We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant on Mothers Day”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We didn't book but the hostess on this day made no fuss & made us feel welcome

The seat we got was close to the service enterance & was very busy as a result. This was a bit dissapointing but thats what you get for not booking in advance

The service was very friendly & prompt

The food was very good too for the cost too. Really good beef & the kids portions were good too. Not too much but not enough to make you feel bloated

We had to ask for veg but the girl was very apologetic

We were all very impressed with the value & quality

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cubanredstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your recent review on The Market House Restaurant. We are delighted that you choose to dine with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.
We are very pleased to announce that The Market House Restaurant was recently nominated for “The Best Hotel Restaurant in Donegal, Co. Donegal ” at The Restaurant Association Awards. We do hope that you will dine with us again in the future. Thank you for our team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel situated on the diamond in Donegal town is ideal for sightseeing county Donegal. Excellent food high hygiene standards and brilliant staff make this hotel a sure stop on your tour of the north west

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Madam.
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your compliments to the staff. We do hope that if you are travelling in the future or in the area you will call in and visit/stay with us again.
Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

just stayed at the abbey hotel donegal. i was the coach driver for tony's travel tour of ireland
rooms, food, hotel, staff, all excellent nothing to much trouble hope to take another party there soon. thankyou for all you did for me and my tour group

Room Tip: this is a must go hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hi Nigel.
Thank you very much for writing a review for The Abbey Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that Tony’s Travel Tour of Ireland choose our Hotel. We look forward to working together in the future and meeting you again soon. Happy Easter to you and yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just been to donegal town second time at the abbey room was very good food this time was excellent and staff were very nice and friendly the band that played in the hotel after the parade were very good

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mixu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you returned to stay here with us for St. Patricks Day celebrations. We appreciate you taking the time to write a comment as it gives other travellers a help when choosing their destination. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Fantastic hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Just returned from a 4 night stay. Location is really good. Rooms were very clean and the food and service was excellent. Would recommend this to anybody who wants to visit a fab area of Ireland

Room Tip: Make sure you have a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prague69Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
On behalf of The Management & Staff at The Abbey Hotel thank you most sincerely for your excellent review and recommendations, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and we hope you will return to us again in the future. I will pass on your comments to all staff members. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Abbey Hotel. We were a group of 26. We were all delighted with the accommodation at the Abbey Hotel. Our package included an evening meal which was excellent each night. Our trip was organised with J McGinley Coach company, our driver Peadar couldn't have been better. He was our tour guide for 3 of the four days we were there and he brought us to unseen and unheard of parts of Donegal. He had a great knowledge of his home county and great pride in showing it off at it's best. We were more than surprised to hear of the bad weather in the south, we had the best of weather during our stay in Donegal

Room Tip: rooms to the front can be noisy as there is a bus stop just at the front door of the hotel directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for much for writing your review, it gives us great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed yourself whilst staying here with us. We do hope that you return again either on a coach trip or with family & friends. Mc Ginley Coaches and their staff /drivers have an excellent knowledge of the area and local attractions and take get pride in there work, they are a very established company.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Have just returned from a holiday with Tonys Travel of Conwy N Wales to Donegal and the Abbey Hotel we where there for four nights Dinner Bed & Breakfast and St Patricks Day The Staff and Danny The Manger are great nothing was to much trouble for them rooms and food where great there was 54 persons in our group We will be back as soon as Tonys Travel have dates it was brill Thanks Abbey Hotelk

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padarn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your review and we are extremely delighted to hear that you will be returning to us in the future, It gives us great confidence and pride in our Hotel knowing that you toughly enjoyed yourselves along with others. I will pass on your kind words to Danny. On behalf of us all here Thank you very much and looking forward to your return with Tony’s Travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
774 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £81 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing