We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful easy feeling...”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Peaceful easy feeling...”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed here with my wife and two kids aged 7yrs and 2yrs. Located at the lakes edge this is a superb escape from the grind of daily life. The grounds around the hotel are lovely and plenty of parking room. There is a friendly porter to take all the suitcases up to the room.We were upgraded to a fantastic suite with jacuzzi and fully stocked fridge and fresh milk in the fridge. A big plasma t.v kept the kids entertained and the babysitter was nice and friendly. Food was terrific and staff friendly. Overall cannot fault this great hotel though would like to see a gym and swimming pool built the next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,675
    282
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
661
2,503
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Booked a premium, was late checking in and as the place was busy with two weddings we were upgraded to Penthouse Suite
You would never realise that there was two weddings going on in the hotel , the staff are exceptional , food is exceptional, Room was magnicient My only fault was that I couldnt stay another night !! If you want a romantic break where you will leave your stresses behind and forget about all your troubles thhen Harveys is the place to go

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SligoHorseMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My wife and I have again enjoyed our "Harvey's Point Experience." We needed a few days away in which to relax and be given a little bit of pampering. The staff at Harvey's Point succeed in making you feel that you really 'matter' to them. Through their attention to detail they specialize in making your stay enjoyable. Try to arrange to be there during their Wednesday night cabaret season. Make sure to book your meal/cabaret in good time--places go quickly! William & Catherine Curry

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satisfied45_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
The Cabaret at Harvey’s Point has enjoyed phenomenal success over ten years and we are delighted that you enjoyed this special evening of great food and international entertainment all blended together with a warm Donegal welcome. Thank you William and Catherine. We look forward to welcoming you back to Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry,n,ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

had a great time a the wedding here. staff were great. breafast was great.
road down to hotel needs to be fixed but apart from that just great..!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma33123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Great to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey’s Point Wedding Experience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for the Harvey’s Point Relaxing Experience. We will continue our negotiations with Donegal County Council about the road. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This is our second stay at Harvey's Point. Location beautiful right on Lough Eske, the hotel is a 4 Star Hotel with 5 Star treatment from all of the staff. Five minute drive into Donegal and Twenty minutes into Letterkenny for shopping.

We were upgraded to the Penthouse Suite which was a lovely surprise and it was only our second visit!!! Rooms are a great size, better food and service then what we were served at the 5 Star Culloden, Holywood, Co. Down!! We had lunch and evening meals both days and could not fault the food or the service!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Five Star Treatment is exactly what we love to offer our guests at Harvey’s Point. Our Penthouses are the ‘crème de la crème ‘ of our bedroom suites and perfect for any special occasion. We are already thinking of how we can exceed your expectations on your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We booked a one night stay which included the Dinner Cabaret and from the moment we checked in to our departure we experienced first class treatment from very friendly staff. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite which was very tastefully decorated and equipped for the demanding traveller. The Cabaret Dinner was a five course feast and the entertainment was top class. We have travelled widely to hotels and also on cruise ships and would really rate Harvey's Point a five star experience. The weather during our stay was beautiful and the grounds and surrounding area were seen at their best. We will be back at the first opportunity for an anniversary or birthday celebration.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbuchananburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

stayed at this hotel, very close to home, for a "special occasion" - have eaten there before, but this was our first stay... from start to finish it was perfect! Online booking - the website is clear & efficient... the welcome at reception, & being shown to our room was charm itself... oh, and we got upgraded to a suite - presumably just because the better rooms were available, not because we didn't like the room we'd booked (we didn't see it!)

Nice touches like fresh milk in the minibar (so simple, but the first time I've experienced this without having to ask...) - the room (suite!) was gorgeous, and very well appointed, with a huge bathroom (it had to be to accommodate the huge bath!)

We ate at the weekly Dinner Cabaret - the food and the show were great... and the staff could not have been better.. attentive without intruding, and all so warm & friendly.... a great night's sleep, & a lovely breakfast in the dining room overlooking Lough Eske...

all in all a great experience... highly recommended....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
817 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing