We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History on your door step”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Donegal Castle

Donegal Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century castle was fully restored in 1996.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“History on your door step”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a delight to have something as beautiful as a castle in the middle of a beautiful town, really gives you a true reflection of what it must have been like living back in days before the internet and facebook, when you had to use your brain..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dodger6942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    319
    109
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy to find and visit Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Donegal town and its waterfront was very attractive and easy to walk. The proximity to the town centre (the Diamond) was a plus. The very helpful staff at the Castle was also much appreciated. Its relatively compact size and layout made it easy to visit if time was limited. We bought a Heritage pass for entry into about 100 heritage locations, including Donegal Castle, in Ireland, which was an excellent value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pamela092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
338 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“SEP 2013 VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our group of two couples thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful castle located in the town of Donegal. Easy access and loads of historical information shown inside, along with a conducted tour if desired.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We loved this castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I visited Donegal Castle a few weeks ago and we were both impressed with the condition that it is in. We were able to see quite a bit of the castle and it was easy to imagine what it was like when Red Hugh was there. It was one of our favorite castles. With the OPW cards that we had purchased early in our trip, it was another of the castles and abbeys that we paid no entrance fee to tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small, but good short tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Donegal Castle is located in the center of Donegal Town. Easy access and self guided tour.
There is ruined area, but several rooms are restored and showcase the castle well. There are some wonderful photo opportunities.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travlinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donegal Castle also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Carrick, County Donegal
 

Been to Donegal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing