We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Bliss!!!”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just home from the most enjoyable break ever. Harvey's Point, what can I say Unbelievable! We had booked an executive double room but on check in we were given an upgrade to a penthouse suite,I honestly couldn't believe our luck. This hotel is one of a kind,though it is luxurious in every aspect of the word, the staff (all of them) are friendly, courteous and so welcoming that we felt really at home.I would recommend Harvey's Point to anyone wanting something just that
little bit special!!!
Thank you very much all the team at Harvey's Point I would come back in the if I could!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerardine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Geraldine,

Many thanks for your high recommendation of Harvey’s Point which is very much appreciated.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would like to return.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,307 - 2,313 of 4,366 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I were touring the north coast of Ireland and after a wet weekend at the Giant's Causeway, we reached Donegal. With less than a day's notice, in a place that is oozing quality such as Harvey's Point, I was not expecting to get a room here. I rang the hotel and not only were we given a room, we were upgraded to an Executive Suite! Lucky us, we thought.

The best feature of this hotel which deserves all its accolades is the staff. Everyone is helpful, courteous and friendly. It is not the plush surroundings that made this hotel special, it is the service with a smile and 'nothing is too much trouble' that did it for us. Many hotels with very grandiose lobbies and buildings fail to get this basic concept right.

The restaurant served amazing food. A three course menu cost 49 euros but the food and their presentation were exquisite.

Our suite was massive and complete with a jacuzzi. Although the hotel does not have a swimming pool, the lovely grounds and nearby Donegal town gave us plenty to explore. We had such a good time that made us stay another night. Once again, the hotel gave us the sort of welcome that they moved heaven and earth to find us a room for a second night's stay.

It was worth every euro and thank you for a wonderful experience at Harvey's Point. We will certainly return in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CYuenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you have discovered the magic of County Donegal and Harvey’s Point. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to the Northern part of Ireland. Thank you also for sharing your kind compliments in relation to your experience.

It gives us great satisfaction to hear such positive feedback. Rest assured that this only encourages us to raise the bar even higher in terms of our product and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future. In the meantime, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you brought home many happy memories of Ireland.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a wonderful place!! I have returned from a wonderful stay at harveys point. The entire team deliver the highest level of service. The ambience, food,location are all excellent. Noel and the cabaret made the visit complete. Thank you all at harveys point.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank winger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We were delighted to welcome you back again and we are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay.

We sincerely appreciate your reference to the high standards of service and customer care delivered by our team.

Its great to hear that you also enjoyed the Cabaret. Noel and his team put on a great show and feedback has been excellent throughout the season so far.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I can honestly say that I had the holiday blues after spending 5 nights at Harvey’s Point. Everyone was extremely professional and friendly especially Sean and Gareth. The breakfast was AMAZING and the room was exceptional overlooking the lake and just accommodated for your every need. This hotel has really thought of everything even the little things that make it a home from home like having a coat stand, somewhere for your shoes, your own bar with somewhere to fill your kettle and fresh milk every day in your fridge. The only slight criticism would be hiring bikes. The price for the full day at 10 euros per person was really good value but unfortunately we were given two bikes with great difficulty in trying to change the seat height on one and the gears didn't work. We were given the bikes and left to sort everything out ourselves and ended up only using them half a day as they weren’t very good. I really don't want to take anything away from this amazing place but if you are like us and like cycling I would recommend hiring from a biking shop rather than the hotel. However, thank you Harvey's point for everything and we would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a lake view - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angie12345634555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Angie,

We are absolutely delighted to read your wonderful compliments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed account of your experience.

Sean & Gareth will be proud to receive a special mention. They are charming and caring to all guests and are a credit to the hospitality industry.

It is a pity that we didn't 'go the extra mile' regarding the bicycles. It is most unusual that we did not follow up to ensure that everything was to your satisfaction when the bikes were presented to you. Please accept our apologies for this. Thanks to your valuable feedback, we can address this issue.

We certainly appreciate your high recommendation of Harvey's Point and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Fammily, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my partner stayed here from the 18th to the 19th of August. As soon as we arrived we felt right at home. Upon walking into the hotel the cleanliness and smell of the peat fire they have burning was amazing. We were shown to our room and had our bags took up. We stayed in room 313 looking out onto the car park even at that it did not detract from the surroundings. The bathroom is something you have to see for yourself! I had booked a table for 1930 the Monday night upon arrival we were told there will bea short wait as they were busier than anticipated so we took the chance to have a drink in the bar. We then waited 35 minutes which at the time I was not happy about, that all changed as soon as we entered the restaurant and were placed at one of the tables next to the lake. Upon checkout I mentioned what had happened and the lady at the desk removed a small part of the final bill. What an excellent gesture. I would just like to say thank you to the staff for making it such an amazing stay!. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Warren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Warren,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your partner to Harvey's Point and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.

Thank you for your lovely compliments which are greatly appreciated by everyone here. We appreciate you highlighting the delay in being brought to the restaurant but its great to note that everything ran smoothly after that. It is our wish that every guest departs on a positive note, so that is why our team are empowered to try to resolve (within reason), any issues that may arise.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lakeshore suite for weekend brill, staff brill, food brill, was well worth 3hr plus drive from Dublin will certainly return. Colm in bar very friendly as were all the staff, breakfast out of this world, couldn't fault anyone or anything even if I was trying to. Thanks to everyone again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Nicholas,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience and that you would plan to return.

Greetings from Colm who will be thrilled to receive a special mention for his friendliness and high standards of customer care. He and his colleagues do their utmost to ensure a wonderful time is had by all our guests.

Thank you once again and best wishes from the Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday, and what can I say...F.A.B.U.L.O.U.S!! The staff are impeccably trained and are very helpful. The rooms are amazing and the bar area has such a lovely atmosphere, you could stay here all night!
I would highly recommend a stay here, and I will undoubtedly be back. Thanks for a great stay! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bradlcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent birthday. We are delighted that you chose Harvey's Point for the celebrations. It means so much to us to hear such positive feedback.

Thank you for your kind comments and high recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
617 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,223 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £161 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing