We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breathtaking experience....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A breathtaking experience....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Quite simply, magnificent.

The luxury and comfort of the Executive Suite; the ambience (welcoming and friendly without being overbearing); the simply exquisite dining - gourmet, steakhouse (and spectacular breakfasts!); the speedy and superb room service; the beautiful surroundings.

When one reads the narrative in the brochure relating to the conception of this hotel, one gets a sense of a family enterprise that has been a labour of love,passion and drive; all I can say is this - that vision is perhaps the most spectacularly realised I have encountered, and it finds fruition in every aspect of this wonderful hotel.

After only two nights, we simply cannot wait to return - this is the type of destination that one is sorry to leave, and has spoilt us for anywhere else, it really is that good.

I cannot stress enough how wonderful the experience was, and would, without hesitation, recommend this fantastic hotel to anyone looking for something very special indeed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,579
    275
    62
    20
    9
See reviews for
638
2,433
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Harvey's Point on Lake Eske exceeded our expectations. It sets peacefully on one of the most beautiful lakes in Ireland. We caught this area of Ireland during an unusually warm time and the unairconditioned room was a bit warm. However, this was more then offset by the plush environment, the impecable service, the friendly and helpful staff, the service and meals in all the restaurants, especially the breakfast crew. The summer Cabaret was certainly very enjoyable, but that is not what will bring us back. We will come because the people cared about our stay and did whatever they could to make us feel welcome. Thanks Harvey's Point staff!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJKINGSLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

Have to agree with all the positive reviews here. We have just arrived back from a fantastic couple of days at Harveys Point. Everything about the hotel is first class, from breakfast with chef cooking pancakes to order to the sumptuous dinners in the restaurant. Our room was in the 'courtyard' section and had a fabulous view of Lough Eske and as it was situated a few steps away from main building was extremely quiet. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff and every request was dealt with We normally take a few trips abroad each year and this was our first holiday in Donegal .
We cannot wait to spend another few days in Harveys Point.
Thank you and well done to all the staff

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippipIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Having just returned from the hotel after just a nights stay , i cant recommend it enough. it was so peaceful and just lovely. my fiance and i were celebrating our anniversary and he had ask if there was any chance of an upgrade which we got,O.M.G it was massive,much bigger than what we needed but amazing all the same, really made our stay special. the staff were lovely, everyone saying hello,askin how we were etc, just lovely. we ate in the new steakhouse restaurant and it ws fab, as was breakfast again another lovely feast with friendly service. its just a pity perhaps that there wasnt a spa at the hotel cause that would have topped the perfect weekend off,but ill not complain, except that we couldnt stay any longer!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keevs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Whilst probably the most expensive night of our trip, the hotel, food and setting were fantastic. The room was huge and the bathroom luxurious though the bed was a bit uncomfortable and noisy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

I've been in many hotels, having travelled extensively on business worldwide and I can honestly say that my experience at Harvey's Point is one of the most memorable and pleasurable I've ever had.
I've just read Kattey's review (5Jun) and felt compelled to write this review, as I was quite angry reading hers, as I could not agree with anything she wrote, particularly when compared to the experience we had there. It seemed as though she was writing about a completely different place!
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and I'm already dreaming of my next stay there. I'm from Donegal but had never been to Harvey's Point...but now I'm glad I've discovered it and hope to be back frequently.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in Harvey's Point Hotel for 3 nights, including bed and breakfast and one evening meal for a very reasonable price of €199 per person.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Harveys Point, the location was perfect on the lake and just a couple of miles from Donegal Town. The hotel itself was amazing, the rooms were beautiful and so comfortable. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you.

The food in the restaurant was absolutely amazing, we ate there twice during our stay and both nights were delicious we could not fault it in any way. In fact it was probably the nicest meal we ever had and we eat out a lot. It really suprises me that someone could complain about either the hotel or the food but then again there is no pleasing some people.

We will definitely return to Harveys Point again and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to a friend, in fact i havent stopped praising it since I came home.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweenie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing