We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Murvagh Links Manor
Ranked #18 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and spacious”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Murvagh Links Manor House is located very conveniently near the N15, about 10 km south of Donegal. Ideally suited for discovering the area. It is very close to the beach, so one can enjoy the evening sun on a promenade. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The salmon at breakfast is superb. Joan is a very warm and gentle person, and an excellent host.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter_Gouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our hosts Joan and Jimmy run a first class B&B. Our room was large and airy, with a comfortable bed and gorgeous linens. Our room had an ensuite with a superb shower, wonderfully complemented with soft fluffy towels. And they have internet! The wifi signal strength was excellent in our room. This is something visitors to Ireland really need and we were glad that Joan and Jimmy had the foresight to make this service available.

We had presented Joan with a bit of a challenge by asking for a vegan breakfast, but she handled it marvelously. We had expected just a fruit salad, but there was so much more. Joan had researched what vegans ate and presented us with a lovely cooked breakfast of sauteed mushrooms and fresh tomatoes on a bed of farls. For those who don't know what farls are, farls are an Irish flatbread made of potatoes which are quite moist and are served warm. She also had a pitcher of soymilk at hand for the tea. But that wasn't all, she had also prepared a gorgeous fruit salad. Needless to say, we were stuffed!

Having travelled around Ireland a lot as a vegan, I can say it's not always easy to find people who will make this effort to accommodate vegans, but Joan really went out of her way to make sure we were well looked after.

Most of the other reviewers here mention the golf course, but my husband and I are not golfers. The reason we chose this B&B is its proximity to the lovely Murvagh Beach. This wild Donegal beach is just under 2 Km from the B&B and is well worth a visit no matter what the time of year.

If you're travelling in the northwest of Ireland and find yourself heading along the Donegal coast, we highly recommend staying at Murvagh Links Manor. The warmth and friendliness of Joan and Jimmy will ensure your stay there will be fantastic.

Room Tip: Corner suite seemed larger than the ones in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin-Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had 2 nights at the Murvagh Links B&B and it was just fantastic. The rooms are the biggest I've ever seen in a B&B, the location is very good, breakfast is very good cooked and the hosts are very lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I had booked to play golf at Donegal Golf Club Murvagh and luckily decided to stay overnight here. It is so convenient situated just 5 minutes drive from the course and about half way between Donegal Town and Ballyshannon just off the main road as you turn off to go to the course. I was delighted with everything about my stay, Joan and Jimmy are such wonderful hosts, they have that "old" Dublin charm that you don't see much nowadays. The rooms are lovely, airy and spacious and very reasonable for the high quality. We had a lovely breakfast as well, our hosts just couldn't do enough to please us. The highlight was the golf course, what a gem, it's definitely my favourite course in Ireland, long but fair and in excellent condition, we loved it so much we decided to stay another night and play the course again. The first night we went into Donegal town to eat, and have a few drinks, there are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from, we ate in "Doms Pier 1" in the end and weren't disappointed.

The next day our host Jimmy (Higgins) joined us on the golf course, also an avid golfer. He gave me a golf lesson and only charged me a fiver (i.e. the one we for playing for). That eveving we just ate at the golf club, which too was excellent and very convenient.

We are so happy about our experience, we just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We found this place on our way north. We met four lovely people here. The owners and two guests. We arrived on my birthday and found out another guest was also celebrating his birthday. The next morning we met the others guests and clicked right away because not only did I share a birthday with him, but his wife shared a birthday with my boyfriend. We thought that was pretty funny and bonded over that.
The owners, Joan and James gave us a wonderful breakfast and we left there with smiles on faces.
We did find the beds a little hard, but other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora6105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband and I had a lovely time at Murvagh Links Manor. It is a beautiful home with clean, spacious rooms. The host was very welcoming and kind. The Irish breakfast that was included was very tasty! We loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A beautiful house 5 minutes drive outside of Donegal - by far the biggest room we had on our trip. Friendly, accommodating hosts - you can't go wrong here! Not as well advertised as the other B&Bs which made it a more personal experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evils24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
6.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
8.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murvagh Links Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murvagh Links Manor

Property: Murvagh Links Manor
Address: Murvagh Beach Road | Murvagh Laghey, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Murvagh Links Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Murvagh Links Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing