We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhu-Gorse
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Donegal Town
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Hotel(Glenties)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
36
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
4
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for a wedding in Lough Eske Castle. We arrived late and Grainne made us tea with delicious scones. The room was really big with ensuite and some of the best views I have ever seen. I would recommend this b&b for anyone visiting Donegal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciarared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

From the moment I spoke with Grainne on the phone, Rhu Gorse promised to be something special. Tucked away in a lovely spot over looking Lough Eske and the surrounding mountains Rhu Gorse has a wonderful location and is perfect as a base for touring the local area, or attending a wedding (as we did) in nearby Harvey’s Point. Although a relatively recent build (about 20years) Rhu Gorse has the character and energy of a much older country residence. On arrival Grainne greeted us warmly and, as we settled in, she prepared a pot of fresh coffee, which was served with hot scones, cakes and fruit cake in the very comfortable lounge. We were sorely tempted to accept her invite and spend the evening by the large open fire but resisted in order to sample the culinary wares of the Olde Castle bar (Red Hugh’s) in nearby Donegal town. In our absence Grainne had closed the bedroom curtains and we entered a very warm and cosy home (a much appreciated detail in Donegal). Breakfast next morning was excellent. A wide selection of cereals and fresh fruit to choose from, the Irish breakfast was ‘full’ enough to last the day, and Grainne added little touches like the half grapefruit topped with fresh peaches and served with blueberries.

If you are looking for peace and quiet and the best of Irish hospitality Rhu Gorse is perfect. September marks the beginning of rutting season for the local wild deer – unfortunately we slept too soundly to hear anything!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the house have magnificent views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariposa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhuGorse, Owner at Rhu-Gorse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. The deer are getting noisier by the night and today I spotted a red squirrel down in the trees at the front of the house.!This is a fantastic time of year to spot wild life around here. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here after attending a wedding at Lough Eske Castle. We found it randomly at late notice on the internet and werent expecting too much at 35 euro each for the night. We were impressed from the onset as she offered us a cup of tea and home made lemon drizzle cake. She also had somewhere we could keep our bikes which was handy as it was wet.
The room was comfortable and the facilities decent. we enjoyed breakfast in the morning and she gave me a lift to get our car from the castle no complaints and very reasonable, couldn't recommend it more..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhuGorse, Owner at Rhu-Gorse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay in Rhu Gorse and I hope you enjoyed the cycle around Lough Eske.
Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

June 2012, for my wife and I this trip is the first time in 20 years that we return to Donegal, the first week in Ireland is in the Annagry area, but driving up from Dublin we will spend a night next to Lough Eske. It’s a few minutes drive into Donegal town, and if you are into walking, it’s a great location for taking in this part of Donegal. This B&B is so quiet and peaceful. And contrary to some B & B's that are like staying in a motel with not much contact with the owner, Rhu Gorse is a modern house that has parts of it dedicated to it’s guests, you are staying in the house, not an add-on. The owner of Rhu-Gorse is Gráinne McGettigan. Gráinne has worked very hard to maintain high standards in her house, the local hotels are just that, there is not much coziness to them, and honnestly if you are driving around ireland, why not stay in a B&B? Hotels cannot compete with how hard she works to maintain high standards in the dining room, the sitting room and each room, she is giving you a personal touch that no hotel will ever give you. Clean sheets, towels and lots of hot water, you feel like a VIP guest staying in a friends cottage and most important: very comfortable beds. When we arrived it was more than just a soft day, it was drizzling, damp and honestly it was typical Irish weather! But, Gráinne greated us at the door, offered us tea and cakes after our long journey from Dublin and upon hearing that we were going into town for a meal and returning late, offered us the key to the front door so we could return late. By the way, that night we ate in Donegal town at the Chandpur Indian restaurant that is on the second floor, what a classy restaurant with an amazing chicken vindaloo. What more can you ask for ? But to get back to the B & B: The room we had was spacious and comfortable and overlooked Lough Eske. Next morning, we woke up to look out on the mist covered lake and saw the soft rain coming down, the breakfast that she put together for us (the full Irish breakfast) was a great way to start the day. We felt at home and sorry that we were not staying longer in this area, it’s only a few minutes drive from Donegal town. Our daughter who had been living in the area since January recommended we consider staying at Rhu-Gorse, and she was spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icarusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhuGorse, Owner at Rhu-Gorse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy a little of what I enjoy every day here at Rhu Gorse. It is a special location in tranquil surroundings and it is good to know that you enjoyed my hospitality. It is very important that my guests are happy and leave with good memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Received a warm welcome with afternoon tea and home made scones. Our bedroom was lovely with spectacular views and spotless. Breakfast was delicious with local sausages and bread and fresh fruit, in fact whatever we wanted! Grainne could not have been more helpful in planning trips and suggesting places to eat and drink. When we came back from a night out the fire was lit and drinks offered in the living room. We would definitely visit again, you need a car but the setting is beautiful by Lough Eske.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhuGorse, Owner at Rhu-Gorse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you Naomi for your kind words about Rhu Gorse and your welcome here. It is always great to know that my guests enjoy the unique experience of staying in this fantastic location. I hope you all enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews