The main course includes a variety of meats, all cooked to perfection and a mouth watering selections of sides - garlic potatoes are delicious. Desserts include a number of favourites alongside an ice cream freezer, a chef making creeps and a chocolate fountain. I love coming here, it is a real teat and it's not too expensive for what you get. The surroundings are great and after lunch it's nice to sit and relax in the bar overlooking the lake. Staff are always really pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Truly a great lunch experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaoimheBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Caoimhe,

Thank you for your delightful review of Sunday Carvery Lunch at Harvey's Point. We appreciate your kind compliments and your continued loyalty.

Our Banqueting Team will be thrilled to hear that their efforts are not going unnoticed. They work hard to ensure that each and every guest has an enjoyable dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wonderful Hotel, most spacious and perfect rooms. Mouthwatering dinners, perfect breakfast; attentive service. Just the very perfect place for a very perfect long weekend away from the noise and hectic of the big city life.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are honoured and humbled to hear such high praise of Harvey's Point. It is certainly our Vision to be considered one of the leading hotels in Ireland and every effort is made to exceed expectations and wow our guests.

Thank you for your kind compliments which we will share with our entire team. We hope you may have occasion to visit Ireland again sometime whereby the warmest of welcomes awaits you at Harvey's Point.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Harvey's Point is a very nice hotel situated on the perfect location. We stayed in one of the Lakeshore Suites for 2 nights. I wish the bedroom would have been closer to the lake instead of the sitting area. Instead, our bed was next to the walkway where other guest were walking around talking and this was rather distracting to our sleep. There was an abundance of foods to choose from every morning for breakfast & the fish and chips we had for dinner were so delicious! The peas/bacon side dish that accompanied the fish and chips were the best we had in all of Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ready4ADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you.

Apologies for the distraction to your sleep due to noisy neighbours. We chose to have the lounge part of the suite on the lake side so that one could enjoy the view while dining or relaxing.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our famous fish and chips with the secret recipe for the peas/bacon side dish!

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Ireland and that you brought home many happy memories.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

What can I say... Another amazing stay at Harvey's Point...our third. The Donegal drizzle matters not when such warmth awaits you in this place. Attentive staff where nothing is too much trouble and who often anticipate what you need. The rooms are still the nicest we've ever stayed in, and we have travelled far and wide. Love the alterations to the dining room....a change can be good but we're relieved to see limited change in the staff; you still have Sean and Orhan to name but a few very friendly faces amongst many. An annual Harvey's Point visit has become a family tradition for us now. Thanks to all for making each visit a special one.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. Very large and can easily fit a family in.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sarah,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Harvey's Point. Your continued loyalty is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit.

We are delighted that you like the new look Restaurant. We like to keep investing in our product in order to keep ahead of industry and dining trends. We take great pride in our people who in turn take great pride in looking after our guests so well. Special greetings from Sean, Orhan and their colleagues.

We look forward to seeing you all again next time. Long live the great family tradition!


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
604 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £182 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing