We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cracking location for donegal town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“cracking location for donegal town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

this is a very welcoming hotel and right in the centre of a busy and fun filled town.The hotel is well designed and the bar and lounge area are excellent .good rooms and receptionists happy and helpful.breakfast service was fairly slapdash ,and we had to help ourselves to cutlery napkins etc. only negative.Live music in the bar of great quality most nights.
we will be back

Room Tip: higher room best as traffic noise and music could be invasive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel . We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    236
    111
    54
    55
See reviews for
117
285
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family met up to have a birthday meal for my younger sister. It was an excellent three course meal. I had a platter of cooked fish for the main course and it was excellent. The Management provided White and Red wine at no extra cost. the staff were attentive and the meal was served quickly. Great value in todays competitive environment. This hotel is one of the old reliables but is best avoided at disco weekends with drunks becoming a nuisance.

Room Tip: Avoid sleeping in the front as there is constant nightime traffic and drunken revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypatrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel and the Market House Restaurant. We are very happy that your family and younger sister had a nice birthday meal. I will pass on your kind comments to all the members of staff.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Very busy weekend in Donegal. Abbey Hotel packed. Nevertheless the staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful. The place was buzzing with a festival, wedding, hen night you name it - it was happening. A wonderful hotel somewhere you could go travel alone to and yet have a ball!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cliodhna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review of The Abbey Hotel. The festival weekend had lots going on and we are very happy that your group enjoyed you time in Donegal town.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I thought the location was superb.

I enjoyed my little attic type room with a view of the river and the best thing was the huge array of birds that roost nearby...it was reminiscent of a bird sanctuary.

The pub cafe was a ripoff big time. I paid 7 Euros for a Caesar salad and it was about the size of a saucer. First and last time I ate there obviously. The breakfast however was very pleasant and the room where it was served attractive and the staff were pleasant.

I enjoyed sitting in the lobby and talking to people and have coffee in there like many others did between walking excursions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room like I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seachickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the view of the River and birds and your stay in the Abbey Hotel. We hope that our will return and stay with us in Donegal again soon.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had a spacious room overlooking the inlet. The bed was comfortable with plenty of room to place bags. We only had breakfast which was very good and all staff provided efficient and courteous service.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pstevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Abbey Hotel and we hope that your will stay again.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownbutler, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was very disappointed on my visit. I booked a family room (1 double bed+ 4 single beds) but when i booked in my room only had a double bed and 2 singles. I contacted reception only to be told my Family room had been given to someone else. I ended up having to split my family between 2 rooms. Our room was small and pokey, and extremely hot, even with the windows open. Air con is needed. Our room was also above the kitchen fans and because we had to keep the window open, the smells coming in were repulsive. The beds were uncomfortable too. I was expecting to be compensated for the room mix up, only to be told i wouldn't be charged for the second room! CHEEK! I however cannot fault the staff. they are a credit to the Abbey.
I was at the Abbey for my brothers wedding this time, i was disappointed with the main meal and the evening buffet was served cold. I was previously at the Abbey for a Hen do and the food and room was so much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73ELAINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are very sorry and apologies for any disruption cause to you during your visit to The Abbey Hotel. All your comments have been noted and have been passed on to the Hotel Management.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at the abbey hotel for a week with a dodds of troon bus tour. Room was very large, spotlessly clean and well appointed. The hotel staff in all areas were very friendly and helpful. Special thanks go to the young waiting staff who were delightful. Dorothy who was in charge of the evening dining deserves a special mention too, you're a star, thank you. Would be more than happy to recommend this hotel. P's a couple of must visits...The water bus was fabulous and please support the towns railway museum, very interesting. Hope you enjoy donegal town as much as I did.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jude1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your very gracious review of the Abbey Hotel. We are very happy that your enjoyed your stay and that you got to see and enjoy the attractions that Donegal Town has to offer. I will pass on your comments to all the staff.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
14.2 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing