We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harveys Point”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Harveys Point”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

There are only positive responses to be made about our stay a Harvey's Point which luckily for us coincided with the hottest days of the summer which brings out the mega best in Donegal.
Bedrooms/suites are presidential standard in which you could wander around all day, the bathroom is gigantic and the hotel exudes quality, the staff are excellent and are professional in every way, always willing to held in a friendly and welcoming way and don't they smile, cabaret was a highlight and the food could not be better.
Don't dither prone reception and make a booking you will as we did enjoy every moment of your stay at Harvey's Point.

Room Tip: Next time we would try a lake chalet with balcony and great view although the suites in the main cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisher k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments following your visit to Harvey's Point in July. It was our pleasure to welcome you.

We are delighted to learn that you had a highly positive experience and of course it was a bonus having such glorious weather! You would love the lakeshore suites in summer. Nothing beats sipping your favorite beverage on the balcony overlooking the lake, watching the swans glide by.

We sincerely appreciate your recommendation of Harvey's Point and we look forward to extending another warm welcome to you upon your return visit.

Kind regards,


The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,631
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,472
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I travel a lot both for business and pleasure and if I had to rank all the hotels I have stayed in, I must say that Harvey Point would be top of my list. The location says it all but it is really beyond expectations. I stayed with my family (including two daughters in their late teens) in one of the Superior Lake Suites. The suite was impeccably furnished with a terrace overlooking the Lake. The hotel staff provide that additional value added because they are warm without being intrusive and their service is given with that personal touch that is as professional as that of 5 hotel star standard but with that extra individual care large hotel chains usually lack. The breakfast is outstanding as is the menu for lunch and dinner. It is certainly worth every penny. A car is essential but once you have a car (ample parking) it is rather central to tour County Donegal and within easy driving distance from the Giant's Causeway, The love story behind the hotel which is synonymous with its ethos when the founding family established it, is felt throughout the stay. The staff seem particular proud and happy to work there. I would go back anytime.

Room Tip: The Lakeside Suites are a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank face044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for your delightful review. You have captured the magic of Harvey's Point in your lovely words.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to Harvey's Point and we are honoured and humbled to hear such high praise from a well travelled guest such as yourself. Please be assured that we will continue in our pursuit of excellence in world class hotel keeping blended with genuine Irish hospitality.

We are proud to promote our beautiful county of Donegal which is a great destination in itself as well as being an ideal base for touring the northern half of Ireland.

Thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments about our staff. We are so fortunate to have a team who genuinely care for our guests. This, we believe makes a good hotel great.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future. In the meantime, we hope you have brought back many happy memories of Ireland to Malta.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our daughter had her wedding reception in Harveys Point on Friday. We knew the day would be amazing as my husband and I have had the pleasure of staying in the hotel previously. We were absolutely thrilled with Sara, Samantha and the whole team - they made a very special day truly magical. There is something special about this hotel set on the edge of Lough Eske with the Blue Stack mountains surrounding the lake - every time we visit - the experience never disappoints so we had no hesitation in agreeing when our daughter and her fiancee decided to choose Harveys Point as their reception venue.
Every guest without exception was impressed with the hotel, staff and the charming atmosphere and that was before they experienced the bedrooms!!
Thank You Harvey's Point - Excellent as usual.
Gail and Robin Sproule

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Gail & Robin,

What an absolute pleasure to welcome you all to Harvey's Point on the occasion of Emma & Clive's wedding! We have always enjoyed having you as our guests over the years and we can't thank you enough for your continued loyalty which is truly appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear that everyone had a magical and special day at Harvey's Point. This means so much to us. Sara, Samantha and the entire team are deserving of praise for their dedication to professionalism and excellence in customer service. They are fine examples of Irish hospitality at its best.

We extend our heartiest congratulations to the happy couple and our warmest wishes to you both. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Thank you once again.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre, Marc, Noel and the rest of the Harvey's Point Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilrea, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Recently spent the night at Harveys point for my girlfriends birthday and what an experience, absolute luxury from start to finish. The nicest hotel staff I have met. Staff could not have been more helpful and polite and a special mention to Sean, who is a true gent and showed us to our room as well as showing us around the room, On arrival in the room, which was an upgraded premium suite which was fantastic, such comfort, there were chocolates and wine awaiting us, a lovely touch. Absolutely fantastic food throughout, with again fantastic staff in the dining room. Truly enjoyable stay, only problem was it was only for 1 night, will definitely be back to stay again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Paul,

Sincere thanks for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your girlfriend to our hotel. Please extend our congratulations to her on the occasion of her birthday.

We hope you will have the opportunity to return again soon for a relaxing 2 or 3 day break. In the meantime, special greetings are sent by Sean, our dining room team and everyone at Harvey's Point.

Kind regards,


The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Can't say I was completely bowled over when we arrived first. Don't quite know what I was expecting. However when we were shown to our room I was completely blown away. Standard room but such luxury. I could live in the bathroom!!Lovely touch with nightlights and matches in the bathroom to enjoy the luxurious double bath. Also piped 'spa' music is a brilliant and relaxing feature . Restaurant/food was amazing and staff do their very best to seat you at the window overlooking the lake. On checkout we asked about the lakeside suites and were asked if we would like to see them. Nothing seems like too much effort at Harveys Point. Met Deirdre as she very 'unobtrusively' visited thd breakfast tables on Tuesday morning. Will definitely go back. Brenda

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Harvey’s Point. We are always keen to listen to our customers and as first impressions are so important, we would welcome any suggestions as to how we might improve on this.

It’s great to learn that you were impressed with the size and style of your room and also with the food and service. All members of our Team, from senior to junior, from front of house to back of house, have key roles in delivering an exceptional experience for our discerning guests. Together we work as a Team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. In the meantime, we send you our warmest wishes.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked in for five nights at Harveys point. We searched for ages on the internet for somewhere with beautiful scenery, peaceful and with character but luxurious..... What a find!!.. We had the most luxurious time ever... Such a treat and wonderful friendly atmosphere, caring staff and treated beautifully throughout our stay. We had a lovely lake view room ... Massive .... With everything you could possibly need to make you feel spoiled. The food was of a very high standard, wonderful restaurant, breakfasts to die for and we went to the Caberet night for our last night... It was truly fantastic!.... This was everything we could have dreamt for and more...... Thank you so much for making our stay in Donegal extra special..... We will return!......

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view..... Amazing! All rooms are quiet... No traffic, no noise.... Ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmite100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you. We are delighted that you have discovered the magic of County Donegal and Harvey’s Point. Thank you for your lovely compliments following your recent visit. It gives us great satisfaction to hear such positive feedback. Please be assured that we will continue in our efforts to deliver excellence in world class hotel keeping blended with genuine Irish hospitality.

We look forward to your return visit sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Sunday afternoon after a long drive in heavy rain to the hearty glow of a turf fire in reception and friendly welcome at check-in (special mention to Donna & Sean). My wife & I decided to avail of the Sunday Carvery - what a feast!! Absolutely stuffed after five courses of high quality food. A measure of the Carvery's popularity was the 500 covers that day. To the room then...the biggest we have ever seen never mind stayed in, with fabulous view of Lough Eske. A perfect retreat from which we didn't want to leave...own bar, living room, TV room, huge bedroom, massive bathroom with double jacuzzi. Our 3-night stay was for our 20th wedding anniversary. Couldn't have chosen a better venue. The relaxing ambience was just the ticket. The trump card Harvey's Point has over any potential contender is its location right on the water's edge...even the approaching drive and first glimpse of the hotel across the lake makes you know you are going to enjoy your stay. Breakfasts were amazing buffet affair, and you could choose to have gammon sliced off the bone (my favourite bit!) or have an omelette cooked to order, freshly done pancakes...the choice was endless! Dinner was fabulous also with very high quality food (my wife loved the cheese trolley and the selection of Irish cheeses!) and excellent service. Decorating the dessert plate with Happy Anniversary was a nice touch. Will probably bore everyone we know for ages to come about much we enjoyed this place - can't praise it highly enough. This was our first visit. We will be back!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thefinerthings99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,


What a lovely review! Thank you so much on behalf of the entire Harvey’s Point ‘family’.

Congratulations on your 20th wedding anniversary. We are honoured and humbled by such high praise of our location, accommodation, food and above all, our staff. We are blessed to have such an amazing team who really care about our guests. Each and everyone of them play their part in the success of the business. Sean and Donna will be thrilled to receive a well deserved special mention. They and their colleagues are a credit to the Irish hotel industry.

Thank you for being such great ambassadors for Harvey’s Point. We appreciate you spreading the word and of course it will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon for another perfect 'Eske-ape'!

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing