We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of days in August 2014, all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was large and spacious, overlooked the river and was spotlessly clean. The food in the very comfortable modern Market garden restaurant (in the hotel)was excellent and plenty of it, breakfast was the same. Hotel is situated in the square and is very central to shops banks etc, car park is to the side but is not private, we did however receive a concession ticket from the hotel which we were able to use. We will definitely be back again to this great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trasa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Abbey Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon,
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel and it is sited in the centre of Donegal Town reception well sited friendly helpful staff. Room was clean excellent facilities and spacious. Breakfast was full Irish served in a spacious dining room

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you your review of The Abbey Hotel.We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your kind comments to the members of staff.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Recently spent a night at this hotel with a coach party. Our room was large and spacious and overlooked the river.

The food and service was excellent. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would stop there again if I went back to Donegal.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of The Abbey Hotel. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and hope you do return to visit us in Donegal.
Kindest regards
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel centrally located, no hotel car park though, you will be given a concession for a public pay and display car park a couple of 100 yards away, park as close as you can to the garda station across the road to deter any potential anti-social behavior.

Hotel lobby appears nice and inviting but unfortunately the same could not be said for the reception staff. We were told we could not have our room until 4.00pm and when we enquired if we could leave our luggage we were told a sharp 'no' that they had no facilities for such a request. Then we were told ' I suppose we could store your luggage in the office and that if you returned at 2.00pm we will see if housekeeping could have a room ready for you'. We had no problem with any of this, but the tone used and the disinterest and absence of basic customer service skills did not bode well.

The room as agreed at the time of booking was on the third floor away from the function room/nite club to ensure a good nights sleep was had. It was dated but adequate. Large tea stains on the inside of the room door and again on the wall over the radiator were immediately noticeable, but we figured this would be taken care of the next day.In fact they were never cleaned for the duration of our stay. The room was not hoovered on a daily basis, the beds whilst made everyday the bed linen was not changed. Toiletries were let run out resulting in us having to ring reception to get same. There was mould on the bath/shower tiles and empty glasses and bottles were allowed to build up and were left there again for the duration of our stay.

We enquired at reception one day if we could possibly have some extra towels to bring to the beach and we were point blankly refused - wonderful customer service.

Breakfast is a rushed get them in get them out affair, with no friendly engagement from staff whatsoever. Diners are categorised into either tour or non tour groups and unless you are into fries the quality and choice on offer is not great but passable.

The jewel in the crown has to be the Market restaurant where the choice and quality of food is good. I would however have reservations about the self service desert buffet which is open and exposed especially during the summer months with flies etc.

Noise pollution and resulting sleep disruption is a major problem. Despite getting assurances we were getting a quiet room our sleep was disrupted for three nights of our stay from 12.30am - 2.30am approximately with the muffled thumping of music, but mainly from patrons congregating outside the function rooms at the back of the hotel and the ensuing talking, shouting and screaming. To give you an indication of how loud the noise was, we invested in ear plugs after the first night our sleep was disturbed.
Having subsequently read the hotel reviews it is evident this is an ongoing problem for some years now so there was little point in complaining to management as they had failed or were uninterested in addressing this issue to date.

A less important issue is the room WiFi, very unpredictable as to whether you can gain access or not.

To sum up, management need to up their game considerably. Staff training and customer service likewise needs attention. Housekeeping is minimal and falls well short of what is expected. I can only assume there is no one with overall responsibility for this area carrying out the necessary quality checks or if there is they need to consider a career change.
Noise and sleep disruption, especially at weekends is a major issue and as l said if you read the reviews it appears it is a longstanding ongoing one which management have failed to address.
It appears they are just interested in volume and throughput and if they get negative reviews they will pick out the positives apologize for the negatives make no changes and plod on regardless.

We will not be giving the Abbey Hotel any repeat business, people expect and deserve better in this day and age and will get better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at The Abbey Hotel. We apologies that the service did not meet your expectations. All your comments have been noted and have been passed on to the hotel management.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is in the centre of Donegal town diamond area which makes it ideal for a stay in Donegal. The hotel has a large bar and several places to eat. The hotel says it has free parking but be aware this parking is in a large public car park near the quay, the hotel does give you a voucher for it. The rooms are fine, a bit old fashioned but good for a night stay. They are very clean and have all the things you would need. A small criticism would be that there are no individual toiletries, just a large bottle of soap. I would stay here again if I was in Donegal as the hotel is in the same square as the restaurants, bars and cafés.

Room Tip: A room that does NOT face on to the square.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a comment on your stay at The Abbey Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will return again to Donegal and stay with us.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Myself and my sister and sister inlaw took my mother down to the abbey for her 80th birthady the hotel staff where very helpfull the food was lovely i really enjoyed my stay diden even care about the noise outside in the wee small hours would stay again thanks abbey hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town. We are very happy that your group choose the Abbey Hotel for your mothers 80th Birthday and that you all enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you seeing you again in Donegal Town.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were attending an Irish dancing Feis in Donegal town and stayed for 1 night at the Abbey Hotel. First impressions, staff were lovely. Nice hotel. Room was good size, dated but perfectly adequate.
It all went downhill that night. My mother, daughter (aged 8) and I went to bed at 10.15pm as we were to be up early the next morning.
From 12am-4am there was what can only be described as a festival party going on outside the hotel on hotel grounds. When the night porter was called by us to ask the people to be quiet, move inside, we were told that there was nothing they could do. He offered to move us, but at this point it was 1am, didn't fancy walking down hotel corridors in the PJs.....

The next morning when we went down for breakfast (which was very good and included in price) my mother complained at the front desk. When we went to check out the very nice girl on duty checked with the manager and the room charged was comped, which was proper order as we literally had no sleep. Unfortunately they debited EUR50 from my card which I have yet to get reimbursed 4 weeks later, despite 2 emails and a phone call.
Very disappointing. I would not go back and recommend that anyone going to Donegal that wants sleep should think twice about this hotel.
Very disappointed with their customer service despite assurances that my card would be credited, as is only fair due to no sleep :(

Room Tip: Do not go if you want sleep!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emmadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at The Abbey Hotel. We apologies that our service did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted and shall be passed on to the hotel management. Kindest Regards, The Abbey Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,200 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing