We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
US$142
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$410
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$226
US$217
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
US$200
US$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
288
267
132
70
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
267
132
70
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket housesister hotel next doorcountry music weekendnational holidayscoach partypublic car parkcaledonian travelthird floortown squarelovely hotellovely towndouble bedfour nightsenjoyable stayhotel barcourse mealgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Ate in the Abbey hotel Thursday night, food was excellent, service first class.All the staff on the ball know how to deliver real service.Keep up the good work.The food was a treat to eat delivered in good time took a 3 course set menu plenty to choose from everything about the meal was good excellent value for money plenty to eat also served in relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant, well done

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the experiance and atmosphere of The Market House Restaurant.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was calling around hotels looking to book a hen party for my friend. The minute I spoke with Angela in the Abbey it was confirmed that we would be staying there. Her professionalism, friendliness and openness to assist made the booking very easy. The package she offered us was excellent and whatever was asked of her, she obliged. From the minute we checked in we were warmly welcomed, great bedrooms for sharing individuals on a party weekend and all close together which was great too. We had champagne before dinner on the back terrace of the hotel (part of the packaged) and then we ate in the dining room of the hotel ina private room which was Fantatsic. The food and service was too class and there was nothing you could fault, even if you wanted too. We then went outside to the diamond area where the summer festival was taking place and there was live bands playing which was excellent. The entertainment inside the abbey in the bar and disco was also excellent. I would highly recommend The Abbey Hotel and Donegal town for any occasion but for a hen party, it was brilliant. And Angela mc Gettigan was brilliant to deal with. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have lovey views of the river and Donegal bay.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J99636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your recommendation of the Abbey Hotel. The Hen packages are very much enjoyed by all and we are delighted that you had such a good experience and enjoyed your time in Donegal.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This charming hotel is situated overlooking the Diamond area in the centre of Donegal Town. We arrived here with Canadian relatives to stay one night while showing them the sights of Donegal. While booking the room over the phone the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. This positive attitude continued when we checked in the following day. The rooms we were given were large and well-equipped with lots of storage space. The bathroom had a bath and an in-bath shower facility although my wife found the shower a bit slippery - perhaps supplying a non-slip bathmat as standard would help. There was an iron store in the corridor near our room for guests' use which contained an iron and ironing board - this seems a good idea to me rather than cluttering up the room!
Breakfast was very good with a range of cereals (including porridge) and fruit juices. I would have liked a better selection of fresh/tinned fruit as well rather than just grapefruit.
There was a range of freshly cooked hot items served by a pleasant waitress who gave large helpings.
The hotel also offers free wifi - an essential for the modern traveller. The hotel has little parking on-site, but they do give free parking at an extensive public carpark 100 metres from the hotel.
Overall this hotel is easy to recommend. It has a central location, the rooms are good, the staff are friendly, the food is very good and the prices are very reasonable. What's not to like!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking Donegal Bay - it may be quieter than one overlooking the Diamond.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandylindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel. We are very happy that your group enjoyed your time in Donegal and that you would recommend the hotel to others. We hope that you will visit again.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

this is a very welcoming hotel and right in the centre of a busy and fun filled town.The hotel is well designed and the bar and lounge area are excellent .good rooms and receptionists happy and helpful.breakfast service was fairly slapdash ,and we had to help ourselves to cutlery napkins etc. only negative.Live music in the bar of great quality most nights.
we will be back

Room Tip: higher room best as traffic noise and music could be invasive
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel . We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family met up to have a birthday meal for my younger sister. It was an excellent three course meal. I had a platter of cooked fish for the main course and it was excellent. The Management provided White and Red wine at no extra cost. the staff were attentive and the meal was served quickly. Great value in todays competitive environment. This hotel is one of the old reliables but is best avoided at disco weekends with drunks becoming a nuisance.

Room Tip: Avoid sleeping in the front as there is constant nightime traffic and drunken revellers.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marypatrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel and the Market House Restaurant. We are very happy that your family and younger sister had a nice birthday meal. I will pass on your kind comments to all the members of staff.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews